Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHOtastic!
A fantasic read. A book for Who fan's new and old. I can only hope Nick goes on a second locations adventure because this book really did leave me wanting more. It is full of humour (kids beware some bad language!) and is at times very touching. Bring on "fact pack 4!"
Published on 29 April 2010 by AdWho

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, but all went a bit Bonnie Langford
Nick, you're supposed to be a feverish, dribbling, Doctor Who nerd, so saying that you can't remember why Pertwee's Doctor was stuck on earth during one of your location visits is blasphemy (and would have taken five seconds to look up on Wikipedia).
And the fact you didn't even bother to look at the direction-pointing Dungeness DVD extras before visiting the Axon...
Published 8 months ago by Bernie Friend


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHOtastic!, 29 April 2010
This review is from: Who Goes There (Paperback)
A fantasic read. A book for Who fan's new and old. I can only hope Nick goes on a second locations adventure because this book really did leave me wanting more. It is full of humour (kids beware some bad language!) and is at times very touching. Bring on "fact pack 4!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase for Who fans, 1 Mar 2009
By 
Roy WD (ROCHESTER,KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Goes There (Paperback)
A funny and fast paced account of the authors attempts to hunt down and visit some Who locations. This in spite of being derailed by a liking for real cider, erratic mapreading, and occasionally recalcitrant family members. Recommended read for Who fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Nick Griffiths the next Stuart Maconie?, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Goes There (Kindle Edition)
I read this book after Nick Griffiths previous book on Dr. Who. Whereas the first was part autobiography, this follow up is more travel with common thread, and put me in mind of Stuart Maconie`s terrific volumes.

This book is both personal and thought provoking with the Dr. Who thread almost as a hanger upon which the author displays his procrastinations.

Yet for the fan of the series, it is also both informative and stimulating. And with the hyperlinks scattered liberally throughout, the book should prove a useful starting point for further exploration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Wear your anorak with pride!", 25 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Goes There (Paperback)
A worthy follow up to Dalek I Loved You, Nick Griffiths has once again written a hugely enjoyable memoir focused around his love of Doctor Who.

There is a personal journey charted through the book which was written during a period of great change as Nick's wife becomes pregnant and within a cruely short span of time his mother passes away. Nick is on a quest to visit a number of iconic locations from The Police Box Show such as Stargroves Mansion (from Pyramids of Mars and Image of the Fendahl), Betchworth Quarry (Genesis of the Daleks/Deadly Assasin) and Aldbourne (from "The Daemons"), plus many more.

He talks about how he found the locations, looks for iconic images and specific places where a particular shot might have been filmed and considers the changes in the decades since Who went there. He is funny, charming and occasionally informative with the odd spoucon of historical information on the place he's visiting and a great interest in cider!

He revisits the story on video or DVD before the trip and shares the occasional observation about the old show from his son a confirmed new Who fan. The stories considered are mostly from classic Who with a finale dedicated to a few stories from the new version.

The locations come alive much more than in drier books like "Travels Without the Tardis" or magazine location features. Recommended for classic who fans of the '70's vintage, there are details within the book of a companion website with photos which is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, but all went a bit Bonnie Langford, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Goes There (Paperback)
Nick, you're supposed to be a feverish, dribbling, Doctor Who nerd, so saying that you can't remember why Pertwee's Doctor was stuck on earth during one of your location visits is blasphemy (and would have taken five seconds to look up on Wikipedia).
And the fact you didn't even bother to look at the direction-pointing Dungeness DVD extras before visiting the Axon site, then admitting to it at the end of the chapter, too (when you weren't even sure of being in any of the right places). Well, you just deserve to be EXTERMINATED!!!!!!!
I was looking forward to reading this book, which really was a massive opportunity for the writer, but he was obviously never that serious about the book materialising into our space and time, which is blatantly clear from the large time gap between chapters.
There are some smile-raising incidents, but there are unforgivable acts of laziness on the writer's part, which are a complete turn-off for a reader trying to engage with the author.
And the continued reference to pictures in the book, which can only been seen on a website was more annoying than Adric. The publishers should have shaken the giant Menoptra-sized moths from their wallets and put pictures in the book. Great idea, poor effort!
P.S. Did you write a book called 'Dalek I Loved You'? You never mentioned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read for Whovians, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Goes There (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting book about the author's trips to various Dr. Who locations from both the current and the classic series. It is well written and an enjoyable read. This is an excellent book that gives background information on all the locations as well as interesting facts about their relation to Dr. Who. Whilst definately being a book for the committed fan, this also gives a good all-round view of some less well known locations. I read the digital version and there is a link to the photos on his website which is useful, as photos are usually something you miss out on with older versions of e-readers like mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 11 Nov 2008
By 
N. Beards "whobird" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Goes There (Paperback)
Who Goes There charts Nick's adventures around the UK in search of Doctor Who filming locations old and new. Armed with his 'fact packs' and his undying love of the show, Nick sets off to stand in the very spots where Tom Baker and Jon Pertwee and later David Tennant stood and held court as the Doctor.
Accompanying Nick on his bonkers tours are his beloved friends and family (I love them all!), aiding and abetting him as he soaks in the atmosphere of hallowed Who ground and occasionally trespasses to get to the epicentre of Wholand (he doesn't recommend that we the readers do this, if only for the nettle stings around the ankles!)
As an added bonus, we get to see the pictures taken on Nick's jaunts online (the scared at Autons face a particular fave of mine!). This adds a lovely touch and it's hard not to feel you've been there too. (I have, in some cases, for I am as sad as Nick!)
Running through the book of japes are some poignant moments that Nick shares about his family, and I must admit to shedding some tears of sadness alongside those of joy and hilarity.
Who Goes there ticks all the right boxes for me. It's definitely fuelled my desire to go to more Dr Who locations.
You don't have to be a Who nutter to thoroughly enjoy this book, but it helps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best alternative Who books available., 10 Mar 2010
By 
Dark Paths "Dark Paths" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Who Goes There (Paperback)
Quite simply, one of the best Doctor Who books available. The author wanders the English landscape, looking for Doctor Who film locations, with mixed results; sometimes funny, other times tragic and frustrating. The 'in-between' text, about the authors long suffering family is a delight, as all serious Who fans know how annoying we can be, especially when we sense the 'others' just don't get what makes the show so special. The 'everyman' prose is a great alternative to the nauseating waffle of the RTD books ("marvellous, brilliant, splendid, hurrah!"). There are no such pretensions here. Buy it, read it, love it...and then get on the road and have the adventure yourself! P.s. Nick, can we have a sequel? Pleeeaaaseeee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, average execution, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Goes There (Paperback)
This is certainly a great idea for a book; particularly at a time when gently humourous travel writing is on the up. Unfortunately, Griffiths just isn't very funny or particularly interesting and comes across as a bit of a poor man's John McCarthy.
The visits to the 'Who' locations themselves are great and would arouse the interest of any fan, however the in-between bits let the side down; feeble attempts at humour and poorly researched and inaccurate potted history lessons just grate, whilst the writer's constant self-deprecating remarks and comments on the forebearance of his friends and family are generally more irksome than empathy inducing.
This is worth getting hold of for the good bits but just don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reverse the Polarity, 8 Mar 2009
By 
M. Gibb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Goes There (Paperback)
I must absolutely recommend this book, it's funny, it's sad, it's fasinating. As someone who also tours the countryside (with my ever patient wife) looking for Dr Who and any other locations I found this oh so familiar. Nick's experience in trying to find locations that happened up to forty years ago brings back memories of my successes and failures.
The writing style is very comfortable to read, as if you were listening to a friend in your local pub, I can empathise with him completely.
Using a companion website to illustrate his adventures is both unique and fasinating. If you love Dr Who and tramping around the home counties you will not be disappointed in this book. Buy, Buy, Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Goes There
Who Goes There by Nick Griffiths (Paperback - 25 Oct 2008)
6.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews