Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Place to Start your Chess Improvement
I remember picking up this book when I first became interested in chess in the late 80s. Chess books were dull and dusty and there was a lot of focus on classical players from the romantic era. This read like a breath of fresh air with verve and Fischer's emotion evident in the narrative. Of course there were probably anthologies of the Soviet greats but these were...
Published on 27 July 2010 by Jack Chakotay

versus
6 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Fischer - collectable
The book has a larger than life reputaion. It should have been in print all along the years, especially without the added editor comments found in other versions. It's very clear to read and follow, although it's not really a chess tutor as such and wasn't intended to be. Is a bit bland in parts and it won't unfortunatley turn you into a Fischer. Best go for it if you...
Published on 9 Jan. 2010 by Robster


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Place to Start your Chess Improvement, 27 July 2010
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: My 60 Memorable Games (Paperback)
I remember picking up this book when I first became interested in chess in the late 80s. Chess books were dull and dusty and there was a lot of focus on classical players from the romantic era. This read like a breath of fresh air with verve and Fischer's emotion evident in the narrative. Of course there were probably anthologies of the Soviet greats but these were hard to come by, and in Russian of course. I thought for a while in the 90s that I should have stole that book from the library because it became out of print...

These games show Fischer at his best from weak opponents to the strongest in the world at the time all at various stages of his "professional" career. Fisher managed to create "classics" and textbook examples used in chess instruction books since and it is valuable to hear his own insights as well as the peers who were commentating on the game at the time. This is the thrust of the selling point, and it is well justified.

Here are my other thoughts.

1) Up until Fisher, opening theory and strategy was not as well developed so pre-Fischer you are much more liable to get games with opening errors and strategic misjudgement. Tal secured many a victory with unsound sacrifices, Petrosian secured equality from bad positions with depth of thought and prophylaxis. Spassky was an accomplished attacker but tended to be self optimistic to the point of disregarding certain aspects of position. Fischer at his peak was the cold hard calculator that the best foundered upon. I also will mention his analysis without computers for me was easier to grasp and something to aspire to. Compare this to the reams of sidelines of latter day books.

2) Fischer 2-3 years pre Championship had the reputation of finding the most practical "correct moves" from opening to endgame. He was the ultimate complete player of his time: able to sacrifice for the attack or prosecute positional nuances to their conclusion. The modern grandmaster has his forerunner in Fischer.

3) While the theory of the Spanish, Sicilian and KID have moved on, it is worthwhile revisiting the basic plans that Fischer used to fashion these openings into weapons of choice.

I would recommend that this is a logical starting point for any student of the game, or someone who wants to build their anthology of games. Pritchett's Heroes of Classical Chess and of course Kasparov's My Great Predecessors vol 4 are present to flesh out Fischer's body of work. The theory may be a bit stale and many books have provided a more entertaining method of conveying their ideas but "My 60 Memomarable Games" was what started it all for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Classic written by a Chess Genius, 31 May 2005
This is my favourite chess book. Bobby Fischer, the American genius, talks the reader through 60 of his games, describing his thoughts, the intricacies behind strategies, the tactical justification of moves and the psychological battle in each one. Expect to see beautifully simple positional play next to out of this world combinations that are just breathtaking (see "The Game of the Century", played by a 15 year old Fischer against Byrne). Fischer played nearly all of these games as a grandmaster so they are of a very high level, but his lucid commentary makes every move and idea both accessible and understandable. Every player will learn huge amounts from this book, it is essential for each chess enthusiast, competitor and professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that every chess player should read, 21 Jun. 2010
This review is from: My 60 Memorable Games (Paperback)
Wow. Somebody needs to put up a five-star review of this book: so here goes.

This is a great book, one of the greatest chess books ever written. I devoured this book as a kid (in the old descriptive notation), and highly commend this to any one today.

It's not just that Fischer was a great player, arguably the greatest of all time. He was also a great chess writer: interesting, clear, simple, and instructive.

This is one of a handful of books that is simply a must-read for any player hoping to improve their chess. If you want to learn how to launch an attack, you need to study Fischer closely: one of the all-time great masters of attack. A careful reading of this book will probably teach you more about modern chess strategy than Nimzovich's classic "My System." It will probably teach you more about endgames than most modern endgame manuals.

As with most game collections, you need to go through it line by line, and ask yourself at each point: what is the best move?--and then see what Fischer actually played. When you get to a move that Fischer analyzes in detail, you need to set aside the book, write out your analysis, and then compare your analysis with his. This book is the perfect follow-up book for anyone who has read Silman's "How to Reassess Your Chess" or Kotov's "Think Like A Grandmaster".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FISCHER'S FINEST, 26 Sept. 2014
By 
Jet Lagged - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: My 60 Memorable Games (Paperback)
If you are a chess fan and don't know about this book then you have been living under a rock.

This book is Bobby Fischer's chess masterpiece. Or it would be more correct to say that the games themselves are the masterpieces.

Take Fischer's early 1958 game against Larsen for instance. The former was just 15 years old at the time. He goes through Larsen's Sicilian Dragon for a short cut. Normally Black, if given the chance, will sac the exchange on c3 for an attack. This never happens. Instead Fischer turns the tables by saccing the exchange himself on h5 for a winning attack. Larsen, one of the world's strongest players at the time, must have been reeling after this demolition.

The original Simon and Schuster edition of the book is the one to get. For some strange reason John Nunn saw fit to mutilate the original with the Batsford version. It's puzzling. Nunn is a solid chess author so what on earth was he thinking about here?

Please remember that these games were from an era before chess computers had even been thought of (other than perhaps by Botvinnik ). It was a different and more rugged era and so some of the annotations have not stood up to scrutiny by the silicon monsters. But don't let this detract from your enjoyment of the games themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars errors introduced by Nunn, 15 July 2004
Nunn is considered a heretic by Fischerphiles, because he introduced some mistakes into the analysis, where Fischer was more correct. The chess community deserves an addendum on these cases. It is not proper action to write that the text was reset, when it was indeed reedited by a humble mortal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fischer at his best, 26 Jan. 2012
By 
Gary Slegg (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A collection of games annotated by the most charismatic chess player of all time. Some of the most interesting games are the ones that Fischer lost, in particular to Tal. A must-have for any chess player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest, 18 April 2011
This review is from: My 60 Memorable Games (Paperback)
I wouldn't say that this is a better book than _My System_ or _Masters of the Chessboard_. I wouldn't
even say that it's better than Fine's _Basic Chess Endgames_. But whether or not you decide that this
is the book for you, at this stage of your climb up the ladder, it is still the greatest book ever
written about chess, and you should know that. The annotations don't overwhelm the reader with forests
of variations, and they don't try to pass off platitudes as profundities. Somehow, between Scylla and Charybdis,
they tell the reader just what is needed to go to the next level in understanding what
was at issue, in the concrete position on the board, at that moment. (Also, their assessments are generally
confirmed by modern day engines.) Fischer was a person of intense honesty and integrity -- later this was more
than he himself could endure -- but there is nothing emotionally disjointed in this book. There has never been
a more direct and insightful rendering of the mentality of a top grandmaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well it's Bob's 60 mem game's - nuff said, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My 60 Memorable Games (Paperback)
Well - this book is of course brilliant and always has been. The most important elements for me are that this book has not been messed with and has all the original text unlike some previous versions - and that it's in algebraic which I find far more easy to read than descriptive notation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My 60 Memorable Games (Paperback)
I have only played through a couple of the games so far, but it is instructive to have bobby Fishers commentary as the game progresses.

It demonstrates the inadequacy of my own chess ability. I only hope I will improve from the knowledge and tactics imparted by the master!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carlsberg don't do chess books, but if they did...., 30 May 2013
By 
John Whelan (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My 60 Memorable Games (Paperback)
The best chess book that I have ever read. Study this in detail and you will improve your game significantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My 60 Memorable Games
My 60 Memorable Games by Bobby Fischer (Paperback - 22 Oct. 2008)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews