Customer Reviews


373 Reviews
5 star:
 (260)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
`The maze was only the beginning' never have I read a truer tag line! The scorch trials was an amazing follow up to the brilliant The Maze runner. Our boys are thrown into the action right from page one and it doesn't stop until the very end as they all battle to make it through the scorch trials. I love Thomas and think he makes a great and very brave hero, he's loyal to...
Published on 29 Jan. 2011 by MistBookaholicsBkCl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Something WCKD this way comes!
After their escape from the Maze, Thomas and his companions are unsure what to expect of a world destroyed by the sun, with disease taking over what's left of the population. Can there be anything out there for them? Did the experiment work, will they make a difference to those that are left?

Once they are given food and a bed for the night, they see a glimmer...
Published 27 days ago by Red Ribbon


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
`The maze was only the beginning' never have I read a truer tag line! The scorch trials was an amazing follow up to the brilliant The Maze runner. Our boys are thrown into the action right from page one and it doesn't stop until the very end as they all battle to make it through the scorch trials. I love Thomas and think he makes a great and very brave hero, he's loyal to his friends all the way through and always tries to do what he thinks is the right thing, and his budding romance with Theresa is just lovely to read. There are a lot of unseen twists to the plot and, like Thomas, I found myself questioning who I should really be trusting and of course what the hell will happen next! Because you really never know in this series, that's why I'm on the edge of my seat awaiting the third book, The death cure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series) (Paperback)
After whizzing through the first maze runner book i instantly ordered the second, desperate to know what was going to happen next and I wasn't dissapointed. The book gets going at a fast pace which I liked as I hate books that take ages to get started. There are absolutely no dull or pointless parts like in some books and as the gladers make their way through the scorch they carry on gradually piecing together the puzzle and get slightly more knowledge of what's going on and why they're there but there are still some questions left unanswered which then makes you desperate for the next book!

The scorch trials (known as phase 2 in the book) are much harder and nastier than the maze which after reading this seems very tame! The gladers have to endure lots of horrible things on their journey like extreme storms and the terrifying 'cranks' who are people who've caught the flare and have gone insane from it resulting in them becoming basically savage zombies! Plus lots of other horrors but I won't ruin it for you by telling you what they are. They're horrible!

The characters in the book are the same as the first with a few new additions and none of the characters are irritating or tiresome (unless they're supposed to be) and you grow to like them as the book goes on and want them to survive. Minho is the leader of the group now and Teresa isn't with the group for a big section of the story which I wont say why (spoilers!)

Absolutely brilliant story and I can't fault it! Finished it in a matter of days! Can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scorch Trials by James Dashner, 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series) (Paperback)
Review:
The Scorch Trials Continues from where we left off, having been rescued from the glade Thomas and his friends think that finally all their suffering has come to an end. But they are wrong. The rescue was nothing more than another plan of WICKED (The mysterious organization who run the Maze Trials). The book instantly begins into action. I Love how James Dashner doesn't create one boring moment for you as a reader. As with the Maze Runner I was constantly on edge whilst reading this book.

The new trials are called the Scorch Trials where Thomas and the gladers have to cross a diseased land filled with people gone mad with the diseases called the Flare. Teresa who is the only girl in the first book, mysteriously disappears in the beginning of the book. At first I didn't like this as I was hoping for a romantic subplot to unfold but in the middle of the book you find out why Teresa had to leave.

Thomas and his friends Minho and Newt, lead the gladers across the ravaged land in the promise of a cure for the flare. From there onwards you are taken on a thrilling and exciting journey full of obstacles and unexpected twists. I have never read a book so fast paced in my life. I finished reading The Scorch Trials in one day. I just couldn't put it down.

James Dashner executes this book too well. The only problem was that I was hoping to get some solid answers to the questions from book 1. While you do get some of them most of them were not answered for me, I guess I have to wait to read The Death Cure the final book in this trilogy.

I would seriously recommend everyone of any age to read this book, It's that good! I couldn't put it down! If you like mystery and adventure this is a book for you!

Visit my blog: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps up the momentum., 15 April 2012
By 
debbie8355 (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series) (Paperback)
It was difficult to see where part 2 of this series was going to go after the release from the claustrophobic maze of part one but this is a real page turner, not relying on recycling the same format and introduces a whole host of different characters, monsters and angles. The compulsary race to get to 'safe haven' across a nightmare landscape is gripping, this time well written and keeps up a great momentum of action, intrigue and suspense.
Thankfully the worst aspects of part 1 were largely missing from this book. Only slight 'Thomas...Thomas...Thomas' repetition where 'he' could have sufficed and just 'Thomas' plaque signs everywhere to make up for the previous lack of 12,371 references to the name.
It's a great teen read. Probably a bit gruesome and nightmare giving material for under 12s but highly recommended for those who liked the Hunger Games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Something WCKD this way comes!, 26 April 2015
This review is from: The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series) (Paperback)
After their escape from the Maze, Thomas and his companions are unsure what to expect of a world destroyed by the sun, with disease taking over what's left of the population. Can there be anything out there for them? Did the experiment work, will they make a difference to those that are left?

Once they are given food and a bed for the night, they see a glimmer of hope in all this madness. However, when they wake to screams and the faces of those infected by the Flare, known as Cranks, they are soon thrown into another world of pain and suffering. They have to travel across the scorch plains, where the infected are sent to slowly lose their minds and eventually die.

The group face the heat, the cranks and Wicked in order to find a safe haven and the cure for the flare, which they have been told, each and every one of them now has.

As with the last book, the pace is fast and flows well, yet it never takes a breath, never slows down for the group or the reader. For me the constant attack grated on my mind. I understand that the trails had to be continual in order to confuse Thomas along with the group, but it needed some time to slow, even if it was for a minute or two, to look for the answers though it was obvious that there were never going to be any.

It was long, bogged down with action, as good as it was, and nothing at all was answered other than the fact that Thomas and Teresa are a lot more involved in Wicked than they wish to be. Teresa's change in personality is a nice twist, though she seemed to take what Wicked told her without question, unlike Thomas.

I must admit that I put the book down a couple of times, just for a break from the horrendous ordeal they had to continually face and hated the fact that nothing was answered. Maybe James Dashner could have given us something, anything to cling onto. I will probably read the other books, as I need to know exactly what influence Thomas has in Wicked, I have a feeling that it goes all the way to the top, but I won't be in a rush to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, 17 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series) (Paperback)
3.5 STARS

There’s a big part of me that is disappointed by the lack of answers this books gives, even though I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. The writing was so addictive, with plot twists around every corner, and it was only a few pages from the end of the book that I stopped to think “What the hell is going on?” Thomas was always going on and on about unanswered questions but I had more than him by the end of it with an extra addition of, “Where is this series going?”

Don’t get me wrong I enjoyed it, and I’ll no doubt be continuing the series in hope of those answers, but to be honest I don’t know if James Dashner even has them. He could have easily been making it up as he went along…

One thing for sure is that he can spin suspense! A lot of the book was spent travelling and waiting for the next twist, but it was still captivating (when the characters didn’t complain too much). None of them were weak, because as Minho said they’d been weeded out already until only the strong survived. However that didn’t stop complaints, most of which came from Thomas. It’s understandable I know, but that doesn’t mean it didn’t irritate me beyond belief.

I’m pretty sure I’m making this out to seem like I didn’t like the book, when I did! And that’s where the mixed feelings come in. All the same, this series might be worth picking up if it sounds interesting to you.

Posted on: http://enchantedbyya.blogspot.co.uk/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Read, 28 Mar. 2015
By 
The Scorch Trials sees the surviving Gladers not rescued to go back to living a normal life, but rescued to be thrown back into another test. This time everything isn’t provided for them, they have a time limit and there’s a catch. Plus they have to complete it in the section of Earth now known as The Scorch – a barren wasteland with a city in the middle riddled with those who have caught the infectious disease known as The Flare.

The Scorch Trials is the second book in The Maze Runner series and follows on immediately after the first book. The flow on is actually pretty seamless – it’s almost like you just turned the page from the last book.

I think I enjoyed this book better than the first in terms of its storyline and content however the romance parts I found even more tiresome than the first. Are they really necessary?

I liked Thomas a lot especially as he continues to mature and grow. He’s realistic and his past is quite intriguing. The more you find out, the less you know.

The book is faster paced than the previous and I’m pretty sure I read it in a day. It’s action packed and you’re holding your breath quite a bit.

Overall it was an enjoyable read and I would definitely recommend it the young adult audience. Obviously you need to have read the first book in the series, The Maze Runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series) (Paperback)
It's taken me a month to finally get around to finishing this book, but it isn't because of this book being bad, because it isn't. It's far from it in fact. I got so much into the first book, that after I read it, I just couldn't take my mind off it. I couldn't completely put myself into this books world because I was stuck in the first one so deeply, it was hard to move on. The first few chapters of this were good, but to completely do this book justice, I had to give it longer before I could read the rest of it.

I'm so glad that I did wait a while. As soon as I picked this book up again, I was hooked, completely and utterly. I just couldn't put it down. It was well worth the wait. The Scorch Trials was fantastic, the plot completely dragged me in and I felt everything the characters did, right the way throughout. I'm looking forward to reading the third book in the series, and I'm hoping it's just as good as the first two.

Very well wrote, a great read for all ages from young adult upwards. A must read for fans of Young adult, dystopian, and science fiction novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still... good that!, 31 May 2013
By 
Juliet's dagger (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series) (Paperback)
In this sequel, we are still following 16/17 year old Thomas as he tries to figure out exactly what is going on in his life and what the maze was all about. After being delivered to what he thinks is safety, we find out together that the maze was nothing compared to what comes next - the tunnel, the scorch, the cranks, the betrayal, the 'safe haven'. None of the questions that arose in the first book are revealed here, but the suspense and mystery that intrigued me in the first one is as good as ever and I loved that our protagonist was just as ignorant as the reader when it came to what was happening to him. At one point near the end, I almost cried for him and when you read it yourself, you'll know exactly where in the book I mean -heart breaking stuff for a teenager who doesn't have many people to rely on in life. The ending was left wide open with absolutely no clue to what is about to happen next so I had death cure ordered within an hour of finishing this. Can't wait to get some much craved for answers.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I wasn't satisfied at the end..., 8 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series) (Paperback)
Where to start... well i don't know really, i must say, it's not as good as the first book (I've written a review on it, if your interested). Although the story idea is good, and the introduction of some new characters is re-freshing and, without a doubt, adds something to the book, the execution of the book simply doesn't live up to the first one. I found it sort of dragged on a bit, and i wasn't satisfied at the end, there are soooo many lose ends. (Like, seriously, i don't even know how everything will be fixed in the final book)!
I'm not entirely sure what else to write.. it's hard when you don't feel a passion towards the book. I still think all readers of 'The Maze Runner' should still prevail with this book, so as to make to the last one, which i reckon is going to be a good one!! So, all i can is, take my review into account, and buy this book anyway, prepare yourself for it not to be quite as good.... then go get da last one! (Oh, yes, that's my advice... yup, seriously) Thanks for reading, hope this helps any wavering buyers!!
BB xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series)
The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner Series) by James Dashner (Paperback - 4 Aug. 2011)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews