Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful work unlikely to be bettered
This is the second and concluding part of recipe books by Philip Howard and does not disappoint: it is, actually, a tour de force. In reviewing the savoury cookbook, I suggested that many readers may find it difficult to replicate a good few of the recipes it contained: this was not a criticism, merely an acknowledgement of the author's mastery. While the recipes in...
Published 13 months ago by R. J. de Bulat

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little disappointed
After waiting a year to get part 2 of the Square cookery book I have admit being a little disappointed.I really liked the 1st part.They should have put it in 1 volume and charged more.Instead of trying to milk it.

Sorry Phil
Published 13 months ago by p.w constable


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful work unlikely to be bettered, 5 Aug 2013
By 
R. J. de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
This is the second and concluding part of recipe books by Philip Howard and does not disappoint: it is, actually, a tour de force. In reviewing the savoury cookbook, I suggested that many readers may find it difficult to replicate a good few of the recipes it contained: this was not a criticism, merely an acknowledgement of the author's mastery. While the recipes in this book are no less excellent, they are much more accessible and will seem easier to reproduce. Great care has been taken to explain and provide instructions at every step of the way from overview and planning to timings and execution: in this respect, both books are exemplary and a cut above many cookbooks you can buy. As usual, the food photography is first class and everything about the book shouts out "quality." Anyone interested in great cookery and wanting to try to produce food of excellence should get this book on desserts, if only to try and perfect a few of the recipes that it contains. Together, savoury and sweet, they form the best cookery books I posses and I have well in excess of 200. The recipes are challenging and not for every day, but definitely sometimes, especially when it matters, then you will be glad to have a book like this to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 29 Aug 2013
By 
C. Scott (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
This is a fabulous book; not that the recipes within are easily achievable (I have tried one with huge success - and hours of time!); it more the inspiration behind the man, the restaurant and the philosophy for food. I loved it - I also have the 'savoury' one as well; again inspirational! This, and its companion book are beautifully laid out in great detail and this is where it scores a massive plus for me … many of the techniques are daunting but Phil Howard explains them so well and so clearly anything seems possible – and is!

I would like to try more of the contents, and hope to do so ... it’s certainly a challenge for even the most experienced home cook, but well worth it.

My next ambition is lunch at The Square …

More please ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes up where book 1 left off......., 17 July 2013
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
Brillant explanations of great tasting desserts and puddings. Pretty much beyond reproach .
The only thing I am not really that thrilled about are the photos themselves which seem overly re-touched and doctored,so much so that I look at some of them as I looked at the photos in book 1 and all of a sudden nothing seems real.
Otherwise, my mistrust of the photos aside , like like like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
Absolutely amazing. the designs are amazing. its artistic.
i would love to be able to do work like this.
thank you for sharing your work with us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serious cookbook for serious cooks, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
We ate here in February and adored the food. Bought this for my husband, who loves cooking. Recipes are very detailed and quite complicated, not for a novice, but the food is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Book for Dessert Lovers, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
As I liked Volume 1 of this book so much, I bought The Square Volume 2. The photos of the dishes are exquisite. Again I found the layout of the book very easy to read. I particularly like that you are told which part of the recipe can be done in advance. I am looking forward to cooking the Christmas Pudding from the recipe in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great artistery, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
where can i find 2 kg brillat savarin in Stockholm or 2 kg passionfruit without being ruined. now the search starts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time worth taking, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
Bought as a present and recipient loves it. Have had some meals from the book and although they do take ages to prepare, they are absolutely delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
It's hard to say(being head chef myself), but this book is written by genuis chef, really inspirational reading.
Of course not all of the dishes in the book look the same in the restaurant, but recipes are workable though really time consuming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think Masterchef, rather than Come Dine With Me, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 (Hardcover)
I've been salivating over the arrival of this book for what seems like a life time! After the first amazing publication.
On first inspection As you would expect for a total perfectionist as is Phil Howard is the book is absolutely stunning.
The photography is stunning and there is a picture of the finished dish to accompany each recipe. The recipes within cover pre-desserts, souffles, sorbets to bread and everything else in between. It's clean, crisp and so very professional.

Three recipes from The Square - Volume 2: find out how to make Phil Howard's Lemon posset with a blueberry compote and warm vanilla beignets; Nougat; Blackberry sorbet with Granny Smith granita.
A home cook with a small amount of knowledge may find looking at the recipes, rather than the pictures, the book becomes very daunting, but please stay in there as it is all possible...

A more in-depth perusal will make you realise though, once you can get your head round the complexity of some of the recipes, it's actually very cleverly laid out. If you're serious about challenging yourself with some Michelin-class dessert-making, then this is the book to ease you into it.

Each recipe is calculated to serve eight people and while that is more guests than most cookbooks would aim their recipes towards, in this case it makes sense. It's not an everyday cookbook. These are the types of recipes you would undertake for a really special occasion for a lucky group of friends. It's a proper show-off dinner party book.

Think Masterchef, rather than Come Dine With Me. I'm not sure I'd want the bother for any less than eight people - if you're gonna do, do it properly! They deserve careful handling and attention to detail... Your friends, and the recipes.

The layout covers some main headers - words of introduction and overview; a "focus on" section which gives extremely useful tips about the things you should look for in your ingredients (such as use older eggs whites for soufflés as they will whisk up better), or advice on preparing your equipment (butter your moulds well to ensure your soufflés rise properly); a list of the key components for the recipe; and finally an invaluable section on timing, as well as the order in which to prepare things. All in all, if you follow the instructions as given, then it's fail-safe. Very clever.

The Christmas section is such a fantastic idea....particularly mouth-watering. The Christmas pudding soufflé with a 21-year-old whisky and malted milk ice-cream anyone? It would make Santa weep.

Throughout the book, Phil has put forth his thoughts on topics such as seasonality, provenance and how food makes him feel. This book has clearly been written from the heart of someone who lives and loves food, already evidenced by the success of his restaurant.

In summary, if you're not afraid of a challenge, want to learn how to make some truly unusual and impressive sweet dishes, can muster up equipment such as a sugar thermometer and have adequate space to concurrently prepare enough recipe elements without your stress levels rising too much, then this may be the book for you.

Its also a very sexy coffee table edition but hey why waste such a work of art.....Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2
The Square: Sweet (Square: the Cookbook): 2 by Philip Howard (Hardcover - 18 July 2013)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews