Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something different and exciting
There aren't many recipe books that come along which don't cover ground that's already done to death. That's why I've managed to curb my habit. But the Momofuku book is something else. David Chang, who owns a string of restaurants in NYC, has a style all of his own, and it's here between the covers so we don't have to fly 7 hours every time we fancy a taste of it...
Published on 21 Jan 2011 by Coco

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Momofuku
Had high hopes when purchasing this book but was disappointed. Recipes are hard to follow and contain a few strange ingredients. Would not recommend to others.
Published on 19 Aug 2012 by Ms.Toby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something different and exciting, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
There aren't many recipe books that come along which don't cover ground that's already done to death. That's why I've managed to curb my habit. But the Momofuku book is something else. David Chang, who owns a string of restaurants in NYC, has a style all of his own, and it's here between the covers so we don't have to fly 7 hours every time we fancy a taste of it.

All growers of cruciferous vegetables should bow down to him and thank him for making sprouts sexy and cabbage irresistible. I can't wait to try my hand at the slow-cooked eggs - the directions for which are clear and accessible. As they are for kimchi. The recipe sections are interspersed with David's story, which is a real story, not some silly, fluffed-up fairy story. It's well-written and reminds me a bit of AAGill's extended essay in The Ivy Cookbook; something I will return to and re-read for pleasure.

If you're a foodie it's a treat, but if you like cooking Asian food, it's a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicously eleborate, 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
I'd have to say I'm biassed, since I'm Korean myself, that is also the reason I bought this cookbook. It's not a Korean cookbook, although it does have some Korean recipes. Most are or have some Asian background to them. For some real authentic Korean cooking, you should try making the kimchi. For this recipe (and some others) you will need some Korean ingredients. This might be quite difficult to find for most people though. If you're in the London area, just go to New Malden, where you'll find several small Korean supermarkets very easily. But I don't know for the rest of the country. A lot of the recipes take a lot of time, which you can wonder whether it's worth it, but you won't know till you try. Another note is to say there is some swearing in the book. I bought the book after having read the reviews on the US based Amazon, and some people say it's a lot. I don't think it's a lot and I'm not bothered by it, but if you are, you'd better not buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Successful fusion cookery, 15 July 2014
By 
Bearman (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
For me, most "fusion" type cookery just falls flat on its face with the mish mash of ingredients and techniques just not going together. This book is however completely different. Sadly I have not had the opportunity to visit the restaurants in New York, but the food is heavily Asian influenced with some Korean and some Japanese dished, but often combined with more European ingredients and styles and it all works brilliantly. It is an extensive book with a very wide selection of recipes ranging from very simple to quite complex (and some featuring less readily available ingredients). Recipes are interspersed with short stories and background information which just adds to the charm of the book. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original and delicious food, capable of being cooked by an amateur., 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
Original and delicious food, capable of being cooked by an amateur. Also has some interesting narrative as well as the recipies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super book, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for someone but once I had a crafty look through I was hooked, it's lovely book, as a recipe book AND an interesting read. I received the Momofuku "Milk' recipe book which is equally fascinating - i am converted and would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it but some of the ingredients are complicated, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
I bought this book as new having had it in my wish list for a while. After the long delay, I am pleased with the book- its beautifully done, pictures look great etc and the story of the restaurant opening and other restaurants in the group is interesting.

I would love Momofuku to open over in the UK so we could try their cuisine. If you are looking to buy this book, you should be aware that some of the recipes are quite complicated and require some obscure ingredients such as Dashi (a stock) however I have just found you can buy via Amazon.co.uk !!

However to be fair to the author, having bought books by David Thompson and Luke Nguyen, the search for ingredients is par for the course when trying to cook authentic Asian food - you need to plan in advance and set aside time to cook at a leisurely pace and the meals will be enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
Pretty easy to follow these recipes. The pork belly recipe had me going for a while...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go for it, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
For anyone who loves ramen noodles and want to know what all the fuss is about regarding this New York restaurant: Momofuk then this is a fantastic buy.

David Chang using simple ingredients has produced cookery book with a down to earth style and recipes you can create at home. It's a beautiful well designed book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
inspiring stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars food porn with attitude, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: Momofuku (Hardcover)
buy this and read it when you're eating your mediocre mid-week meal to inspire you to greater plates. i'm not a fan of korean food but i like new york food and chang's food and recipes are certainly modern american. the dishes combine techniques and influences of various cultures, and frankly it's a great story to read about how chang ended up where he is now. with hunter-s.-thompson-esque delivery (minus the class a stuff)

even the cover makes it a pretty addition to your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Momofuku
Momofuku by David Chang (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2010)
£17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews