Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Country cooking, 4 Jun 2011
By 
Marand (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lotte's Country Kitchen (Hardcover)
This is an intriguing book. I was put off initially as it is very 'girly' - far too much pink. Looking closer though, and ignoring the froth, there are some great recipes, many an unusual variation around a more common dish. The theme is broadly seasonal with chapters arranged by month, although the monthly divisions seemed to me to be mainly artificial and irrelevant. Given the recipes it would probably have been easier for the reader just to arrange by season.

Here is an example of the recipes: beef with orange and walnut, pecan & mustard dumplings; wild garlic, sorrel & nettle tart with cheese pastry; potted salmon with sorrel; leek & cheese soda bread; a lovely English herb & flower salad; smoked salmon kedgeree; new potato & pea mash; salmon baked with rosemary, orange, bay & clove; spicy flatbreads; salmon, orange & bronze fennel paté; salmon, leek & spinach lasagne; unusual beer-battered alliums (members of the onion family not the flower heads!), marrow stuffed with pork & beans with mustardy cheese sauce; roast lamb stuffed with cobnuts & courgettes; green tomato relish; leek & pear Irish rabbit (i.e. rarebit); homemade sausages; lamb pie with pear & cranberry; Elizabethan chicken in spiced red wine with plums & orange served with saffron mash.

For pud you might try a gorgeous steamed chocolate & almond pudding; jamakewell tart (a sort of bakewell tart with a rum & raisin filling and orange topping); steamed cherry bakewell pudding; some very girly cakes - fairy cakes with fruit icing & sparkles; pink meringues with clotted cream & strawberries (actually very nice even if the colour is more appropriate to a children's party); dried berry scones; elderflower fritters with strawberry & ginger cream; raspberry & rosewater cream tart; a divine baked strawberry & lavender cheesecake; wobbly jelly with summer fruits & flowers; apple, blackberry & elderberry squidgy pudding; almond & chocolate meringue. There are also instructions on how to make your own flavoured vodka.

Most of the recipes are straightforward to prepare. As well as the usual cooking instructions there are details for those cooking with an Aga which befits a country cook book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty in Pink - lovely Recipes too., 23 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lotte's Country Kitchen (Hardcover)
Lovely book this one. It's beautiful in pink, and nicely laid out, plenty pictures and lots of country cooking recipes. The recipes are varied, traditional British cooking - for modern tastes. Lotte also has great humour in her way of writing, and the introductions and passages are an entertaining read. I've tried a number of recipes now, and they have all been yummy. Can't wait for the colder months to try Lamb with Plums and Rosemary Dumplings or Cherry Bakewell Steamed Pudding, and lots of others too.

A lovely English book of food to entertain your friends and loved ones with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it cover to cover, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Lotte's Country Kitchen (Hardcover)
This is not just a cook book but a jolly good read too. I enjoyed reading the annecdotes and have tried a couple of the recipes. I am a pudding freak so can recommend the Chocolate Meringue and the steamed almond and chocolate pudding. Yum Yum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 30 Aug 2013
By 
B. Seed (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lotte's Country Kitchen (Hardcover)
I spotted this at a friend's house while on a weekend visit & couldn't resist getting one for myself. Everything looks rosier when on a weekend away in the country (hence just 4 stars) BUT it is a lovely book: well set out, beautifully produced, nice recipes, chapters corresponding to the months through the year for seasonal inspiration, and with personal input from the author in chapter & recipe introductions. All these go towards making it a good read as well as a useful cookery book that actually inspires you to get into the kitchen. Good buy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comfort, decadence and real personality - all in one book!, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Lotte's Country Kitchen (Hardcover)
This book is beautiful, inspiring, funny and delicious! More than a cookbook, it has recipes (my favourites are Daisy's steamed chocolate and almond pudding and crunchy nutty chicken with chilli jam) and it is well written, the photography is stunning and you really get a taste of food, life and Lotte's cottage and garden through a whole year - with stories, recipes and anecdotes. IMO there are so many celebrity chefs out there that produce book after book and cash in on their status but this is so different, Lotte really wears her heart on her sleeve and what you get is a narrative, a story and a whole lot of inspiration! I have been lucky enough to visit Lotte's home on one of her fabulous demonstration days and this book gives you a real taster of what its like to be in her kitchen with her company eating her great food! Cant wait to get trying out more recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have!!!, 7 Aug 2010
This review is from: Lotte's Country Kitchen (Hardcover)
This is my sort of book - packed full of no-nonsense recipes using easily accessible ingredients. Last night I made the Salmon, Leek and Spinach Lasagne followed by the Chocolate Mess, mainly from from store cupboard ingredients, and it looked delightful and tasted delicious AND my guests thought I was a domestic goddess! Plus I got time to spend with my friends rather than being stuck in the kitchen. No food towers to build or slavishly seeking out specialist ingredients, it is cooking without stress using seasonal ingredients. I feel liberated so Thank you Lotte! The special bonus with this book is that it is a very witty read, inviting us into Lotte's world and is peppered with hilarious anedotes and advice. Lots of laugh-out-loud moments. I would love to meet you Lotte - you sound an absolute scream! I envy your friends. Oh and the photography is fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My kind of cookery book., 14 July 2014
This review is from: Lotte's Country Kitchen (Hardcover)
This is my kind of cookery book; beautiful pictures of scrumptious food for all seasons and all courses; simple recipes and easy to follow instructions; tasty food ad drink tied to the bounty of the countryside ; chatty, humorous commentaries and a complete delight to read. It is as much about enjoying food and company as it is about preparing meals. I might even try some of the recipes which would really surprise my family whose response to me offering to cook when they visit is to grab mobiles and order from their favourite take away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best recipe book ever, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lotte's Country Kitchen (Hardcover)
I am so lucky to live close to one of Lotte's tea rooms.
Her food is so delicious that when I found out that alot of these were in her recipe book, I just had to buy it.
I got it from Amazon ( nearly half price ) and have managed to cook about 6 or 7 dishes so far from this book and all have been great hits with the family.
Whats also good is that they are simple recipes and you dont need to go and buy a huge amount of extra ingredients as you will alot already in your cupboards.
This is one recipe book that you will be making everything from it, not just the odd 2 or 3 recipes that usually happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lottes country kitchen, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lotte's Country Kitchen (Hardcover)
i love this cookery book lots of nice photos little stories about lotte and lots of nice homely recipes to make
i made the strawberry and clotted cream meringues and they were gorgous ,the chutney is also very tasty and easy to make .lotte has opened a cafe in chinnor oxfordshire which i recently visited and she uses a lot of the recipes from her book there so you get to sample them before you buy the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite for your bookshelf., 30 May 2012
This review is from: Lotte's Country Kitchen (Hardcover)
My bookshelf groans from the weight of dozens of 'celebrity' cookbooks, Lotte's country Kitchen though is by far my favourite. As other's have said, it is more than just a recipe book, Lottie is a warm lady with a lovely ( sometimes wicked) sense of humour which you will get from reading the anecdotes in her book and you MAY just get around to cooking something once you are able to put it down.

Every recipe I have tried works beautifully and looks just like the photograph in the book. I am fortunate to live very close to her beautiful coffee shop Lotte's kitchen, and attended a cookery demonstration there which was also wonderful. As you can gather, I'm a big fan of the lady and her cooking. Her book would also make a fabulous gift for any keen cooks you may know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lotte's Country Kitchen
Lotte's Country Kitchen by Lotte Duncan (Hardcover - 1 July 2010)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews