Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic bistro cookery book
I am lucky enough to have dined at their restaurant next to spittalfields market and it was up there with the one and two star restaurants I have eaten at and was one of the best meals I have ever had. As part of the tasting menu we ordered I received a signed copy of this book and it is incredible. It requires a decent level of cooking technique but a high standard...
Published on 24 Sep 2012 by Cueball

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a classic book
i love the view that the galvins take on food.
i am still trying the recipes in this book, the panna cotta was too hard.
but the methods are sound.
Published 9 months ago by imran rafi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic bistro cookery book, 24 Sep 2012
This review is from: Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe (Hardcover)
I am lucky enough to have dined at their restaurant next to spittalfields market and it was up there with the one and two star restaurants I have eaten at and was one of the best meals I have ever had. As part of the tasting menu we ordered I received a signed copy of this book and it is incredible. It requires a decent level of cooking technique but a high standard home cook should be comfortable. The beef short ribs recipe is phenomenal - a regular dinner party dish I make. All in all buy this book and enjoy some fantastic food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe (Hardcover)
This has secrets to perfect stocks, and recipes that include white truffle risotto which having had that at Galvin La Chapellenis one of the best I have ever had and was pleased to be able to replicate at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic the future is bright the future is French cuisine at its best, 11 Dec 2011
This review is from: Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe (Hardcover)
What a breath of fresh air, and makes for great reading:

As a long time admirer of the Galvin brothers' food and their restaurants, I have been eagerly looking forward to the publication of this, their first book, Galvin a Cookbook de Luxe. It has been a long time coming, but has most definitely been worth the wait.

The 286-page book is everything you would expect from Chris and his younger brother Jeff: honest, warm and welcoming. Illustrated with stunning photography by Lara Holmes, it is packed full of the most wonderful recipes reflecting the Galvins' strong allegiance to the classical French cookery which underlines their repertoire.

The story of the brothers' rise to the top of the culinary tree in London, where their four restaurants - Galvin Bistrot de Luxe, Galvin at Windows and Galvin La Chapelle & Cafe Vin - continually wow both customers and critics.

From the outset of their working lives - initially as teenagers taken on at a local Brentwood restaurant to earn pocket money - to the launch of Galvin Restaurants in 2005, Jeff has frequently followed in his brother's footsteps. Over the years they've worked together at Dinham Hall in Ludlow, and then in London at L'Escargot and the Orrery.

The French focus of the Galvins' cooking is perhaps surprising given that you could not meet two more down-to-earth British Chefs. They have, however, been influenced by their training and say that they like the discipline of French cookery. No matter what the influences are, there is no question that the food they produce is sublime - and the recipes here back that up.

Dishes range from simple classics such as tart flambée from Alsace and salade Lyonnaise to the more complex braised veal cheeks, ham and tongue with pommes purées and truffles Madeira sauce and savarin of summer berries. Some could easily be cooked at home, but my guess is that more of the recipes are likely to be reproduced by chefs keen to try some of the secrets of the Galvins' success.

Galvin a Cookbook de Luxe celebrates the work and lives of two of the nicest and most talented chefs in the industry. In time, I am certain that it will be regarded as a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a classic book, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe (Hardcover)
i love the view that the galvins take on food.
i am still trying the recipes in this book, the panna cotta was too hard.
but the methods are sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW What a book, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe (Hardcover)
The Galvin Brothers cookbook. , pure class a must have book for any aspiring chef , pure class only what you would expect from these michelin star brothers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe (Hardcover)
This is a great Book containing the classic and much loved recipe's and story's from the Great Galvin brothers.
GREAT READ!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written interesting recipes, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe (Hardcover)
We have tried 10 of the recipes so far and all work well. Great flavour and texture combinations. A good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Galvin, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe (Hardcover)
A real dedicated work book that reflects the quality of the cooking in the restaurants. Chris and Jeff like their rastaurants truely exceptional food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe (Hardcover)
Some devine recipies easily understood although replicating the experts at Galvin la Chapelle might need at little more practice. Even just reading the recipies will have you salavating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh what a shame !, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe (Hardcover)
Great book, spoiled by the fact that it has been inserted upside down within the cover -oh what a shame !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe
Galvin: A Cookbook de Luxe by Jeff Galvin (Hardcover - 22 Nov 2011)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews