Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impermanent Ways
The second volume in what looks to be a series covering England and Wales. Having been a little disappointed with Volume 1 I found this second book to contain better quality pictures (no fuzzy ones this time). This type of book focuses particularly on the abandoned sites rather than the steam locomotive standing at a beautiful country station and as such wouldn't...
Published on 17 May 2011 by Captain Cuttle

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a dissappointment
A well illustrated book but sadly the inaccuracies detract from what could have been a very good book.The picture captioned Rotherfield & Mark Cross is actually Mayfield for instance.
Published on 1 Feb. 2011 by S. John


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impermanent Ways, 17 May 2011
This review is from: Impermanent Ways: The closed lines of Britain, Vol 2 - Sussex (Paperback)
The second volume in what looks to be a series covering England and Wales. Having been a little disappointed with Volume 1 I found this second book to contain better quality pictures (no fuzzy ones this time). This type of book focuses particularly on the abandoned sites rather than the steam locomotive standing at a beautiful country station and as such wouldn't necessarily appeal to all rail enthusiasts but it looks at the unlovely, the weeds, the rubble, the desolation of what once were fascinating rail byways. The author has given a good balance of this type of shot along with a selection of views which have a locomotive in them before the particular line/s closed. Definitely an improvement for this reader on Volume 1 and I look forward to seeing Gloucestershire and Wiltshire in print in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impermanent Ways: The closed lines of Britain, Vol 2 - Sussex (Paperback)
Of all the books by Jeffrey Grayer in this series this is one of his best ,excellent narrative and nice bright images of former Sussex lines Quite staggering how much has gone forever. I am looking forward very much to future issues next year :- Dorset and Gloucestershire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a dissappointment, 1 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impermanent Ways: The closed lines of Britain, Vol 2 - Sussex (Paperback)
A well illustrated book but sadly the inaccuracies detract from what could have been a very good book.The picture captioned Rotherfield & Mark Cross is actually Mayfield for instance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visiting, 23 Mar. 2011
By 
L. A. Fordham (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impermanent Ways: The closed lines of Britain, Vol 2 - Sussex (Paperback)
As we are planning our UK holiday and will spend a week in Sussex I was interested to see some of the railway history. A good selection of photos showing some od the closed railway lines and stations of Sussex. Reasonably priced.

Les Fordham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impermanent Ways: The closed lines of Britain, Vol 2 - Sussex (Paperback)
Should be of interest to all railway buffs especially if you know the area covered well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 27 Feb. 2011
By 
Phillip T. Hammond (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impermanent Ways: The closed lines of Britain, Vol 2 - Sussex (Paperback)
I pre-ordered this book, being a Southern follower, the couple of weeks wait were well worth it. I already had the Hampshire title and this is as good. I have only noticed one error. The pictures are of very high quality and there is just about the right ammount of text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read if you know the County, 13 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Impermanent Ways: The closed lines of Britain, Vol 2 - Sussex (Paperback)
I lived in Sussex for ten years until 2003 and travelled extensively in that County for work during that time. I wish this book had been around then, as my interest in all things railway and especially searching out closed lines would have been helped tremendously. There are some excellent, but of course rather sad, scenes in this book. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Impermanent Ways: The closed lines of Britain, Vol 2 - Sussex
Impermanent Ways: The closed lines of Britain, Vol 2 - Sussex by Jeffrey Grayer (Paperback - 27 Jan. 2011)
£9.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews