Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse at the art and skill of a top chef
There are cookbooks aimed squarely at the "I'm bored of my standard repertoire of week night suppers, and I want some inspiration". Equally, there are cookbooks aimed at "I'm having a dinner party, and I want to make something a bit special". And then there are cookbooks from Michelin starred restaurateurs and restaurants; uber aspirational, requiring a dedication to both...
Published on 23 Nov 2012 by FussFreeFlavours

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
not modern at all...
Published 10 days ago by Nikos Alevras


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars take away, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Savoury: 1 (Hardcover)
even if i will only cook one dish from this book, it is worth buying. Here i found the recipes for one of my most memorable restaurant experiences ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for the enthusiastic foodie, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Savoury: 1 (Hardcover)
Having had the pleasure of experiencing the tasting menu a couple of years ago, I think this book is testament to the fantastic standards of this top class London restaurant.

Be warned that many of the recipes do require much preparation in advance - for example parts of the dish may have to be made the day before due to the complexity of the dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Restaurant standard receives and presentation, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Savoury: 1 (Hardcover)
This book has some amazing restaurant recipes. There are a lot of veloutés and foams, so unless you're prepared to buy a foam gun you'll be limited with what you can copy. I have bought one - cream suppliers.co.uk am looking forward to amazing friends/family when I've mastered using it. Have ordered the Sweet book due for release in June so guess I'm impressed with this book. Love Phil Howard, so he can do little wrong in my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you love cooking, you need this in your library, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Savoury: 1 (Hardcover)
brilliant book. For the experience chef or home novice cook. Each recipe is very well laid out to help the user focus on what is required and where to pay attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Savoury: 1 (Hardcover)
A book on a different level, well written, beautiful pictures. The perfect book if you want more than just the usual recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of cook books., 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Savoury: 1 (Hardcover)
I have shelves full of cook books, none of which inspire me the way this has. A beautifully crafted, well thought out, detailed cook book; authored by one of the best Chef's in the world.

Put your hairy bikers books down, it's time to learn how to really cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the square savoury 1, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Savoury: 1 (Hardcover)
a book by philip howard a very good book witch i will read over and over i will enjoy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cookery heaven, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Mary Tucker "quilt lady" (Stroud, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Square: Savoury: 1 (Hardcover)
Having seen Philip Howard on Saturday morning kitchen, this book was a must and proved to he all that Icexpected and more. Looking forward to purchadind volume 2 Desserts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Bill (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Savoury: 1 (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book. It is well written, well organised and well photographed. Phillip Howard runs a great top end restaurant which by its nature shows great attention to detail. And so does the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Square: Savoury: 1 (Hardcover)
I had bought this as a present for a professional chef. I think it was good choice! I look forward to the second part: Sweets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Square: Savoury: 1
The Square: Savoury: 1 by Philip Howard (Hardcover - 27 Sep 2012)
£28.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews