Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for beginners and more experienced knitters alike., 26 April 2013
This review is from: The Knitted Home: Creative and Contemporary Projects for Interiors (Hardcover)
t's rare that I read a knitting 'pattern' book from cover to cover but the combination of Ruth Cross's words and the beautiful matte pages, styled and photographed by Ben Anders has kept me hooked and I've almost finished reading it. Ruth's ethos totally resonates with me:

"In a world of shiny surfaces, flat pack furniture, clean lines and wanting everything done yesterday, the craft of hand knitting holds a very special place.... Everyone has their own reasons for knitting, but the most unexpected is also one of the most attractive - it takes time. The quietly meditative process of building something with your own hands is a reason in itself to learn, let alone the beautiful things you can create and be truly proud of."

Interestingly she first learned to knit on a pair of chopsticks and her technique is somewhat unconventional - for example her knit stitches are actually "knit through the back loop" stitches (something I also find more natural and had to train myself NOT to do) and there are some variations to other instructions too. Her background is in designing organic freeform work and so the patterns in The Knitted Home are intended as inspiration rather than something to faithfully reproduce, although you can if you want to. This is a book about texture and experimentation.

You are encouraged to do what feels good and have some fun with your knitting and to try things out. Ruth goes as far as to say that any "bendy strip" is a yarn and can be knit with, so to give it a go. I really love this approach - my own simple designs are most often presented as recipes, so it sits really well with me. This is my favourite knitting book to date. Even if you're not into improv, the patterns in the book are beautiful and there are many designs I would love to see in my own home.

This review originally appeared on my blog [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knitted Home: Creative and Contemporary Projects for Interiors (Hardcover)
Just what I was looking for. Perfect. Excellent book and excellent service. Recommended.Lots of great projects to knit for the home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delghtful!, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knitted Home: Creative and Contemporary Projects for Interiors (Hardcover)
More for someone with know how. But the inexperienced can also use it. I love the grey cushion and have just completed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but.., 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knitted Home: Creative and Contemporary Projects for Interiors (Hardcover)
Love this book inspirational so much so that I ordered Knits at Home however the copy I received is the same book as The Knitted Home with a different cover!! Shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good BOok, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knitted Home: Creative and Contemporary Projects for Interiors (Hardcover)
I love this book I have already marked the things I want to make. Lots of choice for those who are new to knitting and the more experienced knitter. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely piece to add to my small collection, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knitted Home: Creative and Contemporary Projects for Interiors (Hardcover)
Great - Just what I have been looking for - now I can continue to design and knit in other areas ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for Keeps, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knitted Home: Creative and Contemporary Projects for Interiors (Hardcover)
I bought this after having taken it out of my library for about six months! Amazing, easy to do, ideas for home soft furnishings which can be adapted to every taste. I've already done a few items and plan to do a lot more. I'd seriously recommend this for everyone with a notion to make their own cushions/throws etc. You don't have to be an experienced knitter either because this book shows you HOW and that anyone can make them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jan. 2015
By 
L. M. Wood (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knitted Home: Creative and Contemporary Projects for Interiors (Hardcover)
Bought as a present and well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get knitting, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Knitted Home: Creative and Contemporary Projects for Interiors (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book. I'm just about to start the cushions. Lots of unique ideas to enhance the home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Knitted Home: Creative and Contemporary Projects for Interiors
£18.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews