Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Essence, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Essence: New Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
A brilliant book - bought as a follow-up to the 2 previous volumes. Highly recommended and a great inspiration to those who are passionate about exquisite food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food glorious food, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Essence: New Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
Recipes are quite detailed but I knew that before purchasing it; have only tried a couple of recipes so far but both turned out very well so I will definitely be using this as a recipe book to turn to for that extra special meal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless cuisine, 15 April 2013
This review is from: Beyond Essence: New Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
Chef David never dissapoints, I had the opportunity to dine at his restaurant when I was doing my apprenticeship in England and I was blown away then as an impressionable young chef, now I still find his cooking exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enough is said in the title......Just Awesome, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Essence: New Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
If the last recipe collection became the second best-selling cookbook in the world, and this has a new direction where will this be going?

There's a bit more finesse but with the same gutsy flavors, I have been informed that there are about 16 dishes on the menu from the book. Or they have been on the menu, are on the menu now or will be very soon.

This shows the love and dedication of a chef who has never become bored of cooking the same thing and never wants to sit and get stagnant. Some people reach a point and become complacent but Davis has always wanted to push further. Years before the labored word "foraged become common place this guy was there, also stood at his pass on every service now thats something very very Unique and special.... Do all these other Chefs who publish books and own a multitude of Establishments show the same passion?

His quest to push the boundaries but maintain his style - a love for offal, shellfish and seasonal local ingredients - could earn him a third coveted Michelin star, well worthy of the highest accolade..

"It would be lovely to have three stars and I'm sure if they think we deserve it they will give it to us. Our aim is to work hard and if it comes it comes." As Quoted by the Chef himself..

Introduced to cooking at the age of seven by his aunt - a forager - David trained at the Four Seasons Hotel in London before he was sent to gain inspiration alongside legendary chef Pierre Koffman, the forward was penned by the great man himself.

Since then he has built up a reputation and avoided dabbling in the supposedly trendy side of cooking, molecular gastronomy, as most other chefs mostly achieving very poor results, all gimmicks and no substance.

"It's about getting away from the chemicals and foams," he says. "Our butcher scouts around for the best ingredients and we ask vegetable suppliers if they are willing to grow for us."

Firmly established as one of the most exciting chefs in the country, David has turned down the chance to appear on Great British Menu on three occasions, seeking to avoid the limelight.

But with the restaurant celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, of which half this time retaining 2 Michelin stars, he will finally appear on our screens in the coming weeks....I hear the Hairy Bikers then Saturday Kitchen.

His recipes however, remain as exciting as ever. This new book contains creations such as salted chicory mousse, parsley panna cotta, anise hyssopy sorbet and his signature dish, Dexter beef.

After two hours of demonstrations and sampling, my time in the kitchen has come to an end as staff gear up for a busy lunch service. It's been a truly memorable experience. There's no great secret. Modest surroundings, a humble chef and outstanding creative food.

Clear your diary. Book yourself a table. I've seen how they cook. I know exactly how it tastes. And I know you'd be a fool to miss out.

I will let others write a full review on all the recipes, I will not as anybody who has the past publications will vouch for ...its just pure chefology...pure and simple...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Essence: New Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
great book!!great recipes...we want more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 2 April 2013
This review is from: Beyond Essence: New Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
My three most favourite cookbooks. Inspires and motivates you to try and emulate this culinary genius .Davids use of hedgerow ingredients adds to the books charm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellt book... quick delivery..., 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Essence: New Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
excellt book...quick delivery...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent follow up, 16 May 2013
By 
Ian Howorth (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Essence: New Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage (Hardcover)
Another wonderful book to aspire to. Precise instructions that can be methodically followed by a cook of capabale standard. An excellent addition to Davids 2 other books. Beyond Essence shows Davids love for foraged ingredients - which may be the only stumbling block to recreate excat recipes. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Essence: New Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage
Beyond Essence: New Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage by David Everitt-Matthias (Hardcover - 28 Feb. 2013)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews