Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous story about a little giant with a lot to give, 14 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muncle Trogg (Paperback)
As the smallest giant in Mount Grumble, Muncle Trogg is a disappointment to his parents. Laughed at for being human-sized (the giants call them `Smallings') he's too tiny to be good at the things that giants should be good at - like mining and dragon keeping - and deliberately misses school. But exams are coming up, which Muncle has to pass to get a good job. His only chance is in Smalling Studies, which he's sure he could pass given that he's their size so he decides to leave the mountain to see what he can learn about a nearby village that's full of them. What happens though sets off a chain of events that threatens all of the giants - and only Muncle can save them.

Janet Foxley's debut novel won The Times Children's Fiction Competition in 2010 and it's easy to see why. This is a charming and funny story but there's still a sensitive core there that'll make you feel sorry for Muncle as you cheer him on.

Muncle is badly bullied by the other giants - even his own brother likes to pick him up and dangle him upside down - and no-one, not his parents and certainly not his teachers do anything about it. In fact the giants don't realise how much they're physically hurting poor Muncle, who's more fragile than them because of his size. It's no wonder therefore that he chooses to skive school and it means that you root doubly hard for him when he realizes the Smalling Studies is his key to a better future. His scenes with Biblos, the Wise Man, are lovely to read, the kindly giant being the only one to believe that Muncle has something to offer and who gives him a purpose.

Because Muncle knows what it's like to be hurt, he's also the only one who realises that the way the giants treat the dragons - clipping their wings to stop them from flying and forcing them to drink water so they can't breathe fire - is cruel. The scenes with the runaway dragon Snarg are also a joy as they each learn to love their freedom.

The illustrations by Steve Wells deserve special mention as they really add to the humour of the book (and there were a lot of scenes that had me sniggering).

The book ends with a set-up for a sequel, which I will definitely be reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, by Harry, aged eight, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muncle Trogg (Paperback)
Muncle Trogg was a very good book. It had a good storyline and had funny jokes. I liked the characters and I liked the adventures. It had sadness and happy things too. The best bit was when Muncle had to pretend they'd made a volcano because he had to get the dragon to burn the rocks. The funniest bit was when the King says, `This is going to take a bit of getting used to' and Muncle says, `You can say that again!' and the King says, `This is going to take a bit of getting used to!'. I would give Muncle Trogg five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both my kids loved it, 28 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muncle Trogg (Paperback)
My ten yr old daughter devoured this in two hours flat, refusing to speak or do anything else until she had finished it. My six year old son has now been allowed to start it and is equally enthusiastic, and even better for adults, it is fun to read out loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: Muncle Trogg (Paperback)
I bought this for my granddaughter after hearing Janet Foxley being interviewed on radio. It has proved to be quite a watershed in her reading and her teacher was so impressed by her enthusiasm and the content of the book that she has ordered copies for the entire class. If that happened in every case, watch out J.K.Rowling.
Of course my granddaughter wants more of the same - now!
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner of The Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition 2010, 2 May 2011
This review is from: Muncle Trogg (Paperback)
Muncle Trogg is a delightful, engaging story about a giant who is a lot smaller than he should be. Muncle is so small he is often mistaken as a 'Smalling' (that's a person to you and I), and he finds it very hard to fit in with his giant friends. He is picked on and ridiculed yet he still tries his little hardest to fit in.

The giants live in Mount Grumble, away from the Smallings, but one day Muncle decides to have a look at these Smallings as he has never seen one before. Muncle is not supposed to be so far away from home and his expedition takes him on a magical journey packed with dragons, giants and Smallings. Will Muncle save the day or will he make the biggest mistake of his tiny little life? This unique and fun tale will be an excellent bedtime read or a great little book to start the budding young reader off on his own.

This book would suit 6-8 year olds but is a fresh and new adventure that can be enjoyed by all the family. It was a pleasure to read and it is lovely to see a well written and well told story that can be read easily. There are many little illustrations throughout the book which add to the flavour of the tale. They are tastefully done and make a nice change to just reading word after word after word. Janet Foxley has left the door open for other Muncle adventures and I can't wait for the next one to arrive.

If you are looking for a pleasant read for your little ones then this would be a great recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Treat, 29 Mar 2014
By 
Karen (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muncle Trogg (Paperback)
Muncle Trogg was actually better than I expected! The idea of a titchy giant has huge appeal. However, the humour, action and the way Muncle just got on with things and triumphed was a joy. Great fun, with some subtle messages about bullying and how goodness and intelligence can win against the odds (and the odd size!). A perfect short book for 6-9 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book about a small giant with a big heart, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muncle Trogg (Paperback)
Sometimes a film comes out that makes me want to borrow a small child to go see it in the cinema. With my own children now taller than me in both cases, skulking into some animated adventure along with my wife feeling like we really should have grown up by now can be a humbling experience. Short of randomly claiming a couple of those small bodies as our own - effectively buying stranger's children pop-corn! - we either wait until the DVD comes out or hang our heads, flip up our collars so no-one can clock us and push through society's sensibilities about what denotes adult behaviour. Hey, perhaps it's society's sensibilities that are out-of-kilter!

Muncle Trogg makes me want to have small children to read out loud too again just like Toy Story 3 made me want to have them to take to the cinema. I'm sure my two strapping lads would put up with it - 'well, if you must dad!' - but it wouldn't be a perfect storybook moment. You'd want a 5 - 9 year old, hanging on your every word as you did the giant, gruff voices and slammed and banged and groaned and left them waiting on cliff-hanger chapters until next time ('Please dad, just one more chapter!). Muncle Trogg is a gorgeous children's book which would appeal to boys and girls alike. There's dragons and reading and heroics for the girls, there's warts, worms and fights for the boys. Muncle is a giant, the smallest giant in the world. He lives in Mount Grumble with all of the other giants who've been hidden away there since the smallings (humans) developed the technology (magic fire sticks aka guns!) to deal with their constant incursions.

Muncle Trogg as a story has everything any self-respecting child, both small and big, would want. There's fast-paced action, there's slimy worms and slugs, there's warts and hair and dragons and poo. There's also heroics and bullies and the necessary happily ever after. Muncle comes from a very poor family and he's a pretty rubbish giant. He's missed lots of school and is a laughing stock amongst much of the giant community because he is so small. He's about to fail his Giant Examinations and he has no idea what he wants to do for a living. Muncle, as we expect of our eponymous heroes in our fables and fairy stories, is feisty, clever and sees much that others don't. He is also caring and empathetic, qualities that other giants see as weaknesses, but which turn out - told you there was a happy ending - to be his most important features.

Muncle Trogg is a great creation in a long tradition of great children's characters. His exploits in this book are short but sweet and packing so much action if you were reading it out loud there'd be times when you'd need to take a breath! Muncle isn't pretty or powerful, but he has the luck of the hero and the enormous benefit of having a higher IQ than virtually everyone around him, except perhaps for the human child in the story or his mother.

I would heartily recommend this story for children of all ages, if you don't have one to read too, borrow one, although it's probably best to ask first!

A wonderful modern fairy story, suffused with slams, crashes and slapstick and big-hearted humour that will get them laughing out loud. And as you would expect from a fable, a great moral too.

**** (Four stars)

PS - Other Muncle Trogg stories are available; Muncle Trogg and The Flying Donkey.

PPS - I read this book for my "Art of Story" Golden Egg course, but I think I would have read it anyone :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for 8-9 year olds, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muncle Trogg (Paperback)
I bought this for my 8 year old son. We both loved reading it. The way it has been written and the words used are fantastic. It has been written from a small giant's perspective in a large world so it is great for kids. Also, as the giant has very little knowledge of the human world, the vocabulary used to describe human things is funny and endearing. I would recommend this book to anyone with children aged 8 to 10 especially boys. It's also a good way to get children to show expression in their reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Pat Porter "Pat" (Carlisle, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muncle Trogg (Paperback)
My granddaughter really enjoyed the book. I would recommend it for about age 9 or so.
Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class book for children aged 7-9, loved it!, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muncle Trogg (Paperback)
This book was a real hit with my year 3/4 class, delivered promptly and in great condition. Would recommend the book to anyone, especially families with boys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3d349b4)

This product

Muncle Trogg
Muncle Trogg by Janet Foxley (Paperback - 3 Feb 2011)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews