Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With the rush of daily life, tips of this book are essencial
Advisable to whom hasn't much time nor english teacher and need urgently to be succeded on IELTS examination. If your dreams are on a life abroad and you must have a good performance on IELTS exam you will need to chose the shorter way - what can help you more efficiently that a book of tips to know what will happen on your exam and have good results.
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by Isabel Rodrigues

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be used with some other book
Well, it's an A5 format book, 96 pages, 25 of which are technical instructions and most of the other pages are half empty. If condensed, I would say, it will take 15 normal pages. Although, it is called "academic", it gives a very general outline of the ACADEMIC writing, absolutely insufficient for someone who needs a high score. No example of a real/ideal essay at...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by Assya Ostroukh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be used with some other book, 16 Feb 2011
By 
Assya Ostroukh (Krasnodar, Krasnodar region Russian Federation) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM (Paperback)
Well, it's an A5 format book, 96 pages, 25 of which are technical instructions and most of the other pages are half empty. If condensed, I would say, it will take 15 normal pages. Although, it is called "academic", it gives a very general outline of the ACADEMIC writing, absolutely insufficient for someone who needs a high score. No example of a real/ideal essay at all.

The book exactly corresponds to its title: these are just hints. Some of them are common places, although others are quite good. However,in my opinion, there are better hint books available on the market.

The good thing is there is a CD included. It has a video of a real speaking section and this one is authentic. A listening test section is also good and authentic. The writing task for an academic essay is unlikely to be met at a real test. The practice test is about typing your answers on the computer which differs from the good old paper and blunt pencil IELTS.

IMHO, the book could be used by the teachers as a supplement. Definitely, not a comprehensive study-book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With the rush of daily life, tips of this book are essencial, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Isabel Rodrigues (Lisbon - Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM (Paperback)
Advisable to whom hasn't much time nor english teacher and need urgently to be succeded on IELTS examination. If your dreams are on a life abroad and you must have a good performance on IELTS exam you will need to chose the shorter way - what can help you more efficiently that a book of tips to know what will happen on your exam and have good results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb advise!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM (Paperback)
definitely will recommend to all of my friends and to anyone taking the english exams. i may again purchase another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Help, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM (Paperback)
This book is amazing to help with good tips on what to do and not to do in your exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Novices Only, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM (Paperback)
This so-called 'academic' text-book fails to deliver on a number of
levels and offers very few insights, except perhaps for complete IELTS
novices.
The miniscule size of the book, coupled with low page-count and low word-
count per page (many of which are half pages of text only), immediately
signal what poor value for money this item is likely to be. Its information
content is also disappointing, particularly for students aiming to get above
a very mediocre score. Additionally, it would have been more beneficial to
provide the reader with more practical questions in the writing component,
instead of cobbling together a mish-mash of ex-student answers and referring
readers to the single practice test on the CD Rom. I could go on...but I've
got papers to mark.
My advice to any potential purchaser would be not to buy this offering in the
full printed and published form, but if you are an IELTS beginner and can get
it as an ebook for a fraction of the price, then it might help you kill ten
minutes or so on your train journey! Good luck in your exam!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars useful tips!, 14 July 2011
This review is from: Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM (Paperback)
I bought this for taking ILETS, of course and this book gives me very clear guidance to how to answer questions.
I have lots of books for IELTS and most of them are practices, related exercises but this book is quite useful particularly listening tips. The tip leads me which part I should focus to listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very handy book plus fantastic and quick delivery, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM (Paperback)
The book is more focused on the test and gives a lot of help. I have bought it for my younger brother and he absolutely loves it.
Amazon delivery was quick and on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM (Paperback)
Not much exam information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM (Paperback)
Wasn't bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grate., 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM (Paperback)
No baddy commints. Me englissh his impoved very mucho sinse hitting the booky. Me piss teat no problim. Highlly recommendy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM
Top Tips for IELTS Academic Paperback with CD-ROM by Cambridge ESOL (Paperback - 18 Dec 2009)
9.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews