Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to help you envision and create your dream home
I must confess I have quite a collection of interior books, the ones with beautiful photos of people's homes.
The thing that surprised me upon settling down to look through my copy of Decorate for the first time, is how unique it is.

Its not at all like other titles I have on my bookshelf already. Its a weighty book, both physically and in the amount of...
Published on 24 Mar 2011 by Kat

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointed
From the reviews I had thought the book was more in depth and suitable for experienced decorators but it turned out to have very simple and basic suggestions.
Published 20 months ago by what'sitallabout


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to help you envision and create your dream home, 24 Mar 2011
This review is from: Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House (Hardcover)
I must confess I have quite a collection of interior books, the ones with beautiful photos of people's homes.
The thing that surprised me upon settling down to look through my copy of Decorate for the first time, is how unique it is.

Its not at all like other titles I have on my bookshelf already. Its a weighty book, both physically and in the amount of information it imparts. It could so easily be overwhelming, yet the balance is kept and it is interesting, informative, instructional and inspiring, in equal measure.

The rooms are from homes around the world, which gives such a variety of styles from which to choose. The influence of different countries is evident yet the book retains an overall cohesiveness.

The photography is done in such a way that you feel a part of the rooms you are looking at and can almost imagine living in them, curling up on an inviting sofa, washing up a plate or two at the belfast sink....

I must admit to not always finding the text inviting to read in other decor books i own, and I tend to take in more from the photography alone. Yet here in Decorate the writing sections are laid out in such a way that you find yourself drawn into reading them, almost without trying!

I especially like the quotes (both in large type and smaller) dotted through out the pages and inside the front & back cover. I'm a quote loving girl, but as well as simply bring pretty to look at, the words within them are really helpful tips that stick in your mind.

There is a place for online decorating inspiration of course and especially blogs, which bring us so much on a regular basis (the author Holly writes one of the best herself) but then there is still equally, a place for books.
It seems easier to find the spark of an idea for your own decor when you can turn the pages at leisure with a nice cuppa and notebook to hand. I have only had my copy a day and already I have an idea for a fireplace and a bathroom wall.
Two things I had searched online for inspiration for- and not found.

Decorate is an encyclopaedia of knowledge that can't fail to inspire whatever your budget or period of home.

There are dream rooms to emulate, there are little touches to replicate.

There are also practical tips you can use with ease, ways to organise your belongings in a stylish way and recommendations on how to plan your projects to successfully fufill what you envision.

It will help you add colour and life to your home, in however small or large a way you would like.
I guess it's like having an interior designer all to yourself,whenever you need their advice you just need to open the book and turn the page!
- kathryn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy for interior lovers!, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House (Hardcover)
I read plenty of interior blogs, magazines and books so I was eagerly anticipating receiving Decorate. I love Holly's blog (Decor8) and her book didn't disappoint!

It's full of gorgeous homes and photography but what makes it stand out is its usability. It inspires me to translate the ideas into my home and it will definitely be a book that I keep coming back to time and time again. It also features some of the best interior stylists, photographers and designers so its a real treat to see their work and get such good advice all in one place!

If you are an interior lover this is a must-buy, it's a pleasure to read, a constant source to refer back to and it will look gorgeous on your coffee table!

Thanks to Holly & her team, great book.

Chloe x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the eyes, 4 April 2011
By 
An ordinary mum (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House (Hardcover)
What a gorgeous book this is! If you like fresh colours, open interior spaces and mid-century furniture, you will adore this - just be prepared for some serious deco-envy.

It's not just eye-candy, though; quotes and interviews from the featured designers explain the inspiration and ideas behind the looks, floor plans show how it fits together and there are plenty of style guidelines (eg, flea market, simple, floral) and hints on how to use colour, wallpaper, texture and so on.

I will never have a house as comprehensively well thought-through or desirable as the ones in the book but the ideas here will certainly help with what I do have.

There is just one more thing to say: anyone who stores a kitchen aid on a shelf more than seven feet above floor level.... eeep! (pg 153)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant!, 19 Mar 2011
By 
P. Lamb (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House (Hardcover)
I am very excited to finally own this long awaited gem of a decorating book.

My first impression was that this is a book of substance; at 288 pages it is not one that can be looked through in one afternoon. The quality of the cover and pages is high and I was particularly impressed by the many beautiful quoted by leading designers and stylists that run though the book. Photographer Debi Treloar has once again captured beautiful spaces in an effortless way - she understands how to maximise light and bring out the essence of interiors.

The book is perfect for people who are starting off with a blank canvas or those simply wanting to update their space. It is a reference book and you simply won't be able to read through it without coming away with lots of ideas, big or small to execute in your own home. Decorate is filled with advice from leading design experts around the world yet it has a very approachable tone thanks to the wonderful writing style of Holly Becker and Joanna Copestick.

The book is broken down into four sections:
1) Space Matters - a planning section that encourages you to take stock of what you have and what you assess your design needs to be. It has useful tips and illustrates points clearly through case studies. Floor plans are used throughout the book to illustrate furniture placements.
2) Setting your Style - this section encourages to find your unique style. It talks about where to find inspiration. I particularly love the section on creating mood boards. It is not only visually beautiful but very helpful to anyone wanting to create their own. This section then goes into various design styles (simple, natural, modern, flea market, colourful, floral, eclectic, modern glamour). Each style is illustrated by a home that represents that style as well as 10 guidelines/tips to achieve that look and feel.
3) Room by Room - this is a very practical section in that it has lots of very useful tips in planning each room of the house. Kitchen design, furniture selection and placement, storage solutions and creating functional work spaces are only a few of the topics covered in great detail.
4) Attention to Detail - this final section talks about the finishing touches and home accessories that make all the difference.

What makes this book stand out from so many of the interior books I own is that it doesn't simply show beautiful interiors that seem unachievable to many, but guides you through the process of creating your own space that reflects who you are. It is filled to the brim with ideas and inspirations and doesn't follow one particular style or design aesthetic. This book will be one that I know I will refer to for years to come as it doesn't follow current trends but encourages an individual approach to decorating a home that is timeless and unique to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners in decoration, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House (Hardcover)
The content of the book is structured around 4 large sections:
1. Space Matters: 'using', 'linking', 'flexible', 'compact'
2. Setting Your Style: 'simple', 'natural', 'modern', 'flea', 'colourful', 'floral', 'eclectic', 'modern glamour'
3. Room by room: 'kitchens', 'urban kitchen', 'cook's kitchen', 'sociable kitchen', 'living spaces'...
4. Attention to Detail: 'finishing touches', 'mirrors', 'lighting', 'cushions', 'flowers', 'table settings'

There are many nice quotes by professionals or connoisseurs into interior decoration, most of them rather inspiring, although sometimes they might contradic one another, which is a reflection of the open-endedness of the publication.

There are specific case studies of homes discussed in further details.

Some pictures/examples are featured twice throughout the book, which might feel a bit cheeky, especially if the book is read from cover to cover.

It is actually advisable to read the book from beginning to end, then to come back to it according to your needs or interests at any given moment, as it is also to a great extent a picture book.

From this angle, it also puts the book under strain as there is nowadays an unbeatable picture book, ie. Internet.

But this book might prove especially useful for beginners in decoration, who need some pointers to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House (Hardcover)
This book is well worth the money - for the price of a few home magazines you have a hardback book full of gorgeous photos and practical ideas. This is my favourite interior design book by far, love it, love it, love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful!, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House (Hardcover)
This is by far one of my favourite interior books that I have read in a long time. As an avid follower of Holly Becker's blog, Decor8, I was extremely excited about getting my hands on her new book and it really does not disappoint. This book beautifully translates Holly's passion and enthusiasm for interiors, in which she has a fabulous creative eye that never fails her and it certainly shows in this book. As an interior decorator and stylist `Decorate' has become when of my ultimate favourite reads. Brimming with inspiration I find myself unable to put it down. Full of beautiful decorative images and showcasing some stylish homes it is packed with fantastic tips on placing furniture, how to style a room and adding that extra individual style without breaking the bank. I really do highly recommend this book as it basically is beautiful, inspirational, informative and just simply gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous book!!!, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House (Hardcover)
I own lots (!) of interior decorating books but this is absolutely the most beautiful one I have seen! The pages are crammed full of gorgeous homes, inspiring images and helpful tips and advice. If you are wanting a book to turn to when you want to be inspired, this is most definitely one to keep on your bookshelf - I know that I will be turning to mine again and again. The other books I own, although lovely, definitely do not contain as much in the way of content. This is a practical and helpful book as well as a book full of gorgeous images - beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointed, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House (Hardcover)
From the reviews I had thought the book was more in depth and suitable for experienced decorators but it turned out to have very simple and basic suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Inspirational, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House (Hardcover)
This book is perfect if your looking for ideas and inspiration on how to decorate your home in a modern and contemporary style. I found that each project featured, no matter how quirky it looks at a first glance, has its interesting details that one can adapt and apply their our own project. The book is quite thick, full of large and good quality images, so it is well worth the money. It looks great in the living room coffee table as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House
Decorate: 1000 Professional Design Ideas for Every Room in the House by Joanna Copestick (Hardcover - 25 Mar 2011)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews