Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flying Zombie Death Monkeys - Chris Wood - Another Hit
Well if you have read Chris Woods earlier book, (Sherlock Holmes and the Underpants of Death), a great spoof on the Great Sherlock, then you will know that you are not in for the 'normal' version of Holmes and Watson.

Instead Chris Wood takes all the characters and makes them even more strange, (possible or not , what on earth can you do to make Holmes or...
Published on 8 Mar 2011 by Alessi Lover

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unfunny rubbish
I bought this book believing the publishers and many of the reviewers on this site, and, certainly, if 148 pages of contrived codswallop and pathetic pastiche are what you want, this is the book for you. I have as good a sense of humour as the next person, but failed to find anything remotely funny here. The storyline is fantastic, as it is intended to be, but, carried...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by J. G. Lynch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unfunny rubbish, 25 Jun 2012
By 
J. G. Lynch "chicmurray" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys (Paperback)
I bought this book believing the publishers and many of the reviewers on this site, and, certainly, if 148 pages of contrived codswallop and pathetic pastiche are what you want, this is the book for you. I have as good a sense of humour as the next person, but failed to find anything remotely funny here. The storyline is fantastic, as it is intended to be, but, carried along by the bumbling Holmes and sarcastic Watson, it is a farce too far and with no sense of ending until you find you have reached it! Unmitigated rubbish, which gets one star only because I couldn`t give it none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flying Zombie Death Monkeys - Chris Wood - Another Hit, 8 Mar 2011
By 
Alessi Lover "C.A.D." (Knightley UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys (Paperback)
Well if you have read Chris Woods earlier book, (Sherlock Holmes and the Underpants of Death), a great spoof on the Great Sherlock, then you will know that you are not in for the 'normal' version of Holmes and Watson.

Instead Chris Wood takes all the characters and makes them even more strange, (possible or not , what on earth can you do to make Holmes or Watson even stranger you may ask). Zany and above all over the top, after all were there really any flying zombie death monkeys in the Sherlock tales of old?

Here you get fun with characters that get you into four tales of impossible crimes to solve ..... flying death zombie monkeys to the rescue, or not? Read it to find out! Laugh you will at some of those escapades .......

Great with pictures that also wouldn't have been drawn by Holmes or Watson (maybe by those flying zombie monkeys).

All in all a good fun read, one to smoke your pipe with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys (Paperback)
Really great read!! Very funny and charmingly written. Please give this book a read, you won't regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 26 Jun 2013
By 
M. Burville - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys (Paperback)
Puerile humour, amateurish effort. The writing isn't too bad and the ideas will do but this simply is not funny unless you are fourteen. The illustrations have nothing to do with the stories and the captions are embarrassingly lame. The author should see 'What A Life' by Lucas and Morrow to see how it should be done. On top of that, the editing is poor. Absolutely dire and not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and a Quick read too, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys (Paperback)
They say never judge a book by a cover, and I was certainly wary of this one, thinking that it might make a good shelf-filler but little more.
I'm happy to report that this is in fact a very well written pastiche of Sherlock Holmes, with a laugh on every page & the authentic feel of the real thing.

The central plot is based (somewhat obviously) around 'Flying Zombie Death Monkeys' (who act like conventional Zombies only they transmogrify their victims into creatures like themselves). In the title story, the monkeys take over first the House of Lords & then all Parliament, making them rulers of the UK (after which the notoriously biased media produce headlines such as "Our wonderful chimp rulers wisely eat 15 in Catford. A nation rejoices!")

Naturally, Holmes discovers the evil genius behind the monkeys, but is unable to get rid of the Zombie monkeys. They then proceed to crop up throughout the other stories in the book, like some minor subplot of a normal Holmes story with the ironic exception that they normally slaughter most of the charactors bar Holmes & Watson!

Aside from the first story & main theme, there are also three other stories, which are:

'A Scandal in Burnley' - A story involving a chubby member of the Bavarian royal family who is bothered by a scandalous mistress (all the while oblivious to the apocalyptic Flying monkeys slaying of random people!),
'The Pain of the Pianoforted Parts' - A prodigious talent (who can play the piano with his nuts) is brought to an untimely demise...
& 'The Mystery of the Speckled Wang' - Holmes unmasks the man behind the monkeys.

Within each story, there are also seemingly appropriate pictures, with ironic captions (e.g. a picture of Holmes in the lab, holding a pipette, with the caption "For God's sake, Holmes, just use the teabags like anybody else!"

And the best thing about the book is the narration of Watson himself. Full of tongue-in-cheek asides at the expense of Holmes (in contrast to the originals), there are also comments to keep readers on their toes, such as "Holmes helped himself to a plate of tea & a cup of cake" & "Surprisingly, we found ourselves able to return to London within a single sentence."

Overall, I was very impressed & found the jokes to be balanced, easy on the eye & never too strained. It should also be added that the whole book took me less than 3 hours (and I'm a slow reader), so it's ideal for an alternative to a night's TV.
I'd even go so far to say that these 4 stories should be added to the pantheon of Conan Doyle's originals, just as Devil May Care was added to the James Bond canon.
Such new blood would freshen up an old franchise & might even make Robert Downey Jnr appreciate Gervais' humour more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very different from what I was expecting but a pleasant surprise!, 5 Jan 2012
By 
John L. Mccuaig (Croydon, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys (Paperback)
To my shame I've never read any Sherlock Holmes stories but have always been a fan of the TV shows, and to a lesser extent the new movie as well. I decided to give this a go but found it certainly wasn't done in the style I was expecting. This is a fun romp and once I got over the shock I really enjoyed it, and found myself laughing out loud a few times.

It was also great fun reading another story with the infamous Miss Adler, over the past few weeks I've watched an old ITV series showing her, then last week the new BBC series and now this short story.

This book may not be for all tastes but I'm sure that the vast majority of both fans and non fans of the Holmes mythos would thoroughly enjoy the experience.

Go on give it a go, like me you may be surprised!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy not to be Underestimated, 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys (Paperback)
Take the world's best known Victorian detective, add crazy adventures, buckets of humour & author Chris Wood making a string of gags & fart noises in the background & you get this amazing series of books.

This is classic slapstick comedy but make no mistake, comedy has often been under-estimated & for every basic gag in there, there is a really astute one. I don't want to over-analysis the japes but Wood's, like many good comedy writer's looks at every possible line & sees where the joke fits in. You'll see what I mean you begin to read it. The result is like a combination of Jeeves & Wooster combined with the Young Ones.

So, in this volume, you will find 4 well-crafted tales of the great detective. The title story is a classic & involves members of the House of Lords being transformed into hideous zombie primates. Is there any hope? Read & find out. A Scandal in Burnley contains a dalliance with love & the Piano tale a case of hilarious musical madness. The final tale, The Mystery of the Speckled Wag is one of my favourites in all the series. I won't ruin the mystery but be prepared for some of the best-named characters in literature!

These books are classic comedy & in today's environment & I know we all need a good laugh. They are well-produced with some very funny illustrations to distract you. Wood's invites you once more into his twisted world of humour - just sit back, get a cup of tea & enjoy - that's what this books are for....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a fun bit of nonsense, 10 Feb 2011
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys (Paperback)
This is a short, light and silly Sherlock Holmes pastiche. Four stories each told by the weary and sarcastc Doctor Watson. It has moments that are both clever and funny and, given the title, you are not expecting it to be deep literature are you?

Actually the title story is possible the weakest, with Mrs Adler featuring in "A Scandal in Burnley" the highlight along with some pretty amusing illustrations.

What I liked is that it does not pretend to be anything it isn't and your expectations will be very much met. It's silly nonsense and there is no shame in that. Maybe slightly expensive for the length and contents but we are not talking much cash to extract a smile or two on the way to work. The fact that is was in four easy chunks actually made it ideal for me to read while on the train or waiting for the wife's "five minute pop in somewhere" actually meaning twenty five minutes.

True Holmes fans might be a little po-faced about this, but for the rest of us, this is a light and silly diversion.

Review based on a provided copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sillier than disrali in a pink dress, but in a good way., 3 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys (Paperback)
Ok, firstly how can one resist a book with a title like this!
As an afficianado of cheesy b-movies, classic black and white holmes movies and monkeys, chris woods chucklesome holmes parody checked every box for me, and after reading it I can say it certainly met my expectations!
Wood has a nack for pythonesque humour making the gags silly in the best possible sense and very readable to boot, its certainly classifiable as a page turner. I suppose if one were not fond of this kind of humour then I suppose it might not be the book for them, but then humour has always been subjective. The first story in the book alone is worth the price of admission where self-satified berk holmes and his curmudgeon sidekick watson discover a sinister plot to replace parliment with zombie apes (and seriously who would notice these days) but then you get several shorter stories chucked in as well all of which just as good!
Overall then i'd say if you enjoy parody in general and are fond of silly (and very british) humour then you could do far worse than buy this book, unless you know a way into knowsly safari park and have some plastic wings and strong glue, otherwise buy the book!

(p.s if you DO have a way into ANY ZOO/safari park and the aformentioned glue and wings i'm in! (just make sure to bring plenty of gin for courage and perhaps some sedaative to subdue the monkeys)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise!, 4 July 2011
This review is from: Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys (Paperback)
Having enjoyed many of the original stories by Conan Doyle, I wondered how this volume would match up. Sherlock Holmes is not easy to spoof well; even the great Peter Cook and Dudley Moore failed miserably in a comic take of 'The Hound of the Baskervilles'. It was with pleasant surprise then that I discovered that Chris Wood had paid careful attention to the original style of the Conan Doyle books and weaved in a very cynical aspect to Doctor Watson's commentary around a fantastically absurb storyline.

The book is very funny and a lot of the humour comes from a careful observation of the period as well as witting and cynical observations of the characters. I look forward to reading Chris's other Sherlock Holms story, 'The Underpants of death'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys
Sherlock Holmes and the Flying Zombie Death Monkeys by Chris Wood (Paperback - 1 Dec 2010)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews