Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle class England at war
Mollie Panter-Downes wrote for the New Yorker for over fifty years, and these stories have, until now, never been reprinted. The stories give a wonderful picture of people adapting to the war and the changed circumstances, both social and material, that they find themselves in. The title story poignantly explores the emotions of a woman who has had a long affair with a...
Published on 21 April 2001 by Lynette Baines

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK
This was ok. It was a selection for our book group but it was not my cup of tea. I don't usually read short stories for all the reasons I didn't enjoy this i.e. no character development, weak story line etc etc
Published 15 months ago by Verity Ladds


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Middle class England at war, 21 April 2001
By 
Lynette Baines (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Mollie Panter-Downes wrote for the New Yorker for over fifty years, and these stories have, until now, never been reprinted. The stories give a wonderful picture of people adapting to the war and the changed circumstances, both social and material, that they find themselves in. The title story poignantly explores the emotions of a woman who has had a long affair with a married man, almost a second marriage, and realises that if her lover is killed, she will have no right to know what has happened, there will just be a deafening silence. In The hunger of Miss Burton, a woman fantasises about food, all the food she can no longer obtain, to compensate for the emptiness of her life. In Goodbye, my love, Ruth spends the last weekend of her husband's leave trying to be cheerful, making plans to keep herself busy while he's away. The news that his leave has been unexpectedly extended shocks her to tears. These stories are full of such insights into the uncertainties of war, particularly for those left behind-mothers, wives, women in all circumstances. They are the kind of short stories which are always too short, there is the seed of a novel in almost every one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dorothy Parker - without the acid, 9 Nov 2008
By 
J. Hope (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Evening, Mrs Craven: The Wartime Stories of Mollie Panter-Donnes (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
This was such an enjoyable read - she has all of Dorothy Parker's insight and eye for detail, without the acidity and cynicism. Mollie Panter-Downes captures a time and place that are both long-gone, but manages to evoke them so clearly that you are right there with her. But don't be expecting something saccharine - far from it. Her wit is devastating, and she can capture a character in only a few words. This is a delight - read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant minute observation of human nature, 9 Aug 2008
This review is from: Good Evening, Mrs Craven: The Wartime Stories of Mollie Panter-Donnes (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
I don't normally choose to read short stories but this collection holds together beautifully as they all centre around the stresses suffered by those on the home front in World War Two. What I really like about them is the author's careful, sympathetic and wry observation of human nature. Somehow they seem to slip down as happily as cocoa might have under wartime rationing, and I am sure I will be re-reading them many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tribute to an England past, 26 Oct 2005
Mollie Panter-Downes takes a wonderfully penetrating look at how World War II affects the daily lives of families, wives, and veterans. She paints a nostalgic picture of these very 'English' lives, yet does not shy away from the harsh realities the conflict produced for those left at home. The title story is particularly moving in its potrayal of Mr.Craven's mistress 'Mrs. Craven'. This middle-aged spinster's deep loneliness and anguish when her companion has gone to fight and his regular letters suddenly cease, touches at the heart of human suffering. From the five Persephone books I have read, this stands out as a favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and full of wry humour, 23 Nov 2009
By 
Suzie (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Evening, Mrs Craven: The Wartime Stories of Mollie Panter-Donnes (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
I rarely choose short stories, as novels always seem so much more absorbing, but these I loved. Mollie Panter-Downes was a journalist with The New Yorker, so the collection starts and ends with a `Letter from London' - 3 September 1939, the day war was declared, and 11 June 1944, shortly after D-Day.

The 21 stories between provide a fascinating insight into the way ordinary people carried on their lives during the war years. Setting takes second place to character in these stories, and the author has a wonderful knack of summing up a person in a few brief words so that you have a real sense of knowing them and of understanding how they feel about what is happening around them.

These are not stories of the front line or the fighting. They're stories of those left behind to carry on as best they can, adjusting to new lifestyles, and not knowing what is happening to their loved ones, all the time wondering whether things will ever be the same again. In many ways they never will. Friends and lovers will be lost, homes will be bombed, and the spirit of camaraderie that helped keep people going will dissipate, never to be regained. But these stories are far from depressing. Mollie Panter-Downes writes with wry humour and irony that makes you smile. The style might seem old-fashioned to younger readers who may never have encountered the sorts of characters portrayed in these pages, but don't let that put you off. The stories are as fresh today as they were when they were written and can be enjoyed by everybody. Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent short story collection, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Helen S - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Good Evening, Mrs Craven: The Wartime Stories of Mollie Panter-Donnes (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
Mollie Panter-Downes was the London correspondent for the New Yorker and this collection from Persephone Books brings together a number of her contributions to the magazine which were written during World War II. The book opens with her Letter from London dated 3 September 1939 and ends with another dated 11 June 1944. Between the two letters are twenty-one short stories, each of which offers an insight into the hopes and fears of British people trying to deal with the changes the war has brought to their lives.

These stories are not particularly dramatic or sensational in any way. They are realistic stories that focus not so much on the war itself, but on the effects of the war on the women (and a few of the men) who were left behind at home. We read about women attending sewing parties, worrying about loved ones who are away fighting, preparing for their husbands to go to war, coping with being pregnant during the war and experiencing almost any other wartime situation you can think of.

After finishing the book, there are a few stories that stand out in my memory more than the others. In Clover, for example, is a story about a rich woman called Mrs Fletcher who takes in a family of evacuees from a poor part of London. This was an interesting study into how the war pushed together people of different social backgrounds who wouldn't usually have mixed with each other. This Flower, Safety follows Miss Mildred Ewing as she moves from one hotel to another in an attempt to escape from danger, beginning to despair of ever finding somewhere safe to live. Then there's the story of Miss Burton, who is so hungry she can think about nothing else. The title story is also one of the best; it's about a woman who has been having an affair with a married man. On the evening before he leaves to go to Libya, she wonders how she'll be able to find out whether he's dead or alive.

The stories are published in chronological order, as they appeared in New Yorker between 1939 and 1944, showing how life in Britain changed as the war progressed. Despite the subject matter, these stories are not all bleak and depressing - there's also a lot of humour in Panter-Downes' writing, in the form of gentle wit and irony.

As with most of the short story collections that I've read, there were some that didn't interest me very much, but others that I loved and wished were longer. Overall though, it was a wonderful book and I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Evening, Mrs Craven: The Wartime Stories of Mollie Panter-Donnes (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
This was ok. It was a selection for our book group but it was not my cup of tea. I don't usually read short stories for all the reasons I didn't enjoy this i.e. no character development, weak story line etc etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty wartime reminiscences, 2 Jun 2010
By 
P. White (North west England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Evening, Mrs Craven: The Wartime Stories of Mollie Panter-Donnes (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
I heard about this book just before I set out on a three week holiday so bought it. These are very well written short stories written during the Second World War in England for the New Yorker magazine. They portray various scenarios affected by the stresses of wartime from a woman's point of view. There are very different situatons the women are in, but all stories are extremely well observed and written in a clear and sophisticated way.
I am not sure how a young generation would take to it, but the quality of the writing is top class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good selection of stories with a nostalgic war time feeling, 4 July 2014
By 
Valentine (Bristol, Avon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Evening, Mrs Craven: The Wartime Stories of Mollie Panter-Donnes (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
Some beautifully written stories, very evocative of the war time period. I've already bought an extra copy for a friend as a birthday present, and if you're interested in 20th century women's fiction then you're sure to find some stories you'll like in this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A jolly good read!, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Evening, Mrs Craven: The Wartime Stories of Mollie Panter-Donnes (Persephone Classics) (Paperback)
As a lover of short stories, I really enjoyed this excellent collection of reminiscences of war time. A very entertaining writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Evening, Mrs Craven: The Wartime Stories of Mollie Panter-Donnes (Persephone Classics)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews