Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding guide to an outstanding camera.
This guide is excellent, it takes you through the full functionality in clear and practical detail whilst also serving as a general guide to photography. Some of the general photography advice may appear a little pedestrian to the seasoned snapper but it is worth bearing it for the instructions on what is a reasonably complicated camera. It is also a good size and can...
Published on 25 May 2010 by Mr. James Leeper

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cover the P,S,A,M Badly
I wanted a guide to help me understand the manual settings on the G11 and this one promised to do that but I was really disappointed that it only had a few pages explaining what the P,S,A and M functions did. I kind of already knew what they do, I was after some examples, experiments, tutorials and tips.
This is simply the manual that Canon left out.

If...
Published on 9 Nov. 2010 by Graham Vincent


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding guide to an outstanding camera., 25 May 2010
By 
Mr. James Leeper "Quilkyn" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
This guide is excellent, it takes you through the full functionality in clear and practical detail whilst also serving as a general guide to photography. Some of the general photography advice may appear a little pedestrian to the seasoned snapper but it is worth bearing it for the instructions on what is a reasonably complicated camera. It is also a good size and can easily be carried around as a ready reference field guide whilst you grow to love your G11. I highly recommend this guide to anybody who purchases a G11 regardless of their level of photographic experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) by Andy Stansfield, 16 Aug. 2010
By 
PhilR (North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
A very useful book - even if you think you know most of it already. The lack of a printed handbook with the camera is a real disadvantage but this volume more than makes up for it. The text is clear and informative, well illustrated and comprehensive. Though bigger than the A6 camera manuals we are used to, this book is small enough to carry around when you need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G11 Expanded Guide, 27 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
The camera, which is one of only a few that is fitted with an optical viewfinder, enabling it to be used in bright sunlight, is supplied with a inadequate flimsy instruction booklet. The G11 camera needs this book, which is easy to read and it does a good job of explaining the sophisticated capabilities of an excellent compact camera,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 25 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
Nice little book.
I have had the G11 for a couple of months.
I had read the manual that comes with the camera, which is ok.
By going back over what the camera can do and how to use it I found quite alot of extra features I had not realised were there.

It would be better if there could have been some stories of tips from people who had used the camera, but otherwise excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars G11/G12 handling, 18 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
I have recently bought a G11 for a friend.It is all it is cracked up to be but with one caveat. The normal handling position is for the right thumb to grip the back of the camera with the right forefinger hovering over the taking button. The problem is the ease with which the thumb can inadverdantly press on the rear control dial and change one of the facilities such as the flash. I have found that the best way to avoid this problem is to have the screen open and place the thumb in the screen space well clear of the various controls.
However for what is and what it admits to being the camera works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good value for money, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
Others have cited and bemoaned the fact that Canon no longer provide printed camera manuals with their cameras - indeed, one UK high street retailer was recently selling a 'reprint' of the manual on their website for almost the price of this book (BEFORE the Amazon discount!)

So, clearly there is a need for a physical publication and this book provides a wealth of information in a (generally) accessible way.

Pros:
Handy size.
Full colour.
Comprehensive.

Well researched - pointed out an anomaly between information in the manual and a section of Canon's website.

I use it as the primary source and then refer to the manual on the CD if I think there is more information there.

The section on general photography good as a general reminder.

Con:
A bit more context about why you would want (or need) to use certain feature or setting would be useful.

Overall:
If like me, you don't want to print off the full Canon manual from the CD or try and track down a printed one (often at a high price) then this is a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cover the P,S,A,M Badly, 9 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
I wanted a guide to help me understand the manual settings on the G11 and this one promised to do that but I was really disappointed that it only had a few pages explaining what the P,S,A and M functions did. I kind of already knew what they do, I was after some examples, experiments, tutorials and tips.
This is simply the manual that Canon left out.

If your after hints, tips, examples of use, advise and tutorials then DO NOT buy it.

If you after a list of every function the G11 can do then this is for you, but you could just print the manual on the CD for free ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars canon guide, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
very good and well illustrated manual. All is well layed out with excellent guidance through all the functions of this complicated little camera. Delivery was fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Canon Powershot G11 Expanded Guide, 28 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
This guide is far superior to the guide supplied with the camera. I am now able to access far more features available on my camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ideal product, 15 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. David J. Hodgson "Jagorawi" (Southern UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
Just what was required as we had lost the original manual. Proved to be easy to use and easy to carry around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide)
Canon Powershot G11 (Expanded Guide) by Andy Stansfield (Paperback - 7 Feb. 2010)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews