Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful primer
I really enjoyed reading this book. It's very well written and laid out, manages to cover the subject in enough detail for someone like me, interested in incorporating social media into their business model, and it avoids being patronising or resorting to jargon.

The book isn't an exhaustive guide to each site or network covered - and hooray for that frankly...
Published on 4 Mar 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A readable overview but too ambitious and at the mercy of the pace of technology
Social networking is a complex topic, For those who are immersed in it, it seems as natural as breathing. For those on the outside, it can often seem bewildering or even just a little silly.
There is a need for a guide to social networks for businesses and this is a good effort but it's flawed not by the author's approach but by the vastness of the topic. Trying to...
Published on 18 Mar 2010 by J. Baldwin


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful primer, 4 Mar 2010
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It's very well written and laid out, manages to cover the subject in enough detail for someone like me, interested in incorporating social media into their business model, and it avoids being patronising or resorting to jargon.

The book isn't an exhaustive guide to each site or network covered - and hooray for that frankly. The last thing I wanted to read was an 800 page treatise on Facebook and Twitter - for one thing, the landscape changes too rapidly to warrant this, and since the book is intended primarily for business use, any more detail would have made it an onerous chore to plough through. I learnt all I need to know about Twitter, the different blog templates, ecademy and others and feel far less daunted at some of the possibilities. Clapperton is careful to avoid evangelising about new media avenues and throughout the book points out that the business needs will dictate whether any of the social media can help.

A very good summary then. It gave me all I needed to understand which social media would be relevant to my business, how to go about incorporating them into my business and that's exactly what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A readable overview but too ambitious and at the mercy of the pace of technology, 18 Mar 2010
By 
J. Baldwin "Reader" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success (Paperback)
Social networking is a complex topic, For those who are immersed in it, it seems as natural as breathing. For those on the outside, it can often seem bewildering or even just a little silly.
There is a need for a guide to social networks for businesses and this is a good effort but it's flawed not by the author's approach but by the vastness of the topic. Trying to teach people about social networking in one book is about as easy as teaching someone six languages at the same time, without actually using any of the languages.
In other words, the best way to learn about this stuff is by doing it, ideally with a guide.
I'd have gone for more case studies and less chatter - indeed I think the audience this is aimed at would probably appreciate a slightly more formal approach with more evidence. Reading this is like listening to someone down the pub who's had a few more beers than you. Enthusiastic but a bit overpowering.

The book suffers from the pace of technology. The new service Blellow gets a mention (sorry, not heard of it) and MySpace is proposed as somewhere a business should be active. Well a straw poll of 160 18-20 year olds I conducted last week resulted in a grand total of zero hands going up when the question "who here is on MySpace" was asked. They may have accounts, but they're dormant. Why it's featured here I'm not so sure - even its owners don't know what its future is. The iPhone is dismissed as not being suitable for business (so heaven knows what I've been doing with mine for the past two years!) - ah technology, why won't you stay still? It's the death of many a book.

There's another problem with the book. I got quite miffed at the throwaway paragraph on dealing with designers which seemed to paint a picture that they're all money grabbing amateurs who will lumber you with a Flash-based site that can't be read by a search engine. Two problems: that argument is about 10 years out of date and "you get what you pay for". No discussion of budget, no discussion of using professionals rather than doing what a lot of businesses do, paying next to nothing to someone who's downloaded a pirate copy of Adobe Creative Suite. There's much more to be said about the need to use professional services - after all that's what the readers of this are presumably trying to push for themselves.

So, in the absence of other books on the topic, this is a good buy. But it tries to cover far too much, is hampered by imminent transformations in technology, and is no substitute from working with an expert on the topic. If you're the sort of person who does your own plumbing, changes your own oil and rewires your own home, then this will appeal to you. But if you're sensible and like to use the experts, then do the same here: there are many people out there who can work with you. That's what's missing here: how to use professionals to help with your online marketing efforts. But if it had been in, I worry the topic would have been dealt with as flippantly as the section on working with designers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking book that should be read by all interested in sales and marketing, 22 Aug 2010
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This books attempts to describes how a number of media tools, both business and social can help grow your business. It covers mots of the main sites such as LinkedIn, Twitter and Facebook along with some less well known.

I have been on Linkedin and facebook for many years now and believe that business links and opportunities are welcome on some (ie LinkedIn) and not others (ie Facebook) so I disagree with the author on some of the generalisations made. However I very much welcome the book as a means to debate the subject.

A thought provoking book that should be read by all that are interested in sales and marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very worthwhile, 25 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm not a business person, but I am professionally interested in social media, and I was very happy to see that this book isn't one of the endlessly breathless, overly ethusiastic documents on the theme of 'the internet will make you rich'. It contains sober advice, well written and well presented, and importantly also tells you when you *shouldn't* be wasting your time on social media.

It is alas not especially in depth - the topic could have been explored in greater depth than it was, but as a low level introduction to what you should be doing with social media, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent for newcomers, 9 Mar 2010
By 
L. Otto (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Let me first make this clear, the book is for people/businesses that do not have a social networking stream yet. People who know nothing about social networking, and want to evaluate if it is of any benefit to them. If you are already on facebook, twitter, myspace or the like, none of the information will be new to you, except for a few statistics which are interesting.

Bottom line is if you dont know anything about Social Networking, this is for you. If you're quite internet savvy, no need to bother as it won't benefit you at all.

I know it is a short review, and maybe a bit negative, but genuinely the book is very good and very detailed, and if you know nothing about the subject it is the only book worth reading.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive insights into social networking, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Ms. Rl Heptonstall (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading 'This is social media' by Guy clapperton. It's easy to get into, digest and apply, which means that you can start tinkering about with social media as soon as you start using the book - I say 'using' because it really should be read near a PC. It also acts as a sort of directory, so you can look up the bits you want to return to as and when they become applicable.

Guy takes quite a back to basics approach, carefully explaining the background behind social media and then gradually introducing each area. If you're a social media whizz then this book probably isn't for you, but if you're either completely alien to, or still to use the full social media mix, then it could definitely offer value for your business.

One aspect that really impressed me is that Guy doesn't try to convince his readers that all types of social media are relevant to every business. On the contrary, he encourages you to think about your own aims and objectives before starting with any of them - so you're far less likely to waste your time. There's also a good understanding of the cost of social media to your business, in terms of time, which again makes the book extremely practical.

Overall, thoroughly enjoyed it and hope to start seeing some results soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A (brief) introduction to social media for businesses, 20 Sep 2010
By 
Arynth (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I work a great deal with Social Media and it has to be said that if you are familiar with the business applications of Social Media, this book really won't do much to help you. But that's not really its aim. It's here to provide you with an introduction to incorporating aspects of Social Media within your business model and it does well at that.

If you're an SM newbie, this book is a must-read. SM-pros look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, but not for the 'recipe-driven' reader..., 24 Mar 2010
By 
Dr. Stephen J. Wooding "Trainer, Teacher" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success (Paperback)
Having read this, my impression is that it's a book for those who are fairly new to the social media scene, and not aimed at the IT web-savvy professional. I fall somewhere in-between so found some of it useful, some of it timely reminders and some of it was stuff I was already well aware of.

However, it's a well-written, fairly casual yet highly informative text on how to make the most of social media in a business context, addressing some important issues beyond one-way 'what we're doing' messaging to using it as a deliberate and managed touch-point for the current generation of IT literate consumers. There are some great examples of businesses of various sizes using social media to create advocates out of complainers, generate customer groups and fans, make offers and even create new products.

The style is, though, not one for the 'follow this sequence of steps and it'll all work', i.e. those looking for an IT recipe to follow. It's much more strategic and thought-provoking than that, even asking you to ponder whether social media is actually relevant at all to your target customers.

Overall it's a good read that I know I'll be dipping back into but like all IT guides it's at the mercy of the pace of internet progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but Effective, 22 Mar 2010
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When this arrived I thought it looked a bit simple but this was surprisingly deceptive. I found it to be clear, setting out the reasons for using Twitter and other such social networking to develop your business. I like the examples which are given and found myself immersed in the stories. I work in education and feel that many of the examples are treansferrable. In fact I have found myself using twitter more effectively since reading this book. I would recommend this book to anyone wishing to develop their skills in this area and utilise these tools to grow their business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars basic but good, 10 Mar 2010
By 
Syd - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
a very good overview of how social media can be used in your business. probably too basic for either those who are very business minded or those who are very computer literate and use facebook/twitter all the time already. very easy to read, understandable language, and ideal for a small businessman looking to market their business cheaply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This is Social Media: Tweet, Blog, Link and Post Your Way to Business Success
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews