Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition to corset making
Corset making is a suprisingly large subject, and this book is a welcome addition to the range.
It opens with some thoughtful comments about dating corsets and how typical are surviving examples, among other subjects.
The main body is devoted to an interesting selection of corsets, including finely boned and half-boned stays, hand stitched corded corsets, and...
Published on 17 Sep 2008 by DG

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice pictures, but thats about it...
I was really looking forward to getting this book as I thought I would be getting a book with valuble information and tips on how to make a corset-as suggested by the blurb. However, the instructions are basic at best and the patterns are not that helpfull-for example there is no proper explanation as to how to enlarge the patterns to fit a modern woman. The projects at...
Published on 15 Feb 2009 by R. A. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Its great. But, is for the more progressed builder., 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
This book is very nicely put together. Its gives you the history of each corset in the book as well as a picture. I would have liked the examples of the corsets to be that of recently built ones. SO you could see how it would look if you made it today.

It is definitely for the corset builder who does it for costumes or is a very progressed builder.

All in all, its not for me but it would definitely make a nice voffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best book, 15 Jan 2012
By 
linda (north west) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
This book is an absolute gem, if anyone is intrested in corsets from days gone by. loads of information, pictures and diagrams. What next? - get sewing :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect but close!, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
As an art and design student with a strong interest in historical fashion and costumen I have found this book both interesting and helpful. It contains a modest collection of patterns with progress through the history of the corset. This patterns are displayed on grids at 50% making them easy to scale up or simply enlarge with a photocopier (as suggested by salen). This is a huge advantage over books such as Norah Waugh were the scaling up of patterns is much much more difficult and time consuming.

There are some great basic tips on things such as cording, flossing, creating eyelets as well as a list of suppliers. However there is little information on the more detailed aspects of making up the corsets (other than two "projects" at the end of the book,which at lesat make some other patterns more straightforward).

There are photographs of each corset though many are from museum collections so are not always perfect, but coupled with clear illustrations demonstrating both the rear and the front of the corset give a clear idea of how each should look.

This is a great buy for anyone wanting to learn more about corset patterns throughout history and who is happy to make replicas of historical corsets. Though those who are looking to make fitted corsets from scratch may not find there answers here (try the book "Waisted Efforts" for that) however they may find some interesting design ideas.

For its cost this book is more than worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creating corsets, 6 Nov 2011
This review is from: Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
A great book, but definitely not for the beginner. In the book, the author goes through corsets from museum collections and sets out detailed patterns as to how those corsets were constructed. There are pictures of the exteriors of all the corsets, but none of the insides. The write-ups on each corset are good to read and give some insight into the people who wore the garments. There are also two projects in the back with step by step instructions, a glossary and instructions on how to floss a corset as well. I think this book is a great find and will definitely be trying out a few of the patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 12 Jun 2011
This review is from: Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
A great book for the money. Nice clear pictures and diagrams, but brief on the written details. Glad I purchased it, good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a how to book - a fashion history book, 2 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
If you want a book which will give detailed info on how to make a traditional corset this is not the book for you. It is however, a well researched book about fashion history - the history of the corset. I was disappointed when I received this book as it was not remoteley what I had expected but perhaps a student of fashion history would find it a welcome addition to their bookshelf. Hope this may be of some help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply wonderful!, 13 Jan 2010
This review is from: Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
As a corset fascinated stage designer, I really was looking for such a book! every corset has a short text description a good large colour photo and a wonderfully accurate pattern. Picture an early naturalists descriving and patiently drawing birds, plants or insect, well you'll feel the same passion here! the book also gives some info about corset construction, 2 step by step projects (not detailed enough for a beginner) and some addresses to purchase all you need for corsetmaking.
If it had also pictures of the inside of the corsets (only one of them is pictured inside), it would be just perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corsets Galore!, 21 Oct 2009
By 
Ms. Elise Hey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
This book reveals an amazing history of corsets - how they were made, what was used to make them, and the evolution of corsets throughout the ages. It has given me, as a beginner in corset-making, a wonderful insight into corsetry. My customers have had hours of fun louring over this book to decide which corset they'd like me to make for them out of leather!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great patterns, 14 April 2009
This review is from: Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
Its great as a "basics book" for many basic corset types, if you are a beginner there ar some great simple patterns, and for the more advanced the patterns are great to elaborate on. Wonderful for the ribbon corset patterns, which are hard to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for my gf - she took it back, 13 Aug 2011
By 
P. Bridges - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques (Paperback)
Bought this as my girlfriends into corsetry - she was unimpressed, not as good as her other books apparently, so she took it back n used the money to buy fabric to make a corset - o well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques
Corsets: Historic Patterns and Techniques by Jill Salen (Paperback - 1 Sep 2008)
£13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews