Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For costume professionals, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Victorian Tailor (Paperback)
One of the best books for basic knowledge of mens tailoring, for professionals in costume making. A must for students, teachers and theater tailors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Am I dumb, 4 Jan 2013
By 
D. Reed "Silverman" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Tailor (Paperback)
Excellent book marred by some hard to understand or nonsensical measurements in quoted systems i.e drafting trouser patterns seem to refer to half the seat measurement in each of the back pieces PLUS a quarter each in the two fronts which is 1.5 the seat measurement I think

Otherwise a perfect starter for drafting patterns and tailoring makeup
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have Book!, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Tailor (Paperback)
This is more than a guide to Pattern Cutting and Construction of Victorian Male Clothing. It is what the title says, the Victorian Tailor. You will learn everything you need to know of how the garments were constructed, even down to the sitting position when sowing, crossed legged (lotus position)on a table and the reasons for that position being adopted. Details like that make this book a fascinating read. The patterns are clear and the discussions on what modern materials to avoid using and why not to make it a must have for anyone interested in historical clothing.

Jason Maclochlainn is the male Janet Arnold. Looking forward to other books from this Author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived promptly, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Tailor (Paperback)
Very informative and interesting information about the history of victorian tailoring techniques. Am looking forward to creating some of the patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accurate detailing, 18 April 2012
By 
Y. Charlton "Plooma" (Cold Northwest UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Tailor (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone interested in Victorian Tailoring. A wonderful reference book that will be used time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Tailor (Paperback)
Goes step by step through techniques - I have yet to make anything but many of his tips look easy to follow. He promises another book - where is it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very fine indeed, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Tailor (Paperback)
A good investment for anyone involved in theatre costuming or vintage reproduction. Full of advice on every facet of gentlemen's period suits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Victorian Tailor (Paperback)
I like so much that i spend the hall night reading the book i could not read it at day time becouse i do work,i like history and the pattern eady to follow thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Victorian Tailor
The Victorian Tailor by Jason Maclochlainn (Paperback - 17 Feb 2011)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews