Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good image comaprisons
A very informative record of Manchester in photos as it was compared with now. Useful as a teaching tool as well as to look back to what familiar places once looked like. Helpful supporting text, too.
Published on 20 Feb 2010 by Auntie Elaine

versus
1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Manchester, history
Bought as a present and not seen.

No real feedback, so I wonder?
Published on 19 Aug 2010 by Mr. David J. Barton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good image comaprisons, 20 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester (Then and Now) (Hardcover)
A very informative record of Manchester in photos as it was compared with now. Useful as a teaching tool as well as to look back to what familiar places once looked like. Helpful supporting text, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 May 2012
By 
Mr. C. J. Coupe (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester (Then and Now) (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my dad as a present. He is originally from Manchester and now lives elsewhere. This book has given images to his memories, he couldnt be happier with this book. Its full of colourful images past and present, despite my dad knowing Manchester like the back of his hand; it showed him a couple of places he had not known. This book was money well spent, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good viewing, 21 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester (Then and Now) (Hardcover)
An interesting read for those interested in the development of Manchester in the photographic era. Easy to relate to the "then and now".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time Travel from the Armchair, 17 Jan 2013
By 
A. J. Riley (Tyldesley, Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester (Then and Now) (Hardcover)
The reproductions are excellent and the text interesting and informative. The only criticism is that the modern images have not been shot to match exactly the old ones. Differences in focal length used have meant the perspective is iften very different, even though the view is similar. It might only be noticed by a photographer.....otherwise a splendid book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Making the most of snapshots, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester (Then and Now) (Hardcover)
This book is great for browsing and reminiscing. I am old enough to remember some of the locations in the book from the 'before' shots as well as current views and enjoyed the trip down memory lane. The photographs from current times have been taken with care to replicate, as far as possible, the same angle and location as a snapshot from days gone by, some of the days very long gone by. The text is a good balance of fact and comment and with a minimum of wasted words and points to the ways of life, commercial or private, which have changed considerably over time. Similarly, some things endure and it is interesting to make such strong connections to people, now long gone, through common locations. Perhaps the book will be of little interest to people who have not lived in or visited Manchester, but there is much here which will apply to many cities, not just in the UK. It is a book I will put on my shelf, having read and browsed, but will no doubt come back to many time in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jan 2012
By 
E. Houghton (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manchester (Then and Now) (Hardcover)
This book really captures the character of our City.

As I had lived overseas for many years, I bought this book for my wife who didn't know Manchester. I can't imagine a better book to present our home town and all its rich history to somebody who has yet to visit.

Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester (Then and Now) (Hardcover)
An excellent book, full of great photographs and information. As a Manchunian living away from home it is a delight and very informative. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dad loved it!, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester (Then and Now) (Hardcover)
my 71 year old dad is from manchester but hasn't lived there since he was in his 30's . this brought back lots of lovely memories and we had some laughs with him telling some stories from his youth .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as described. Lovely book., 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester (Then and Now) (Hardcover)
Bought as gift for Grandparents who grew up in Manchester. They loved it and it brought back lots of memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manchester (Then and Now) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my son who is in his last year at uni in Manchester. He loves it, it is a really nice keepsake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manchester (Then and Now)
Manchester (Then and Now) by Jonathan Schofield (Hardcover - 10 May 2009)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews