Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best desserts book that I own
My wife purchased this book for me as a birthday present as when designing menus, desserts are always where I struggle for information; in short this book has been absolutely fantastic for inspiration (probably worth noting that I would describe myself as a very keen home cook who enjoys having guests around for dinner parties; I'm certainly not a profession chef)...
Published 8 months ago by Chris M

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little disappointed
After waiting a year to get part 2 of the Square cookery book I have admit being a little disappointed.I really liked the 1st part.They should have put it in 1 volume and charged more.Instead of trying to milk it.

Sorry Phil
Published 23 months ago by p.w constable


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best desserts book that I own, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Chris M (York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
My wife purchased this book for me as a birthday present as when designing menus, desserts are always where I struggle for information; in short this book has been absolutely fantastic for inspiration (probably worth noting that I would describe myself as a very keen home cook who enjoys having guests around for dinner parties; I'm certainly not a profession chef).

I already own The Square Savoury book and the desserts book follows the same format of fantastic pictures combined with challenging and inspirational recipes.

The book is split into 12 recipe sections:

Pre Desserts
Cheesecake
Souffles
Pastry
Cream
Fruit
Chocolate
Desserts in a Glass
Sorbets
Christmas
Bread
Petits Fours

Each recipe not only has a picture, but as with Savoury, Phil Howard gives a fantastic method which really leaves the reader in no doubt as to how to achieve the same results.

Before each method are four short introductions:

Overview - gives a sense of what's required to cook the dish (I find this exceptionally useful)
Focus on - ingredients are highlighted here that require special selection
Key Components - a list of key assemblies that constitute the dish
Timing - here guidance is given re timing and recipes are broken down so you can make the best use of your time

In short, this book is not for the feint hearted, but if willing to commit time and effort into studying the book and then carrying out the recipes, you will find this book a real asset to own. I am so thankful to own it and have cooked 3 very successful recipes directly from it, taking elements from other recipes for inspiration. A book I would not want to be without.

Below is a recipe list which hopefully you will find helpful in your decision to purchase or not:

Pre Desserts

Almond Milk Yoghurt with Plum Compote, Champagne and Bay Sugared Beignet
Vanilla Yoghurt with Rhubarb Compote, Blood orange Foam and a Warm Citrus Beignet
Cardamom Yoghurt with Alphonso Mango. Coconut Foam and a Lime Beignet
Vanilla Yoghurt with Crushed White Peach, Lemon Verbena Foam, Crushed Raspberries and a Warm Vanilla Beignet

Cheesecake

Brilliant Savarin Cheesecake
Brilliant Savarin Cheesecake with Gooseberry, Pink Champagne and Elderflower
Brilliant Savarin Cheesecake with Passion Fruit and Lime
Brilliant Savarin Cheesecake with a tasting of Strawberries
Brilliant Savarin Cheesecake with Redcurrant Jelly, White Currant Puree and Blackcurrant Spheres

Souffles

Elderflower Souffle with Sauternes Ice Cream and Elderflower Fritters
Peach Melba Souffle with Almond and Vanilla Ice Cream
Bay Leaf Souffle with Caramelised Pear and Salted Beurre Noisette Ice Cream
Mocha Souffle with Dulce de Leche Ice Cream and Coffee and Chocolate Macaroons
Rice Pudding Souffle with Prunes and Armagnac
Seville Orange Souffle with Toast Ice Cream and Butter Sauce

Pastry

Puff Pastry
Caramelised Wafers with Gooseberry Fool, wild strawberries and currants
Tarte Fine of Quince with Elderberry Ripple Ice Cream, Crab Apple Jelly and Hazelnut Oil
Tarte Tatin of Pineapple with Lime Ice Cream and Coconut Powder
Sweet Pastry
Creme Fraiche Tart with Blood Orange
Salted Caramel Tart with Praline Macaroons and Ginger Vanilla Ice Cream

Cream

Rhubarb Fool, Mousse, Jelly, Sorbet and Doughnut
Creme Brulee with Cherries, Creme Fraiche, Sorbet and Yoghurt Powder
Creme Caramel with Golden Raisins and Sauternes
Rice Pudding with Clementine Jelly, Blood Orange, Vanilla and Cardamom
Vanilla and Almond Cream with Crushed Fig, Thyme Ice Cream and Olive Oil
Walnut Oil Parfait with Macadamia Sable, Almond Florentine and Pedro Ximinez and Prune Puree
Panacotta with Rhubarb and Warm Rhubarb Ripple Souffle

Fruit

Blueberry Poached Pineapple with Yoghurt Ice Cream
Poached Apricots with Camomile, Honey and Fresh Almonds
Apple and Blackberry Spheres with Blackberry Jelly and Bramley Doughnuts
Pomegranate Jelly with a Fine Fruit Salad and Passion Fruit and Banana Sorbet
Soup of Strawberries with Champagne and Vanilla
Port Roasted Figs with Creme Fraiche Custard, Lemon Beignets and Olive Oil
Roasted Pears with Date Cake and Sherry Vinegar Ice Cream

Chocolate

Chocolate Souffle with Orange and Almonds Ice Cream and Hot Chocolate Sauce
Fondant of Chocolate with Milk Ice Cream, 100s and 1000s and Bitter Chocolate Foam
Chocolate Mousses and Textures
Chocolate and Burnt Citrus Pave with Bitter Chocolate Sorbet, Goat's milk puree, Espresso and Olive Oil
The Square Chocolate Bar with Peanuts, Salt and Caramel

Desserts in a Glass

Lemon Posset with a Blueberry Compote and Warm Vanilla Beignet
Peach and Raspberry Trifle
Greengage, Nectarine and Gooseberry Fool
Chocolate Mess

Sorbets

Blackberry Sorbet with Granny Smith Granita
Charentais Melon Sorbet with Watermelon Granita and Monbazillac
Passion Fruit Sorbet with Lime Granita
Rhubarb Sorbet with Blood Orange Granita

Christmas

Christmas Crumble Tart with Muscovado Ice Cream and Vanilla Sauce
Mincemeat Roulades
Christmas Pudding with Burnt Butter Ice Cream and Brandy Foam
Christmas Pudding Souffle with 21 Year Old Glenfarclas Whisky and Malted Milk Ice Cream

Bread

General Bread Methodology
Sourdough Starter
White Baguette Rolls
Granary Rolls
Walnut and Raisin Rolls
Sourdough
Fig and Hazelnut Bread

Petits Fours

Nougat
Hibiscus Dipped Pineapple
Blood Orange Pate de Fruit
Cider Dipped Apples
Grapefruit Confit
Passion Fruit Swiss Roll
Salted Caramel Truffles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterful work unlikely to be bettered, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
R de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
This is the second and concluding part of recipe books by Philip Howard and does not disappoint: it is, actually, a tour de force. In reviewing the savoury cookbook, I suggested that many readers may find it difficult to replicate a good few of the recipes it contained: this was not a criticism, merely an acknowledgement of the author's mastery. While the recipes in this book are no less excellent, they are much more accessible and will seem easier to reproduce. Great care has been taken to explain and provide instructions at every step of the way from overview and planning to timings and execution: in this respect, both books are exemplary and a cut above many cookbooks you can buy. As usual, the food photography is first class and everything about the book shouts out "quality." Anyone interested in great cookery and wanting to try to produce food of excellence should get this book on desserts, if only to try and perfect a few of the recipes that it contains. Together, savoury and sweet, they form the best cookery books I posses and I have well in excess of 200. The recipes are challenging and not for every day, but definitely sometimes, especially when it matters, then you will be glad to have a book like this to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
C. Scott (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
This is a fabulous book; not that the recipes within are easily achievable (I have tried one with huge success - and hours of time!); it more the inspiration behind the man, the restaurant and the philosophy for food. I loved it - I also have the 'savoury' one as well; again inspirational! This, and its companion book are beautifully laid out in great detail and this is where it scores a massive plus for me … many of the techniques are daunting but Phil Howard explains them so well and so clearly anything seems possible – and is!

I would like to try more of the contents, and hope to do so ... it’s certainly a challenge for even the most experienced home cook, but well worth it.

My next ambition is lunch at The Square …

More please ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes up where book 1 left off......., 17 July 2013
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
Brillant explanations of great tasting desserts and puddings. Pretty much beyond reproach .
The only thing I am not really that thrilled about are the photos themselves which seem overly re-touched and doctored,so much so that I look at some of them as I looked at the photos in book 1 and all of a sudden nothing seems real.
Otherwise, my mistrust of the photos aside , like like like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Book for Dessert Lovers, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
As I liked Volume 1 of this book so much, I bought The Square Volume 2. The photos of the dishes are exquisite. Again I found the layout of the book very easy to read. I particularly like that you are told which part of the recipe can be done in advance. I am looking forward to cooking the Christmas Pudding from the recipe in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think Masterchef, rather than Come Dine With Me, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
I've been salivating over the arrival of this book for what seems like a life time! After the first amazing publication.
On first inspection As you would expect for a total perfectionist as is Phil Howard is the book is absolutely stunning.
The photography is stunning and there is a picture of the finished dish to accompany each recipe. The recipes within cover pre-desserts, souffles, sorbets to bread and everything else in between. It's clean, crisp and so very professional.

Three recipes from The Square - Volume 2: find out how to make Phil Howard's Lemon posset with a blueberry compote and warm vanilla beignets; Nougat; Blackberry sorbet with Granny Smith granita.
A home cook with a small amount of knowledge may find looking at the recipes, rather than the pictures, the book becomes very daunting, but please stay in there as it is all possible...

A more in-depth perusal will make you realise though, once you can get your head round the complexity of some of the recipes, it's actually very cleverly laid out. If you're serious about challenging yourself with some Michelin-class dessert-making, then this is the book to ease you into it.

Each recipe is calculated to serve eight people and while that is more guests than most cookbooks would aim their recipes towards, in this case it makes sense. It's not an everyday cookbook. These are the types of recipes you would undertake for a really special occasion for a lucky group of friends. It's a proper show-off dinner party book.

Think Masterchef, rather than Come Dine With Me. I'm not sure I'd want the bother for any less than eight people - if you're gonna do, do it properly! They deserve careful handling and attention to detail... Your friends, and the recipes.

The layout covers some main headers - words of introduction and overview; a "focus on" section which gives extremely useful tips about the things you should look for in your ingredients (such as use older eggs whites for soufflés as they will whisk up better), or advice on preparing your equipment (butter your moulds well to ensure your soufflés rise properly); a list of the key components for the recipe; and finally an invaluable section on timing, as well as the order in which to prepare things. All in all, if you follow the instructions as given, then it's fail-safe. Very clever.

The Christmas section is such a fantastic idea....particularly mouth-watering. The Christmas pudding soufflé with a 21-year-old whisky and malted milk ice-cream anyone? It would make Santa weep.

Throughout the book, Phil has put forth his thoughts on topics such as seasonality, provenance and how food makes him feel. This book has clearly been written from the heart of someone who lives and loves food, already evidenced by the success of his restaurant.

In summary, if you're not afraid of a challenge, want to learn how to make some truly unusual and impressive sweet dishes, can muster up equipment such as a sugar thermometer and have adequate space to concurrently prepare enough recipe elements without your stress levels rising too much, then this may be the book for you.

Its also a very sexy coffee table edition but hey why waste such a work of art.....Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious cookbook for serious cooks, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
We ate here in February and adored the food. Bought this for my husband, who loves cooking. Recipes are very detailed and quite complicated, not for a novice, but the food is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
Absolutely amazing. the designs are amazing. its artistic.
i would love to be able to do work like this.
thank you for sharing your work with us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
It's hard to say(being head chef myself), but this book is written by genuis chef, really inspirational reading.
Of course not all of the dishes in the book look the same in the restaurant, but recipes are workable though really time consuming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cookbook, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) (Hardcover)
This I got for a friend to give her son for a present, so I can't really review it, but having a quick look through it looked very good, sso I'm sure he will have liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook)
The Square: Sweet: 2 (Square: the Cookbook) by Philip Howard (Hardcover - 18 July 2013)
£24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews