Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful work unlikely to be bettered
This is the second and concluding part of recipe books by Philip Howard and does not disappoint: it is, actually, a tour de force. In reviewing the savoury cookbook, I suggested that many readers may find it difficult to replicate a good few of the recipes it contained: this was not a criticism, merely an acknowledgement of the author's mastery. While the recipes in...
Published 8 months ago by R. J. de Bulat

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little disappointed
After waiting a year to get part 2 of the Square cookery book I have admit being a little disappointed.I really liked the 1st part.They should have put it in 1 volume and charged more.Instead of trying to milk it.

Sorry Phil
Published 8 months ago by p.w constable


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
This was a present (for someone else) and my feedback is that the book is very good.

The book arrived promptly and well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
Probably one of the best dessert books that I have evr purchased, thought that it was innovative and more importantly the recipes that I have so far tried have all turned out fantastic, the salted caramel tart is something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
After his amazing first volume of savoury delights, i was a little worried that a completely separate second book on 'sweets' would be hard pressed to live up to its predecessor. However, when the weighty second volume arrived in the post, i was not disappointed in the least. the recipes are amazing - just the right level of detail to help you achieve the end result. The photos are beautiful, the recipes varied and whilst some are incredibly complex, the majority contain elements that any good home cook would be able to master with practice. The flavours are great and Phil Howard celebrates key seasonal ingredients at the centre of each dish. By far my favourite two recipe books and i have many a book on my kitchen shelves. It's great that such a high calibre chef is sharing his life's work so far and i look forward to trying out even more recipes over the coming months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little disappointed, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
After waiting a year to get part 2 of the Square cookery book I have admit being a little disappointed.I really liked the 1st part.They should have put it in 1 volume and charged more.Instead of trying to milk it.

Sorry Phil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is SWEET!, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
What a remarkable book, from the matte front cover to the fact you get two page markers(!) and a photo of each dish (very rare in cook books).

This book has a great introduction which includes a quick guide to oven temperatures and timing and a list of essential equipment you will need to be successful in your dessert making endeavours.

Also, it has very detailed decriptions of the recipes, including an over view of each dish, what you need to focus on, key components and timing. Each recipe is broken down into individual parts of the finished dish. This means that if you only want to make one of the components of the dish you don't have to skim through the entire recipe just to find the bit you need.

So over all a great read, I've yet to attempt cooking anything from the book because I've only had it a day, but I'm sure the recipes are well tested and relitively (relative to a two star chef that is) easy to accomplish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1e44234)

This product

The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2
The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 by Philip Howard (Hardcover - 18 July 2013)
19.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews