Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for textile artists
This book guides the reader in using lines in their embroidery and textile art. However, the book covers much more than that, it covers many techniques such as cold water dyeing, mono printing and tells you how to make different fibrous surfaces. The techniques alone would be enough to get your creative juices flowing.

The remainder of the book tells you...
Published on 19 Feb 2011 by Sewing Directory

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much repetition
A lovely book at first glance however on closer inspection it really is overly biased towards fabric printing and decoration, not much sewing. A book for someone who wants to learn to draw before sewing not really for someone who is happy with their drawing abilities. I would have liked the book to contain more sewing skills. The projects shown were beautiful but all...
Published 17 months ago by Catherine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for textile artists, 19 Feb 2011
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drawn To Stitch (Paperback)
This book guides the reader in using lines in their embroidery and textile art. However, the book covers much more than that, it covers many techniques such as cold water dyeing, mono printing and tells you how to make different fibrous surfaces. The techniques alone would be enough to get your creative juices flowing.

The remainder of the book tells you about a particular style of interpreting lines into textile works and then shows you some of the author's own work in this style, detailing her inspiration. It then showcases works by other textile artists to show you other looks that can be achieved.

The book has detailed text and good quality photography throughout. It is not a book for beginners but any textile artist would struggle not to be inspired by it.

This review originally appeared on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawn to Stitch, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: Drawn to Stitch (Hardcover)
Gwen Heddley is, as always, an inspirational textile artist and this book will be extremely useful to the novice, who wish to achieve inspirational pieces of work and also to those experienced textile artists who wish to advance their work further and re-kindle their creative juices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: Drawn to Stitch (Hardcover)
I do not normally bother writing reviews but I was so impressed and inspired by this book I felt I had to. The book is well written and beautifully presented with clear instructions as well as inspirational elements. The author has produced a very personal insight into her own work as well as making suggestions for your own. I can't wait to introduce my art/textiles students to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent resource for textiles design, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Drawn to Stitch (Hardcover)
As a textiles design tutor on distance learning degree level courses (with OCA) encouraging students to develop their own resource visual diary is difficult so this is an excellent text to help them get started - definitely recommended reading for students or tutors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent instruction, 27 Oct 2010
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawn to Stitch (Hardcover)
Discover the uses of line and stitch in textiles and embroidery. This book covers all you need to know and gives an excellent basis on which to develop your own work. There is excellent content in this book, produced in an easy to use format and beautifully illustrated throughout. This book looks at drawing tools, creating backgrounds, printing, interpretation and so much more. There are exercises to help you to familiarise yourself with the processes. The showcase of work is inspiring. This is a book you will use thoroughly and turn to time and time again. Highly recommended. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much repetition, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Stitch (Hardcover)
A lovely book at first glance however on closer inspection it really is overly biased towards fabric printing and decoration, not much sewing. A book for someone who wants to learn to draw before sewing not really for someone who is happy with their drawing abilities. I would have liked the book to contain more sewing skills. The projects shown were beautiful but all rather in the same abstracted style, not enough differing artistic/sewing styles. I did return the book as I felt it was too repetative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawn to stitch, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. K. Venn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawn to Stitch (Hardcover)
I love everything about this book and couldn't wait to start experimenting and trying out the different techniques. I have recomended it to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for..., 27 May 2011
By 
Clair L. Cameron (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawn to Stitch (Hardcover)
A must have for anyone interested in stitch and surface design, beautifully photographed, lots of artists, with images of their sketch books and their finished pieces, a worthy buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Penny (Abridge, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drawn to Stitch (Hardcover)
This book is fabulous, lots of inspiration with pictures and stitched examples of their interpretation. A good book to "graze" through, but it also gives details of achieving the various finished pieces, training the eye to look closely. A treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving on, 9 Nov 2010
By 
Margaret Turner "stitch maniac" (Shropshire U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawn to Stitch (Hardcover)
I found this book inspiring. It demonstrates new ways of recording the visual prompts which give rise to further textile or mixed media work and bridges the gap between seeing and doing. There is a fresh approach with plenty of support for those who think 'they can't draw'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drawn to Stitch
Drawn to Stitch by Gwen Hedley (Hardcover - 4 Oct 2010)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews