Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy dry felting
In this book, Sheila Smith explores the new dry-felting techniques by hand and by machine using an embellisher. Precise instructions are given for both methods and Sheila explores the pros and cons of buying an embellishing machine or using an attachment for an existing sewing machine. She shows how to combine needle punching with traditional wet felting techniques and...
Published on 17 Nov 2008 by K. Platt

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Embellish, Stitch, Felt
Very nice book. Great images. Nice ideas throughout. I was a little disappointed though that there was not more pages devoted to needle-punching/felting with an embellisher machine. Still a great book.
Published on 17 Jan 2012 by orio


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy dry felting, 17 Nov 2008
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Embellish, Stitch, Felt: Using the Embellisher Machine and Needle Punch (Hardcover)
In this book, Sheila Smith explores the new dry-felting techniques by hand and by machine using an embellisher. Precise instructions are given for both methods and Sheila explores the pros and cons of buying an embellishing machine or using an attachment for an existing sewing machine. She shows how to combine needle punching with traditional wet felting techniques and also how to embellish by using embroidery stitches.
She gives a range of fabrics, explaining their qualities and encourages experimentation with a variety of fabrics, not just wool. She demonstrates materials, equipment, colour and dyeing to good effect. She shows how to make felt fabrics from scratch, how to build texture, how to incorporate tucks and tubes and work in 3-D. Learn the secrets of rapid dyeing and special effects.
The projects include step-by-step instructions for beginners and there are innovative ideas for experienced felters. I personally felt that the first project needed a traceable design or an easier method of transfer or perhaps a simpler project altogether. Some of the projects recycle old sweaters. The finished pieces are inspirational and will encourage you to further explore felt making to make unique items. I particularly like the felt vessels. The book covers could easily be transformed into bags or purses.
This is a practical and useful book with beautiful illustrations of finished work. There is a list of suppliers for materials used in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Using an embellisher, 29 Oct 2011
This review is from: Embellish, Stitch, Felt: Using the Embellisher Machine and Needle Punch (Hardcover)
This turned out to be just the book I was looking for. It covers in considerable depth the area of embellishing, plus how to add hand stitching to make a very individual piece of work. Lent the embellisher by my stitching group, I had a great time following the work illustrated in the book. A very worthwhile expense.
Faced with an embellishing machine one would not know what to do: with the book to hand I knew what materials to look for in my stash, the order in which to apply them and what to expect/strive for as an end result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book full of ideas, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Embellish, Stitch, Felt: Using the Embellisher Machine and Needle Punch (Hardcover)
A delightful book, full of step by step instructions on how to achieve the results illustrated and different ways to use the embelisher. It is packed full of ideas, needle felting, embellishing and how to make finished items. Sheila Smith is one of my favorite authors on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The mystery of embellishing explained, 27 Jan 2012
By 
Ms. D. A. Turner "Daisy Flame" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Embellish, Stitch, Felt: Using the Embellisher Machine and Needle Punch (Hardcover)
This book is a great inspiration. Clearly written and explained how to achieve so many different types of textile art with an embellishing machine. It sits next to my machine so I can dive in and figure how to do something and achieve the effect I'm after, without lots of head scratching and mistakes. I've managed to create some really beautiful items and I've only had my machine and this book for just over a week. Highly recommended for amyone wishing to start embellishing and creating fabrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Embellish, Stitch, Felt: Using the Embellisher Machine and Needle Punch (Hardcover)
I have recently bought an embellisher and wanted a book to inspire and instruct. This fits the bill perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another felt book, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Sheila (Dundee, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Embellish, Stitch, Felt: Using the Embellisher Machine and Needle Punch (Hardcover)
I already own another of Sheila Smith's books so this is adding to a fairly large library of textile books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Embellish stitch felt, 5 Mar 2010
By 
barneyrubs (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Embellish, Stitch, Felt: Using the Embellisher Machine and Needle Punch (Hardcover)
I already knew it was a good book hence the purchase. It did not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Needles at the ready!, 11 Nov 2014
By 
jenny wren (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very inspiring book, with lots of helpful tips and good quality photos.
Would have like a bit more detail re covering books. Photos do not show the inside cover and how one actaully fixes the felted work onto the book, but that is small gripe for what is otherwise a useful publication.
The bag made from an old jumper is a project on my shortlist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a superb book, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Embellish, Stitch, Felt: Using the Embellisher Machine and Needle Punch (Hardcover)
My craft tutor recommended this book, and I was not disappointed. The suggestions for projects and the photography are really beautiful, and although I do own several other books, this is the one I return to time and time again. If you enjoy needle-felting, this book will help you raise your game to another level. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Embellish, Stitch, Felt, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Embellish, Stitch, Felt: Using the Embellisher Machine and Needle Punch (Hardcover)
Very nice book. Great images. Nice ideas throughout. I was a little disappointed though that there was not more pages devoted to needle-punching/felting with an embellisher machine. Still a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Embellish, Stitch, Felt: Using the Embellisher Machine and Needle Punch
Used & New from: £10.63
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews