Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for!
Been trying to trade Betfair for about 12 months without success and if like me you feel that your treading water on Betfair, then this book could be what your looking for.

What I like about this book is doesnt pretend to be something its not, the author doesnt claim to be a professional, just an ordinary guy who understands the trading process (and he does!)...
Published on 10 Nov 2009 by Filbert

versus
43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No detail
The author states the book is "written for the sports trader who is at the stage where he would like to take his trading to the next level.", and discusses the following topics:

The Learning Process
Having Attainable Goals
Your Trading Bank
Paper and Minimum Stake Trading
Learning from Mistakes
Keeping a Trading Diary
Trading from...
Published on 13 Nov 2009 by Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No detail, 13 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Betfair: How to Make Serious Money Trading Betting Exchanges (Paperback)
The author states the book is "written for the sports trader who is at the stage where he would like to take his trading to the next level.", and discusses the following topics:

The Learning Process
Having Attainable Goals
Your Trading Bank
Paper and Minimum Stake Trading
Learning from Mistakes
Keeping a Trading Diary
Trading from a Plan
Trading Systems
Learn How the Market Reacts
Back-testing
Make Sure Your Strategy Has Been Historically Profitable
Randomness and High Probability Trades
Mistakes and Warning Signs
Protecting Your Bank
A Money Management Plan
Learning to Accept Losses
Be a Contrarian
Trading in Your Own Time Frame
Balancing Trading and Living

It also lists a few trading strategies from certain sports (football, tennis, cricket, golf).

Experienced sports traders will tell you that most of these topics are very important - it's all good solid advice. However, most of the topic content spans four or five pages (of fairly large print), some for only three. As such, no topic is examined in any great detail. The book is more a list of techniques and skills than a training aid.

For example, the Chapter on Learning from Mistakes lists three examples of losing trades, then notes the lessons learned. The learning process itself is not examined - the need to be completely honest about decision making, the failure to recognise bad habits, the need to analyse thoroughly.

Another example: the author suggests only betting with a £20 note under the keyboard, so one doesn't forget the real value of money. Sorry, but that is not the kind of information which will make anyone a better trader.

It's difficult to know what to expect from this book. The front cover reads "How to make serious money trading betting exchanges", yet there is little in-depth content to take the reader to that holy grail.

Having said that, this will probably become the benchmark text for Exchange trading.

In short: There's nothing in this book which you can't read elsewhere for free and in more detail.

If this were a book for beginners I would give 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars nothing special, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: Mastering Betfair: How to Make Serious Money Trading Betting Exchanges (Paperback)
As I have said nothing special.This book maybe ok for a beginner.That it as much as I can say for it.He certainly is not giving you any trade secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for!, 10 Nov 2009
This review is from: Mastering Betfair: How to Make Serious Money Trading Betting Exchanges (Paperback)
Been trying to trade Betfair for about 12 months without success and if like me you feel that your treading water on Betfair, then this book could be what your looking for.

What I like about this book is doesnt pretend to be something its not, the author doesnt claim to be a professional, just an ordinary guy who understands the trading process (and he does!). I emailed him, as there are some excel spreadsheets he can provide you with and I must say I found Pete a very approachable guy and I have since exchanged one or two emails with him.

I found the book easy to follow and its set out well and the information provided is good and very useful. My thought process has certainly been stimulated to look at the Betfair markets in a different way.

In conclusion; an excellent read and for the cost of a round of drinks its well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 11 Jan 2014
Very good book and not to basic, offers good insight, strategies and advice. I regularly re visit it for certain info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy grail, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A recommended read if your serious and willing to think outside the box and trade like a professional. Not for the ones looking for a quick buck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent choice, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Betfair: How to Make Serious Money Trading Betting Exchanges (Paperback)
I am very happy with the book, a good choice for me and for anyone who buys it, recommend. Good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Betfair: How to Make Serious Money Trading Betting Exchanges (Paperback)
Fantastic book, very well set out and clearly explains to the reader the various tactics to use to master betfair. The Author clearly has a terrific amount of knowledge and is able to pass this on in a clear and instructive way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Betfair: How to Make Serious Money Trading Betting Exchanges (Paperback)
Very thorough guide on trading the betting exchanges. Includes the author's personal systems which he backs up using data adn graphs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much use., 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I purchased this book I expected more of a book on how to use Betfair to make money, as Betfair's help is pitifully inadequate. For example it took Betfair's support people 5 emails to me on how to place something as simple as a patent bet. This book covers nothing like that, it seems geared to betting on football matches. Once you have read it, there is no need use it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The best part is about 'greening up' and locking in a ..., 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Betfair: How to Make Serious Money Trading Betting Exchanges (Paperback)
I completed this book inside a week. I have never logged onto Betfair before so the first part of the book helped in that sense. The author helps you with your betting calculation and a explains a few strategies to make money on golf, tennis, and cricket. The best part is about 'greening up' and locking in a profit. There is nothing in the book that helps you with horse racing.

The remaining information on trading is basic common sense and the book is packed out with unnecessary graphs. The books useful tips could have been written on two side of A4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering Betfair: How to Make Serious Money Trading Betting Exchanges
£21.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews