Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful work unlikely to be bettered
This is the second and concluding part of recipe books by Philip Howard and does not disappoint: it is, actually, a tour de force. In reviewing the savoury cookbook, I suggested that many readers may find it difficult to replicate a good few of the recipes it contained: this was not a criticism, merely an acknowledgement of the author's mastery. While the recipes in...
Published 16 months ago by R de Bulat

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little disappointed
After waiting a year to get part 2 of the Square cookery book I have admit being a little disappointed.I really liked the 1st part.They should have put it in 1 volume and charged more.Instead of trying to milk it.

Sorry Phil
Published 16 months ago by p.w constable


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think Masterchef, rather than Come Dine With Me, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
I've been salivating over the arrival of this book for what seems like a life time! After the first amazing publication.
On first inspection As you would expect for a total perfectionist as is Phil Howard is the book is absolutely stunning.
The photography is stunning and there is a picture of the finished dish to accompany each recipe. The recipes within cover pre-desserts, souffles, sorbets to bread and everything else in between. It's clean, crisp and so very professional.

Three recipes from The Square - Volume 2: find out how to make Phil Howard's Lemon posset with a blueberry compote and warm vanilla beignets; Nougat; Blackberry sorbet with Granny Smith granita.
A home cook with a small amount of knowledge may find looking at the recipes, rather than the pictures, the book becomes very daunting, but please stay in there as it is all possible...

A more in-depth perusal will make you realise though, once you can get your head round the complexity of some of the recipes, it's actually very cleverly laid out. If you're serious about challenging yourself with some Michelin-class dessert-making, then this is the book to ease you into it.

Each recipe is calculated to serve eight people and while that is more guests than most cookbooks would aim their recipes towards, in this case it makes sense. It's not an everyday cookbook. These are the types of recipes you would undertake for a really special occasion for a lucky group of friends. It's a proper show-off dinner party book.

Think Masterchef, rather than Come Dine With Me. I'm not sure I'd want the bother for any less than eight people - if you're gonna do, do it properly! They deserve careful handling and attention to detail... Your friends, and the recipes.

The layout covers some main headers - words of introduction and overview; a "focus on" section which gives extremely useful tips about the things you should look for in your ingredients (such as use older eggs whites for soufflés as they will whisk up better), or advice on preparing your equipment (butter your moulds well to ensure your soufflés rise properly); a list of the key components for the recipe; and finally an invaluable section on timing, as well as the order in which to prepare things. All in all, if you follow the instructions as given, then it's fail-safe. Very clever.

The Christmas section is such a fantastic idea....particularly mouth-watering. The Christmas pudding soufflé with a 21-year-old whisky and malted milk ice-cream anyone? It would make Santa weep.

Throughout the book, Phil has put forth his thoughts on topics such as seasonality, provenance and how food makes him feel. This book has clearly been written from the heart of someone who lives and loves food, already evidenced by the success of his restaurant.

In summary, if you're not afraid of a challenge, want to learn how to make some truly unusual and impressive sweet dishes, can muster up equipment such as a sugar thermometer and have adequate space to concurrently prepare enough recipe elements without your stress levels rising too much, then this may be the book for you.

Its also a very sexy coffee table edition but hey why waste such a work of art.....Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tough going but really worth it., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
you have to know your way around the kitchen to use this book, but it is truly a road map to excellence. It explains everything very clearly and is a guid to help you produce some of the best food you will ever eat. Be sure to read well and understand the steps before you start to produce any of the dishes. I must say the cheese cakes are out of this world. The soups are knock out, be sure to try the Veloute of celeriac and pear with the scotch eggs, also the terrine of chicken, foie gras and girlies. One of my very best buys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice ideas, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
Very good book some really nice ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
This was a present (for someone else) and my feedback is that the book is very good.

The book arrived promptly and well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
Probably one of the best dessert books that I have evr purchased, thought that it was innovative and more importantly the recipes that I have so far tried have all turned out fantastic, the salted caramel tart is something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
After his amazing first volume of savoury delights, i was a little worried that a completely separate second book on 'sweets' would be hard pressed to live up to its predecessor. However, when the weighty second volume arrived in the post, i was not disappointed in the least. the recipes are amazing - just the right level of detail to help you achieve the end result. The photos are beautiful, the recipes varied and whilst some are incredibly complex, the majority contain elements that any good home cook would be able to master with practice. The flavours are great and Phil Howard celebrates key seasonal ingredients at the centre of each dish. By far my favourite two recipe books and i have many a book on my kitchen shelves. It's great that such a high calibre chef is sharing his life's work so far and i look forward to trying out even more recipes over the coming months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is SWEET!, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
What a remarkable book, from the matte front cover to the fact you get two page markers(!) and a photo of each dish (very rare in cook books).

This book has a great introduction which includes a quick guide to oven temperatures and timing and a list of essential equipment you will need to be successful in your dessert making endeavours.

Also, it has very detailed decriptions of the recipes, including an over view of each dish, what you need to focus on, key components and timing. Each recipe is broken down into individual parts of the finished dish. This means that if you only want to make one of the components of the dish you don't have to skim through the entire recipe just to find the bit you need.

So over all a great read, I've yet to attempt cooking anything from the book because I've only had it a day, but I'm sure the recipes are well tested and relitively (relative to a two star chef that is) easy to accomplish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little disappointed, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
After waiting a year to get part 2 of the Square cookery book I have admit being a little disappointed.I really liked the 1st part.They should have put it in 1 volume and charged more.Instead of trying to milk it.

Sorry Phil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook)
The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) by Philip Howard (Hardcover - 18 July 2013)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews