Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great British book
Like a Who's Who of the great of the British restaurant scene, this is a book which presents 100 signature recipes from 20 of our very best chefs. Compiled by the producer of BBC's Saturday Kitchen (on which show many of these chefs have appeared) and the son of the head of the Michelin restaurant guides, you would expect nothing less than the richest pickings of what...
Published on 3 Dec 2009 by Charles Fearnley

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars random compilation
This book seems like it was thrown together without much thought to the book as a whole. The recipes don't read the same the whole way through and just a first glance I can tell that the recipes were not tested... merely cut down to "serve 6" or "serve 4". There are so nice photos though, and it is cool to get a glimpse into what these chefs have on the menu at their...
Published on 3 May 2010 by cookbook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great British book, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Charles Fearnley (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Like a Who's Who of the great of the British restaurant scene, this is a book which presents 100 signature recipes from 20 of our very best chefs. Compiled by the producer of BBC's Saturday Kitchen (on which show many of these chefs have appeared) and the son of the head of the Michelin restaurant guides, you would expect nothing less than the richest pickings of what this country has to offer and that's exactly what you get. This makes for a very diverse selection of chefs and recipes, from the Michelin-starred to gastropub greats, but it's this eclecticism that pleases so very much. As a snapshot of the current state of British cooking, it makes for a very impressive picture. Names such as Mark Hix, Marcus Wareing and Jason Atherton are probably familiar to all and their selections and unveiled secrets are probably worth the cover price alone, but their are some real discoveries in here too, from the wonderful food of Nathan Outlaw to the homely pub grub of Emily Watkins. Each chef presents five recipes and all include at least one starter, one main and one dessert (thus allowing you to do three courses from your favourite chef if you so wish). As a cookbook this book will provide an amazing range of stunning dishes that should suit all budgets, occasions and dinner guests; as a restaurant guide, it's given me a number of ideas about where to go for my next great meal. Recommended, and a great gift for every foodie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When you want to impress - buy this book!, 8 Jun 2010
By 
N. C. Dearsley (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Delighted! There are loads of cookery books, this one's a winner when you are inviting the Jones's!

Well presented, illustrative, recipes are crystal clear - and makes you hungry just reading it! Well worth adding to your kitchen collection for Gourmet nights at home, you will need access to a good supermarket or an excellent Deli, but this book has a 100 recipies, and every one is delicious...

Nick from Hampstead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Cook Book, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chef! 20 Great British Chefs, 100 Great British Recipes: 20 Great British Chefs 100 Great British Recipes (Paperback)
out of my 109 cookbooks this one is the best by far, the recipes take cooking to another level.
bm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent read, 4 Dec 2009
By 
M. Maughan (Watford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Yes Chef' has a very attractive cover which is a good start for any book! The two young authors have visited and interviewed 20 of the top restaurant chefs of this country and have no doubt been privileged to experience the pleasure of sampling their menus.
Both authors are totally involved in their subjects from working in food programmes on television and in publishing so the book is not only interesting but very informative and good to look at.
Each chef has a review of how he or she has achieved such a high status in the restaurant world and has also given recipes for 5 signature dishes, from starters to desserts.
Anyone interested in food, whether as a professional, a home cook or just likes reading about it, will thoroughly enjoy this book and as one of the latter two I will certainly be dipping in to my copy constantly. An excellent Christmas present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Chef! 20 Great British Chefs, 100 Great British Recipes: 20 Great British Chefs 100 Great British Recipes (Paperback)
I am a chef and this is one of my favourite books that I own. It really gives a great insight into some of the best restaurants in the country, run by some of the best chefs. It has delicious recipes, great photography and excellent biographies on each of the chef. Highly recommended! And a great source of inspiration when planning menus. Although perhaps for the home-cook some of the recipes may be slightly over-ambitious...even for a dinner party! Having said that there are plenty that are relatively easy to produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but i missed the pictures., 21 Jan 2010
What i missed from this book is the pictures.
So many good things, but i would like the see them.
But good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars random compilation, 3 May 2010
This book seems like it was thrown together without much thought to the book as a whole. The recipes don't read the same the whole way through and just a first glance I can tell that the recipes were not tested... merely cut down to "serve 6" or "serve 4". There are so nice photos though, and it is cool to get a glimpse into what these chefs have on the menu at their restaurants, but the book seems choppy as a whole and does not flow nicely. It seems like just a slightly rushed compilation without coherency or unity. Looks like the publisher just wanted to publish a book... asked a bunch of British chefs to submit photos and recipes and put them together in a without testing, editing, putting any thought into bringing the book together as a whole. On the plus side, there are some great chefs in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Chef introduces the personalities behind the Flavours, 17 Nov 2010
As I write my own book I can't help noticing the other books on the market. What is increasing obvious is that to stand out, a book has to have something extra. It is not enough just to be delicious these days. The recipe book consumer wants more. James Winter and James Bulmer have written Yes Chef. It is about 20 great British Chefs and has 100 recipes from them. It is fair to consider some of these top chefs as artists and whist this wonderful book certainly does give you a full display of food art, it was the superb introductions to each chef that caught my eye. This is certainly different enough to make me to want to review it.

Yes Chef gives a selection of recipes. Yes - they are all delicious. But what makes it work is a sense of personality behind each chef. The introductions give a sense of history, personality and influence in a way that makes you not only want to try the recipes .. but also reading about them made me want to head straight to the phone to book a table in the chef's restaurant.

For instance Chef Matt Tebbutt learnt to Fly with the Air Squadron at Oxford Brooks University. The idea of a chef that can fly strangely made me want to try out his spiced poached pear with Gorgonzola honey so much more. Or Jason Atherton, who left home with out telling his mum what he was up to, as he headed to London to end up as one of tour leading chefs. Now doesn't that bit of stubborn determined personality doesn't make you want to try his Roast Rack of Lamb with Shepherds pie?

In this way the book is unique. There are plenty of delicious recipe books on the market but this book. Yes Chef, has a far tastier extra. This book has captured the flavor of the chef as a person, which makes it for me, a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews