Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb
The long awaited third volume in Smith & Creek's FW 190 history does not disappoint. It is another fabulously researched piece of work, as you would expect from the authors.

This volume continues from where volume 2 left off, detailing the late war history of the 190. The late A, D and F series are covered in detail. Further sections cover some fascinating...
Published 16 months ago by ModelBuilder

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a confusing mess
I want to like this series of books I really do, the series on the Me262 was a tour de force, but this series seems a bit confusing. There are lots of printing errors (typos, repetition of paragraphs etc.) particularly in the first volume but my main bone of contention is it can't seem to decide whether it wants to be a series on the design, development and production of...
Published 9 months ago by Tim Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 (Hardcover)
The long awaited third volume in Smith & Creek's FW 190 history does not disappoint. It is another fabulously researched piece of work, as you would expect from the authors.

This volume continues from where volume 2 left off, detailing the late war history of the 190. The late A, D and F series are covered in detail. Further sections cover some fascinating weaponry that was tested on the 190. Night fighters, Sturmgruppe and the Sachsenberg Shwarm are also covered.

The book also has a very interesting section on captured aircraft and the 190 in foreign service. A comprehensive list of surviving 190s is also given.

Great colour profiles compliment the many photographs and while some have been seen before there are also newly published photographs. Add the informative and very readable text and there is little left to want. The book also suggests that the potential for a 4th volume looks likely to be realised in the future

Highly recommended to all aviation enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume 3 of the definitive history of the Fw 190 - page count now over 1,000!, 16 Nov. 2013
By 
N. Page (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 (Hardcover)
...my copy of the Creek/Smith Fw 190 Vol 3 1944-45 has arrived. I must admit to have been a little apprehensive about the contents given that Crandall and Japo must have covered just about everything there is to know about the Dora. I shouldn't have worried. While there is a JG 6 Dora on the jacket, this is not specifically a Dora volume.

First impressions - this is a lovely book, nice glossy paper, pages crammed with pics and artwork except for the occasional photo reproduced large. The Dora content is actually not that extensive - although there appears to be more on the developmental history of the Dora than in other publishers works. The first chapter (chapter 21) covers the development of the Jumo 21, 213 and DB 603, the D-9, D-11, D-12 etc, with an array of handbook drawings, manufacturers' photos and a translation of the Baubeschreibung for the Dora-9 over four pages along with selected pilot reports;

" ..any advantage that this aircraft may have in performance over other models of the Fw 190 is more than offset by its poor handling characteristics..."

Chapter 22 moves the story to D-Day, Arnhem and the arrival of the first Doras at III./ JG 54 while chapter 23 covers the Sturmgruppen in the defence of the Reich. Chapter 24 moves us back to the Eastern Front and features an excellent sequence of full page pictures of JG 54 machines undergoing maintenance with a five-page profile of Otto Kittel including rare images of Kittel at Riga in June 1944, although not unfortunately of his Fw 190 - a lovely sequence of these do exist in at least one collection I am familiar with..Chapter 25 by Nick Beale covers various SGs, NSGrs and other 'special' Fw 190 units including KG 200. Chapter 26 takes us from September 1944 to 01 January 1945 and includes a four-page profile of Walther Dahl but repeats the 'myth' of Bretschneider's ramming of 7 October 1944.. " he was later found safe hanging from his parachute on the edge of a ravine.." While admitting that Dahl's memoir was 'colourful' the authors fail to take the opportunity to set the record straight on Dahl's combat record - Lorant in his history of JG 300 singularly failed to find evidence of even 100 combat victories for Dahl far less the 128 victories ascribed to him just about everywhere, a figure drawn from the same 'colourful' bio. Chapter 27 covers in-depth over 35 pages the 'special' weapons (Sonderwaffen) which were produced to arm various marks of the Anton including the Hagelkorn glider bomb and the Ruhrstahl X-4 missile and the SB 800 Kurt 'bouncing' bomb. Chapter 28 covers the end in the West and there is a superb chapter on foreign use and proposed 'jet' variants and various 'what-iffery'. In summary then this latest addition to Smith & Creek's Fw 190 trilogy continues the operational and developmental history of the type and extends the page count to over 1,000 for the three volumes - the results of over forty years study according to the authors preface! Hard then to argue that this will not become the definitive work in English. There is of course the occasional howler too as is probably unavoidable with such a high page-count - an entire page (p.817) is given over to Hannes Theiss' 6./ JG 300 'yellow 9' 'roter Hahn' ('Red rooster') - the inscription is quite visible in the pic- along with artwork ..but both are captioned as belonging to 7. Staffel JG 1!

To sum up, photo content and reproduction, layout, text and artworks are all excellent here - the bonus was the fair number of photos that were new to me, especially from the Eastern Front Schlachtgruppen. It goes without saying that all enthusiasts should be looking forward to a possible volume 4 featuring the scale drawings absent thus far in this treatment. And more artworks - if I have one criticism of Volume 3 it is the relative paucity of colour side views (only about five or six Doras for example). At the time of writing this volume is currently the 'best-selling' military aircraft book on amazon - and now the pre-orders have shipped (£34) they've even dropped the price to £27 !! (indicated RRP is £55 ). While I personally don't believe that this sort of aggressive pricing is good for the publishing industry (definitely not the retail side of it anyway..) how can you pass up such a bargain..

And if interested, this link will take you to a chat I had with the author a while back

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 (Hardcover)
It is difficult to imagine any future book giving a more comprehensive history of the Fw190 than do this one and its two companion volumes. Volume 3 covers the development of the final versions of the 190, in particular the "langnasen" long-nose variants, plus the operational history of all variants from mid-1944 until the end of WW2. Appendices list all known surviving 190s, the aircraft's use with foreign air forces, technical details of all prototypes, and, in tabular form, technical details of every type and sub-type of the 190. The book is well written and illustrated, well-designed and produced, and will undoubtedly become a standard work on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 Dec. 2013
By 
R. Stewart (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 (Hardcover)
I have already bought Volumes one and two and on the strength of them I pre-ordered Volume three as soon as Amazon were accepting orders and I have not been disappointed.
I paid a fair price for this book and feel I got good very value for money.
Do I consider myself "an expert on the FW-190" - no I do not , which is the reason why I have invested in the two previous books and this third volume.
The book itself is produced to a very high standard, it is illustrated with a wealth of fine photographs and line drawings, the text reads well and the pick up from Volume two is seamless I simply cannot fault it.
In terms of production quality the same high standard has continues , you get a really good deal on this fine book.
Volume four.... well this company and its authors did four books on the Me 262 and I can't think that I need to buy another work on the 262 , my only regret was having to pay handsomely for the first 262 book on the second hand market, I do not want to do the same with a potential fourth "190" book and within the numbering sequence space has already been made for Volume four.

Looking forward to seeing Volume two on the JU 88 which will (I hope) shortly be in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fw 190 vol 3, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 (Hardcover)
An excellent book by the authors in this series.Very well research with many pictures and excellent profiles.A fine book to be added on your aviation collection.Great service with the postal .The book was well wrapped by the seller.Thank You.Gary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the story continues, 24 Dec. 2013
By 
M. Fonck (LUXEMBOURG, Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 (Hardcover)
Well, after owning the two previous volumes, I was happy to close the history of a very ,in my opinion, modern WWII combat airplane ...But one should also be aware of the fact that the three, maybe later even four, volumes are taking up a lot of space in your book shelf ! What I like mostly are this clear b/w pictures...Sometimes seems that they were only taken yesterday ! Have not yet started to read the books but as an modeler, I'm more looking over these clear pictures to help me built my scale airplanes : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a confusing mess, 3 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 (Hardcover)
I want to like this series of books I really do, the series on the Me262 was a tour de force, but this series seems a bit confusing. There are lots of printing errors (typos, repetition of paragraphs etc.) particularly in the first volume but my main bone of contention is it can't seem to decide whether it wants to be a series on the design, development and production of the aircraft (which I would like it to be) or a blow by blow, daily account of it's operational service (which even a series of 30 volumes couldn't hope to do justice to). The authors clumsily try to do both and consequently trying to find details on particular variants is an exercise in futility. Good try though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive research about this legendary fighter aircraft. The ..., 24 Oct. 2014
By 
Stellan Holgersson (Goteborg, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 (Hardcover)
Very impressive research about this legendary fighter aircraft. The book mainly follows a time-linear theme, which means mixing operational and technical sections. This can make it hard to find the info, especially on technical issues. The chapters are also insufficient labeled throughout the book(s) and from the somewhat silly Chapter titles I have to do guess-work about the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The usual high standards from Classic Publications, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 (Hardcover)
Very good profiles, interesting text, useful technical drawings, original pictures. The usual nice "packaging" that Classics made us used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book completes the three volume set on the Fw 190., 6 April 2014
By 
Steve Muth (Long Island, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 (Hardcover)
I liked this book and would recommend it to anyone interested in WWII Luftwaffe. With Vol. 1 and 2 this is the most complete work on the Fw 190.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3
Focke Wulf FW190 1944-45: Vol 3 by Eddie J. Creek (Hardcover - Oct. 2014)
£35.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews