Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding the Foe, 19 Dec 2010
This review is from: Finding the Foe: Outstanding Luftwaffe Mysteries of the Battle of Britain and Beyond Investigated and Solved (Hardcover)
Having a great interest in the Battle of Britain era, and in the 70th anniversary year, I have recently purchased both The Battle of Britain Then & Now, and Finding the Few. I found this book to be a very readable, and detailed in the presentation of what could be a very depressing subject. The whole book approaches each case with compassion, and impressive attention to detail, and I found each account to have been written in a very professional manner which held my interest throughout.

If you are a person who enjoys the type of book which presents the facts in a way that you can cross refer to other publications on the subject, and "Fill in" gaps and detail which complete the whole picture for you, then this is definitely a book worth adding to your library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding the Foe, 6 Dec 2010
This review is from: Finding the Foe: Outstanding Luftwaffe Mysteries of the Battle of Britain and Beyond Investigated and Solved (Hardcover)
Having known the Author for over 30 years, he was clearly the best man for writing this intriguing book. Countless airmen, both Allied and Axis, are still missing and in his first book, Finding the Few, he told the stories of a number of which were missing but are no longer so. It was therefore logical, knowing the Author's expertise in aviation archaelogy, that this book came next. Readers will not be disppointed and the occasional typo and error, not author induced I hasten to add, will not spoil the read. Like the previous reviewers, I highly recommend this book from the point of view of its uniqueness, research and readability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent encore, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Barrett Tillman (Mesa, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finding the Foe: Outstanding Luftwaffe Mysteries of the Battle of Britain and Beyond Investigated and Solved (Hardcover)
In this intriguing encore, Andy Saunders has provided the logical successor to his excellent Finding the Few. He tracks the disposition of 16 Luftwaffe crash sites in Britain, using similar methods to those employed on behalf of RAF MIAs in the previous book. The variety of the German episodes is considerable, including eight aircraft types (six Bf 109s) spanning the period 1940 to 1944. Ten occurred during the Battle of Britain.

A recurring theme in the book is established in the foreword by the late Heinz Mollenbrok, a Dornier pilot captured during the Battle of Britain. His sentiment regarding the fabled English sense of fair play is echoed by relatives of Luftwaffe casualties who never expected to learn their loved ones' fates. Thanks to the dedication and persevearance of British aero enthusiasts, the spadework (both literal and figurative) for those resolutions was made possible, mostly in the 1970s. As noted in Finding the Few, occasional bureaucratic roadbumps were encountered, but by and large the researchers' dedication paid off.

Additional material covers the wartime handling of German burials in the UK, the Cannock Chase Military Cemetery, and Luftwaffe aircrews still listed as missing overland during the Battle of Britain. Photo quality ranges from fair to excellent, nearly all being previously unpublished.

Finding the Foe offers further proof that history is never complete.

For an intensely personal look at the aftermath of a world at war, Finding the Foe is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aviation Archaeology, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating and very interesting. Thought it very fitting and moving and glad to see the fallen members of our former enemy being treated in an extremely respectful manner. Now families in Germany no longer have to continue to wonder what had happened to their loved ones. Extremely good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of The Many found, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding the Foe: Outstanding Luftwaffe Mysteries of the Battle of Britain and Beyond Investigated and Solved (Hardcover)
A very interesting story of the discovering of the German airmen of WWII who were lost in the Battle Of Britain, when they were shot down and killed. They were either buried as "Unknown" or not even recovered from the wreck of their aircraft and buried as befitting a casualty of war.
Because they were the enemy at the time, sometimes not many people cared about the humanity of looking after their remains. Their families were grieving at that time and for many years since, as were our families, when their loved one was still listed as, "Missing".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinationg read!, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding the Foe: Outstanding Luftwaffe Mysteries of the Battle of Britain and Beyond Investigated and Solved (Hardcover)
This book was a superb read, and the fact that I reluctantly lent it to someone who never gave it me back demonstrates its interesting content. I may even buy another copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 22 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. A. Maybourn (Sittingbourne, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finding the Foe: Outstanding Luftwaffe Mysteries of the Battle of Britain and Beyond Investigated and Solved (Hardcover)
Interesting book, well written and with excellent photographs. If you are in interested in Military Aviation this will be of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Book!!!, 17 Sep 2010
This review is from: Finding the Foe: Outstanding Luftwaffe Mysteries of the Battle of Britain and Beyond Investigated and Solved (Hardcover)
I looked forward to reading this book immensely, and I was not disappointed. I also highly recommend to read the following "CENSORED" books:
1) "THE HOAX OF THE TWENTIETH CENTURY" by Arthur R. Butz.
2) "NOT GUILTY AT NUREMBERG" by Carlos W. Porter.
3) "FLASH POINT - Kristallnacht 1938. Instigators, victims and beneficiaries" by Ingrid Weckert.
4) "TREBLINKA - Extermination Camp or Transit Camp?" by Carlo Mattogno & Jürgen Graf.
5) "AUSCHWITZ: The First Gassing" by Carlo Mattogno.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews