Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arto der Haratounian - North African Cookery
North African Cookery
This is a superb book, in which Haratounian explains the background to North African food and how it has developed through history with the merging of cultures through conquest and reconquest. The recipes are mouth-watering! Haratounian decries the current problem of not being able to purchase authentic North African food in restaurants in the...
Published on 1 Sep 2009 by Bleaklow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly mixed review
This is more than just a recipe book despite it being that - a book crammed full of over 300 traditional North African recipes. Confused? Well the quality of the book's endearing, explanatory text makes it just appear different - and there are not any scene-setting colour photographs either.

The author provides a fairly good overview to the rich, diverse...
Published 13 months ago by I. Darren


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arto der Haratounian - North African Cookery, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Bleaklow (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: North African Cookery (Hardcover)
North African Cookery
This is a superb book, in which Haratounian explains the background to North African food and how it has developed through history with the merging of cultures through conquest and reconquest. The recipes are mouth-watering! Haratounian decries the current problem of not being able to purchase authentic North African food in restaurants in the area as French influence is all-pervading. As a long-term customer of the Armenian restaurant in Manchester which Haratounian and his brother set up, I know this is a man who knows his food. I warmly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant release!, 19 Aug 2009
By 
Chewie (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: North African Cookery (Hardcover)
Having enjoyed the previous two releases by this author I had no hesitation to pre order North African Cookery without reading any reviews!! Packed full of recipes that are easy to follow, flavoured with history and anecdotes. Fantastic tagines and stews have helped introduce me to a part of the world that I knew little of before now! This is another fantastic book from the author and the publishers Grub Street and I have no hesitation recomending this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything by Arto is worth its weight in gold!, 21 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. H. V. Minor "Halimeda Hilary" (Guildford, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North African Cookery (Hardcover)
Now this is a real exotic cuisine cookery book. Arto makes everything easy and the authenticity of his recipes is unassailable. If you are interested in learning about other cuisines in a really "in depth" way, don't hesitate to buy this book. Arto prefaces the book with historical information about the people and cuisines he showcases and fascinating it is, too. Did you know that "The most important influence on the Algerian cuisine . . . was that of France" ? I didn't but Arto tells me that "this is most obvious in the use of tomato puree, sweets and starters that have more than an accidnetal touch of metropolitan France". The recipes are clearly described and rarely contain ingredients that would be hard to find in England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: North African Cookery (Hardcover)
The author Arto der Haroutunian was lost to us cookbook lovers far too soon. He died in 1987 at the age of47. His books have always been sought after by a discerning and loyal following of those who prize authenticity and style.

North African Cookery is a classic of this so-far underestimated cuisine. The author, Arto der Haroutunian, shows us once again why he has never been surpassed as the authority on food of this region. This will be a worthwhile addition to any serious cookbook collection but I counsel using it rather than just reading it. You'll add many recipes from this volume to your repertoire. Great value for money.

Lamb is the meat of choice in all North African countries and it's no surprise to find a good selection of recipes here. If you want to try your hand at cooking a whole lamb then this book will serve you well. There are several methods of cooking offered as well as a marinade. A whole lamb is the ubiquitous centre-piece of any North African celebration and it's striking, delicious and memorable.

Vegetarians are well served here. There are salads and vegetable dishes aplenty. Chalda Loubia Khadra (green beans with almonds) is a surprisingly western-seeming salad as it has a mayonnaise dressing. Chalda Bartogal wa Jazar (orange and carrot salad) is Moroccan and often found on restaurant menus as well as in homes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magreb, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: North African Cookery (Hardcover)
Very interesting reading. The introduction tells you in a short way the origins of 4 country's and the foods that came from those.

The detail regarding the products, their use and utility is superb.

Have done with success several of its dishes, its a well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: North African Cookery (Hardcover)
I bought the paperback version of this book many years ago, and used it so much that it was falling apart. I was therefore delighted to find that a new hard-back edition had been issued, and bought three - one for me and one for each of my two daughters. The recipes are clearly explained, and the background information very interesting. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a cookbook, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. K. A. P. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North African Cookery (Hardcover)
In this book Arto der Haroutunian introduces us to the food of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia and Libya. He starts his book with an introduction to the people and the cultures of the region which gives us an insight into how the cuisines developed. This is fascinating and we can see the almost contradictory influences of the simplicity of the medina kitchen and French colonialism. This could all be very dry and erudite, but Arto der Haroutunian is an amusing writer who is a joy to read.

But what about the food, which is after all the most important part of any cookbook? The recipes are divided into courses such as soups, entrees and everyday dishes. There is an index and an excellent glossary which will tell you how to make ingredients that are not so readily available in British shops, for example khli which is a dried meat and might at first sight sound daunting, but if you have a petproof larder, is not difficult to achieve. The quantities given are quite large but could easily be reduced.

Other recipes are less alarming and all work well. My one argument with the book, is that some of the text is in orange ink which I find hard to read in artificial light.

This is a book to read and enjoy as well as to cook from. It is wonderful in the winter because it transports you to a land of heat and spices and yet can provide fabulous food to warm you up. In the summer there are loads of recipes to enjoy outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars North African Cookery, 12 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs. S. Colley (norwich uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North African Cookery (Hardcover)
Another very comprehensive book by Arto Der Haroutunian with many recipes from North African counties including Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia and Libya
It contains recipes for soups, meats, vegetables, breads, rice, sauces and pickles, sweets and drinks, all peppered with snippets of stories and poems in typical Haroutunian style, which make it a joy to read
I have made many of the recipes and they are easy to follow and delicious too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly mixed review, 26 Feb 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: North African Cookery (Hardcover)
This is more than just a recipe book despite it being that - a book crammed full of over 300 traditional North African recipes. Confused? Well the quality of the book's endearing, explanatory text makes it just appear different - and there are not any scene-setting colour photographs either.

The author provides a fairly good overview to the rich, diverse cuisine of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia and Libya and the reader is encouraged to try these relative simplistic, flavour-rich dishes at home in their original, unexpurgated glory. Leafing through, the reader can learn possibly new ways of food preparation that could even stand them in good stead when cooking other cuisines and even lead to some fusion inspiration. However, it must be stated, this book stands for tradition rather than modern change. You can make a lot of good dishes from these traditional recipes yet, should you desire and have the inquisitive nature, you are able to customise things further and with a fair degree of confidence thanks to the grounding this book gives.

This is a revised paperback edition (the hardback was published in 2009) and one must question the point of this paperback issue other than cost grounds. The book's bindings are flimsy and even after light handling by the postal services and then a YUM reviewer it looks like it has been sitting on the shelves of a charity shop for many years. The book feels cramped due to the narrow margins, the relatively small fonts and general design. A classic case of spoiling the ship for a little bit of tar. One doesn't expect the high production values that a hardback may command, but a little more care and attention may have made this look less like a mass produced paperback. This book deserves more. The content is good but the casual browser might not even give it that much chance to prove itself.

If you are prepared to persevere then this book will be a good little gem for your culinary exploration and exploitation. That much we can say. If you do find that this becomes a favourite, you may want to see what the older hardback book has to offer as it should be more robust and less prone to falling to pieces after a short time. This would have been a good "four YUM" book if not for the poor "packaging."

After a plethora of recipes and perhaps a bit of eyeache for good measure, a very good, comprehensive index rounds the book off with a bit of dignity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cant wait to start cooking.....another great book, 7 Nov 2010
This review is from: North African Cookery (Hardcover)
Not knowing anything about North African dishes I'm really looking forward to start using this book. I love the fact there are explanations with the receipes. As usual the book looks great and easy to follow. Recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa78d4a80)

This product

North African Cookery
North African Cookery by Arto Der Haroutunian (Hardcover - 29 May 2009)
Used & New from: 9.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews