Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars57
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This book guides the reader in using lines in their embroidery and textile art. However, the book covers much more than that, it covers many techniques such as cold water dyeing, mono printing and tells you how to make different fibrous surfaces. The techniques alone would be enough to get your creative juices flowing.

The remainder of the book tells you about a particular style of interpreting lines into textile works and then shows you some of the author's own work in this style, detailing her inspiration. It then showcases works by other textile artists to show you other looks that can be achieved.

The book has detailed text and good quality photography throughout. It is not a book for beginners but any textile artist would struggle not to be inspired by it.

This review originally appeared on The Sewing Directory.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Gwen Heddley is, as always, an inspirational textile artist and this book will be extremely useful to the novice, who wish to achieve inspirational pieces of work and also to those experienced textile artists who wish to advance their work further and re-kindle their creative juices.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
As a textiles design tutor on distance learning degree level courses (with OCA) encouraging students to develop their own resource visual diary is difficult so this is an excellent text to help them get started - definitely recommended reading for students or tutors.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 October 2010
Discover the uses of line and stitch in textiles and embroidery. This book covers all you need to know and gives an excellent basis on which to develop your own work. There is excellent content in this book, produced in an easy to use format and beautifully illustrated throughout. This book looks at drawing tools, creating backgrounds, printing, interpretation and so much more. There are exercises to help you to familiarise yourself with the processes. The showcase of work is inspiring. This is a book you will use thoroughly and turn to time and time again. Highly recommended. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
I do not normally bother writing reviews but I was so impressed and inspired by this book I felt I had to. The book is well written and beautifully presented with clear instructions as well as inspirational elements. The author has produced a very personal insight into her own work as well as making suggestions for your own. I can't wait to introduce my art/textiles students to this.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
A must have for anyone interested in stitch and surface design, beautifully photographed, lots of artists, with images of their sketch books and their finished pieces, a worthy buy.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
This book is fabulous, lots of inspiration with pictures and stitched examples of their interpretation. A good book to "graze" through, but it also gives details of achieving the various finished pieces, training the eye to look closely. A treasure.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2010
I found this book inspiring. It demonstrates new ways of recording the visual prompts which give rise to further textile or mixed media work and bridges the gap between seeing and doing. There is a fresh approach with plenty of support for those who think 'they can't draw'.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2011
I love everything about this book and couldn't wait to start experimenting and trying out the different techniques. I have recomended it to my friends.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
A lovely book at first glance however on closer inspection it really is overly biased towards fabric printing and decoration, not much sewing. A book for someone who wants to learn to draw before sewing not really for someone who is happy with their drawing abilities. I would have liked the book to contain more sewing skills. The projects shown were beautiful but all rather in the same abstracted style, not enough differing artistic/sewing styles. I did return the book as I felt it was too repetative.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)