Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Extremely Enjoyable Read
This book was given to me as a present, and I kept it for some time before finding time to read it - then couldn't put it down. It is well-written, fun, interesting, amusing and informative. It gives you a real insight into the life of a diplomat (and diplomat's family). It is well-thought-out and very entertaining. Highly recommended.
Published on 16 Aug 2010 by Gretallotttie

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Diplomatic put-down
This is a poor book. Its essentially a collection of anecdotes which can be placed along a spectrum ranging from the baffling inane to the brain pole-axingly boring. There's no real attempt to recount what life is actually like in an embassy; emotions and values are totally ignored at the expense of bizarre comments about what it is like to have plumbing problems in...
Published on 3 Aug 2010 by Brodsky


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Extremely Enjoyable Read, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy (Paperback)
This book was given to me as a present, and I kept it for some time before finding time to read it - then couldn't put it down. It is well-written, fun, interesting, amusing and informative. It gives you a real insight into the life of a diplomat (and diplomat's family). It is well-thought-out and very entertaining. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 13 Aug 2010
This review is from: Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy (Paperback)
A thoroughly enjoyable read, the stories are very entertaining and I also feel I have a little more understanding of the day to day life of a Diplomacy, oh the glamour! Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 13 Aug 2010
This review is from: Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy (Paperback)
This is a delightful book full of charming and amusing anecdotes. Very witty and entertaining. I hope there will be a second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light but satisfying, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy (Paperback)
I found this an extremely easy read in the best way possible. The mixture of light anecdotal style bookended by dotty old-school, official advice mined from previous times gave sly insights into the diplomatic world. It entertained me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy (Paperback)
I found this book an excellent window into a diplomatic world I know nothing about. Relaxing and entertaining reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing but not well written, 7 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy (Paperback)
A very amusing collection of anecdotes that had me laugh out loud in places. Unfortunately the book has suffered from very poor (or no) editing, with basic punctuation and spelling mistakes that make for an annoying read in places. I would still recommend it though, as overall the amusement from the content outweighs the irritation caused by the incorrect use of English
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Diplomatic put-down, 3 Aug 2010
This review is from: Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy (Paperback)
This is a poor book. Its essentially a collection of anecdotes which can be placed along a spectrum ranging from the baffling inane to the brain pole-axingly boring. There's no real attempt to recount what life is actually like in an embassy; emotions and values are totally ignored at the expense of bizarre comments about what it is like to have plumbing problems in Nigeria. If the intricacies of third-world infastructure are a source of fascination, this is for you.

Tacked on to the authors 'memoirs' is a sort of 'how to' guide to diplomacy. In keeping with the level of gravitas displayed by the rest of the book, this section deals with perennial problems such as;summer gloves - should they be worn? and the intricacies of arranging a seating plan for dinner.

Christopher Meyer's DC COnfidential is a far more readable and substantial offering on pretty much the same subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy (Paperback)
This was a mistaken purchase as it does not cover my period of history. However, it arrived promptly and well pckaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read, 3 Aug 2008
This review is from: Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy (Paperback)
Funny and informative, this is a good book to read on the beach or on the train to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy
Good Manners and Bad Behaviour: The Unofficial Rules of Diplomacy by Candida Slater (Paperback - 17 Feb 2014)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews