Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Heartbreaking, Character-Driven Apocalypse Novel
I've been on a real indie book bender lately. There's something refreshing about small press novels that I really enjoy, be it the DIY spirit of the venture in general or the groundbreaking ideas that the books themselves contain. I think one of the things that grabs me the most about the small press world is the sheer amount of heart and dedication that go into the...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by Jessica Brown

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drop Dead Disappointment
I had read Wayne Simmons' book, 'Flu', and this was a fast-paced and exiting, classic Zombie tale. Unfortunately 'Drop Dead Gorgeous' does not live up to expectations after reading 'Flu' at all. Most of the book bar 20 pages tell a good story of the characters but it is very drawn out with description of the state of the calm before the storm as it were. The last 20...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by Avidly Reading


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than zombie horror, 18 July 2009
This review is from: Drop Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
Although that's not to minimise the great zombie horror that there is!

DDG is a captivating novel. The main strength is the strong characterisation including both central and marginal characters. Even the zombies are brought to life through seeing the world through their eyes. The backdrop of Belfast and its surrounds adds a vivid political and cultural dimension to the story. The interaction between the characters provide surprising liaisions and interesting dynamics.

In summary - it's a gripping, stimulating novel that I couldn't put down and didn't want to end. Roll on part 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: No zombies 'til the last third of the book!, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Drop Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
This is a good apocalyptic survival horror novel, but zombie fans maybe disappointed. It starts well, with most of the population suddenly dropping dead without any explanation, leaving only a few scattered groups of survivors, who we then follow through most of the book, without any rising of the undead. And when they do rise, it's just the undead women. And they don't like the rain!
So, to defeat these zombies, take away their umbrellas, or use a water pistol. Oh dear!

For stark gruesome zombie horror, you can't beat the original novelization of Night of the Living Dead by John Russo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Same old same old, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drop Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
.This follows the same well worn path - something happens which kills most people off. The usual motley band of survivors with (as always) a mad preacher causing havoc, the gangs trying to get in . Didn't like any of the characters and consequently cared not a jot about what happened to any of them. DRIVEL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the female of the species..., 9 April 2011
By 
Paul Armer (preston lancs) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drop Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
There are many apocalypse books out there some good ,some bad and some simmons the simmons being the cream of the crop. The not american setting is always welcome to help identify with the setting and characters.
All of a sudden people die,some dont and thats where the simalarity to "zombie" novels ends you know the perfectly preserved corpses aint a good thing but simmons keeps you on tenterhooks for ages fleshing out his characters and there are a few but you never lose track of them all and they don't blend in they are well rounded and flawed and you care for some of them.

The only criticism some people (not me i hasten to add) is the fact that the real horror doesnt happen til well into the third ,well third of the book i like that,its a slow burner,some other stories i,ve read seem to want to leap into the action and gore as soon as possible wayne avoids that and thank grud as it makes the climax more unnerving as a result introducing that little bit of panic for the reader.

This is not a traditional "zombie" thriller the rotting cadavers are just that its the other preserved "corpses" that are the threat its hard to describe without giving too much away but i could see a film of this the eye thing was part sci fi and part horror and actually made sense when a brief summary or guess was made by one of the characters was made regarding the events and it is crying out for a sequel ...

bloody,violent and damned good this is a must even if you might think that the not traditional zombie thing isnt your bag give it a go, i did and i'm glad i did...i think Mr Simmons is the james herbert of the new generation more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real People.. Real Zombies.. Love it!, 10 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Drop Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
The first thing that grabbed me about this book, from the first page - was the people. Simmons puts a very natural skew on his characters that I love.

They are so real, right off the street and onto the page. Relationships between the characters were tangible, all the way through. There was nothing about the dynamics of the people I disliked - their emotions and reactions to the apocolyptic world they find themselves in were *exactly* how I would expect products of our society to behave.

The zombies were brilliant - I can't wait for more of them! Even though I am new to the genre (beyond a bit of King/Herbert) the zombies were really sexy and exciting, their intriguing appearance and bittersweet introduction into the storyline was just brilliant, I wanted to know more and the hows and whys of them as soon as the first 'body' was noted........

All in all, I know this is a short but sweet review - I am champing at the bit to get hold of the next book in what looks to be a very promising series - Keep up the good work Simmons- as I'm damn sure gonna keep reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars drop dead great book, 19 Jan 2009
By 
A. Pearson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drop Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone that have interests including horror , zombies , social experiments , pschycology ,the dead , sub culture , the dead , violence , guns , drugs and pain, and the dead again !!

Written in a fast paced style that keeps you flitting from one collection of misfortunates to another you are thrown into a world that has (for most) just ended...but for you, just begun. the why's and wherefores of what to do when everyone around you siezes to exist.

It is an excellent read and left me wanting more and more after every page (also not wanting to turn the lights out !!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Daniel (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drop Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
Got this because as a local of Belfast I wanted to see how a zombie apocolypse would play out in my hometown.

Full of suspense and tension throughout, you wonder whats going to happen to the survivors of this mysterious disease. Filled with humour, tension and scares, you will love this book wether your a local to Belfast or not!

Any zombie fan will get a real kick out of this book and won't be able to put it down, I guarantee it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Post apocalypse - sins revisited, 2 Jun 2009
By 
David Murray (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drop Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
I'm reading your book at the moment, Wayne and have nearly finished it. If I was to pick a word to describe it, I would say "excellent!". Your observations on society are spot on, the dialogue and characters convincing and the build up very carefully constructed. I really look forward to your next book and may there be many more to come. I may not know much about music, but I know a well-written book when I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars girl power, 11 July 2011
This review is from: Drop Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
Just finished reading this book and i must say it was a great read. I bought it after having read other reviews and i wasn't dissapointed. It puts you into a different perspective, where some books focus on zombie gore from the kick off (i;m not opposed to zombie gore, in fact i quite like it)this book focusses on different peoples lives after the day where people just stop existing, how the ones that are left try to survive and make sense of everything. I found myself daydreaming what it would be like just wandering around empty shops, taking what i wanted, which of course would be useless. I found bits of the book heart wrenching and when the zombie's eventually come oh boy do they come. What a great idea with the women seeking out vengence - i won't spoil it. All i have left to say is that its well worth the money and i got so engrossed at times that i jumped when someone entered the room. Happy reading!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DDG- A great twist on a classic idea!, 5 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Drop Dead Gorgeous (Paperback)
I found this book fantastic, from start to finish I was thoroughly engrossed and am eagerly awaiting the next one. The characters were well developed and very real. The setting was great, the action non-stop and to be honest I can't say one bad thing about it!
Spot on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drop Dead Gorgeous
Drop Dead Gorgeous by Wayne Simmons (Paperback - 2 Feb 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews