Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mouth-watering collection.
This is a great selection of stews from all over the world offering a great variety to cater for all tastes although only about 15% are vegetarian, which might make the appeal more limited for those of us who are not omnivores.
The recipes -all savoury- are classified into chapters called: Traditional and hearty, Meals in a bowl, Stews to impress, Fragrant and...
Published on 3 April 2011 by Clementine

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Moderate.
Published 3 months ago by MICHAEL LOWSLEY-WILLIAMS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mouth-watering collection., 3 April 2011
This review is from: Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes (Paperback)
This is a great selection of stews from all over the world offering a great variety to cater for all tastes although only about 15% are vegetarian, which might make the appeal more limited for those of us who are not omnivores.
The recipes -all savoury- are classified into chapters called: Traditional and hearty, Meals in a bowl, Stews to impress, Fragrant and Aromatic and finally Fresh and Vibrant, the index at the end lists them from key ingredients, which makes it fairly easy to navigate through although an additional listing of the recipes to be found in each chapter would have been a welcome addition.
The photos are very appetising, the recipes are clearly explained, easy to follow and produce great results (even though the Beef Carbonnade lacks the "secret" ingredient which makes all the difference ;-).
I have been really impressed by Genevieve Taylor's take on both British and international dishes and the sheer variety she offers in this book, here is a taster of recipes we have tried and enjoyed: Sri Lankan fish curry with coconut sambal, Prawns and red peppers with almond and garlic sauce, Lamb with white beans and coriander, Persian chicken with walnuts and pomegranates, Pork belly braised with satsumas and medieval spices, Greek chicken and pasta stew to name but a few...
If you love stews this will be a great addition to your cookbook collection. Anthony Worrall Thompson's Slow Cooking is another one worth checking out, I bought both within a few days (^^) and I am glad to say they complement each other very nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty & Inspiring, 14 Jun 2011
This review is from: Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes (Paperback)
A really practical and trusty guide to all things stew-able.

Pragmatic approach to cooking comes through in delicious ideas and (for me anyway) results - with ideas for combinations of flavours that are genius - who said stews had seasonal limitation!

Buy it and enjoy it for happy eating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Cookbook, 29 Mar 2013
This review is from: Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes (Paperback)
My sister bought me this cookbook as she thought it was so good. I love it! So many delicious and easy to cook recipes. Whenever I read it I find something else I want to cook. Some excellent ideas for economical cooking, along with guidelines on freezing.
There are family friendly recipes along with recipes for more special occasions. So far the kids and adults have loved Highland Lamb Stew and Autumn Pork. My friends and husband have loved; Cavoli Nero and Cannellini Beans, Greek chicken and pasta stew, Butternut squash and lentils with raita, Smoke fish chowder and Pork with caramelised apples. Two friends have already bought this book since tasting some of these recipes!
I'm buying Soup! next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Jan (shropshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes (Paperback)
Some excellent original and tasty recipes in this book. A number of friends have purchased it after looking at our copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic cook book, just happens to be about stews, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes (Paperback)
This is a great little cook book! I bought my copy from The Works, where it was half the price, but it is so good, i felt i had to tell the world. Stews can be considered as boring, but all the recipes in this book contain vibrant recipes that would liven up any meal time all the year through. I'm a univeristy stew-dent (gettit?) and i love cooking, even more so if it is easy to do and I can cook it while i'm out and use cheap food. I particularly like the section about what cuts of meat work best.I got into stews a few months ago and i love how anything can be thrown in to suit your own taste. But this book offers a great recipes, which of course can be adjusted to taste. There are also a couple of tagine recipes which I love. Tagines are a great way to cook, i don't know why more of us don't do it!

The book itself is very nice, most recipes are accompanied by lovely detailed photographs, so you roughly know what the meal should look like

great book! i now want to buy the Mince! cookbook by the same publisher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 9 Aug 2011
This review is from: Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes (Paperback)
Wonderful, quick easy meals are only a day's planning away since most need/taste far better with the suggested marinating. Sofar cooked the Pollo al ajillo (garlic chicken -on the cover) and Pork braised with ginger, garlic & sweet soy. Both were simple & sensational. Two of the best news meals I had in a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Food, 16 Mar 2011
This review is from: Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes (Paperback)
An excellent cook book with mouthwatering recipes and so easy to follow. I particularly enjoyed the zingy and zest caribbean beef stew with ginger and lime. It was delicious and different. There is a recipe in there to suit everyone from kids to adults with more exotic taste buds. Can't wait to try more meaty recipes out and also some great ideas adaptable for my vegan in-laws. A definite food 'bible' for my cook book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully easy, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes (Paperback)
I received this book a couple of weeks ago and everything about the book is wonderful. Explanations are easy to follow and simple to use. To purchase a book that offers so much warm home cooking during the winter is a must have. This reminds me of when I was young and rushing home from school into a house of inviting aromas. This book is fully recommended to anyone who enjoys easy cooking to a wanting audience.

Julie Walker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have in any kitchen!!, 10 Mar 2011
This review is from: Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes (Paperback)
This book is a must have for any food lover. The recipes are simply stunning and easy to follow, covering all corners of the globe. From the classics to the unusual, each and every dish is delicious.
Cook one recipe, you'll cook them all. Whether it's something for a dinner party or just a cosy night in - you'll be spoilt for choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever Stew Book, 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes (Paperback)
a great book cant say enough about it.. to follow the recipes its easy and clear, tested a stew at the weekend, fab turned out great,cant wait to try more. If you loved your stews buy this book, there is something for everyone, must try the lentals and squash recipe Linda somerset
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes
Stew!: 100 Splendidly Simple Recipes by Genevieve Taylor (Paperback - 3 Feb 2011)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews