Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read for every Mike Oldfield fan
There have been very few great books written about Mike Oldfield, and absolutely no great documentaries made. Chris Dewey, editor of the official Mike Oldfield magazine and fanzine, Dark Star, has managed to accomplish both in his new book.

Drawing on a wealth of information gathered in his 27 years of producing fanzines, including interviews with the...
Published 23 months ago by Lee Thomas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat sycophantic and expensive
Maybe it's to be expected, as the author is the editor of Mike Oldfield fan magazine, but this book is overly positive about the artist, only occasionally being critical of his work. There's a lot of quoting from revealing interviews from the fan magazines but a little too much of the author's own opinion for my liking - I'm not all that interested in what he thinks. To...
Published 21 months ago by Twiglet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful addition to the Bookcase., 4 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music, Chris Dewey's new book.
Well whats it about? Yes the Title pretty much answers that question, an archive of facts from an extensive collection of years, Dedicated to the wonderful music of the multi-talented musician Mike Oldfield.
Do we need more Books on Mike Oldfield? As a collector I can easily answer that "YES". This book covers much more ground than pre-existing biographies and general text,and one can even say it continues where Mikes own Autobiography ends.
This is a refreshing insight into Mikes life from the viewpoints and conversations of the talents associated with Mike.
Musicians,producers and even close childhood friends lend their memories to paint a picture of mikes life,which brings a truly refreshing read,that even brings new information to even the closest of Mikes followers.
I would encourage that anyone who has an interest in Mikes music and Life, to go and buy this. Or even those who dont have an interest, it will teach you a lot about a man who's music has sustained over four decades.
I thank you Chris for this book and i hope that many will take a chance and read it,they will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for the Mike Oldfield fans out there, 22 July 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
As a fan of Mike Oldfield for 21 years, although that is less than half the time he has been in the music business, I was amazed at just how much I did not know about his life and career. This excellent book by Chris Dewey (There is probably no-one better qualified than he to write a book about Mike Oldfield as he has been working on not for profit fan magazines for many years; the magazine is called "Dark Star" for anyone interested) which I managed to read in 5 days (I am normally a very slow reader) certainly covers just about every aspect of Mike`s music, from his albums & other recordings (there are particularly useful appendices on these)and concert tours and includes interviews with singers, musicians and recording engineers who have worked with him over he years. Mike Oldfield has suffered in popularity I feel in recent years, unjustifiably so, I feel, as he is truly a great musician and composer, and long may he continue. My words can't do this book full justice, but it is an entertaining read on one of music`s "greats" and an invaluable source of reference to have all this information in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read for all fans, 24 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
Having just finished this book I was incredibly impressed with Chris Dewey's exhaustive research and detailed approach to collating so much material. I thought I'd read pretty much everything available on Mike Oldfield and his incredible career but this book has an inordinate amount of new material, information and contributions from those who've worked with, and contributed to the career of, this amazing musician.

Having contacted the author direct I asked him how long it's taken to put this book together. Here's his reply: "There's no simple answer to how long it took - in some respects, it's taken 27 years, but I suppose I came up with the idea about two years ago, and the workload accelerated as the deadline of the 40th anniversary of Tubular Bells got nearer!"

So, in summary, an excellent, fascinating read I'd highly recommend. And on the back of the author's comments, I really think it ought to also be 'Chris Dewey - a life dedicated to this book'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb and highly entertaining read, 15 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
The career of Mike Oldfield has spanned over 40 years now, and although only a few biographical books have been written about him, many of these focus on the period immediately before and just after the release of Tubular Bells in 1973. Mike Oldfield himself produced his autobiography in 2007 which gave a fascinating insight into his world as he experiences it. Chris Dewey's new biography perfectly complements Mike's book, taking the reader through an equally fascinating journey into the man, his music and his shows, but this time from the perspective of the legions of Mike Oldfield fans. This book is a highly skilled synthesis of diverse stories, interviews, news reports and observations, expertly integrated into a thoroughly entertaining and gripping account spanning Mike's entire career to date. Mike Oldfield reviewed and was happy with the stories told in this book. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wealth of information, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
This is a must book for any Mike Oldfield fan and those interested to learn about the man behind some of the most innovative music of our times. There is a splendid autobiography by Mike himself, "Changeling", which was released a few years ago, but this book contains lots and lots of information not found there - or anywhere else. If you want to have a well-written account of Mike's life and career up until today, including information regarding his childhood, various recordings, the development of his fan base and the effect he has had on other people around him (whether in music business or not)... and more, you can't go wrong with this book. Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amateurishly written and vastly overpriced, 27 Aug. 2013
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
I am struggling to reconcile the glowing reviews of this book on Amazon with the the book I have just read - having read the reviews, I was very much looking forward to receiving my copy, but I'm afraid it was an enormous let-down.

Imagine the level of fawning over an artist you get in a cheap fanzine, interspersed with huge numbers of personal reminiscences from the author which are of little to no interest to anyone else (example sentence - "Neither my cousin nor my friend Chris were great fans, but both loved the album...") - well, that's what you get here, but spread out over 200 pages. On top of that, it is illustrated with the sort of dreadful "pencil sketch of the artist I currently have a crush on" pictures that get sent in to fanzines by teenage girls. That anyone can have the sheer front to charge the price being asked for this book (vanity publishing, anyone?) for writing of such low quality beggars belief.

There are a few interesting insights into Oldfield, mainly quoted from interviews, that I hadn't read before - but not many. The pages at the back with a comprehensive list of rarities and unreleased tracks are really the only part of the book worth reading. Sean Moraghan's "Mike Oldfield - A Man And His Music" - a book which has been soundly criticised in the past by Oldfield fans - is orders of magnitude better than this effort, in terms of writing style, content and value for money - I strongly recommend buying that instead.

To be honest, I do feel somewhat unkind laying into what is clearly one man's labour of love, but on the other hand, I'm a customer who has paid an enormous sum of money for a book, and I expected something professional as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any Oldfield fan !, 17 July 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
Having been a fan of Mike Oldfield's unique brand of music for all of 40 years now I thought I'd read everything there was to know about Oldfield's remarkable career. That was probably the case until I read Chris Dewey's excellent book. If you've already read Oldfield's autobiography 'Changeling ' and like me it left you feeling a little depressed then this book is a good antidote . With insightful interviews and anecdotes from school friends, family members and musical collaborators it reveals a much happier and less isolated life of a true musical genius . Essential reading for any fan of the maestro .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Insight, 4 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
This book provides a wonderful insight into the development of Mike Oldfield's career. Told from the perspective of those working with him, and also with considerable attention to how the record labels - from Virgin in the early years through to Universal/Mercury latterly - treated each new release - and the reaction from the fan base. The industry launches, the tours, the critical successes and backlashes are all documented in fascinating detail. I would urge those with an interest in both Mike Oldfield and the music industry as a whole, to give this entertaining book a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST FOR ALL MIKE OLDFIELD FANS, 16 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
I enjoyed Chris Deweys book on Mike Oldfield very much there were many new photos which I hadnt seen before it waqs well written. Actually I read it all in one go -couldnt put it down. Ive been interested in Mikes career since the start of tubular Bells.
It also makes a welcome companion to Mikes autobiography Changeling -so both books are a good read for Oldfield fans.It wouldve been nice to more photos of the houses that he lived in-there was only The Beacon -but no Througham Slad pictures.
Apart from that a fine book-well researched. Andrew G kostelnyk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biography, 30 April 2014
By 
Jonquin (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
I have been an avid Mike Oldfield fan since Tubular Bells and this book certainly fills a gap. Mike's autobiography "Changeling" was a great read and tells us a lot about Mike the man, but this book gives a much more thorough overview of his music. The two books are perfect companions. I have all of Mike's albums and have followed his career closely, but I still discovered a few albums by other artists that had guested on.
Chris is clearly a huge fan with a knowledge which is second to none. I heartily recommend this as a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music
Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music by Chris Dewey (Hardcover - 25 May 2013)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews