Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read for every Mike Oldfield fan
There have been very few great books written about Mike Oldfield, and absolutely no great documentaries made. Chris Dewey, editor of the official Mike Oldfield magazine and fanzine, Dark Star, has managed to accomplish both in his new book.

Drawing on a wealth of information gathered in his 27 years of producing fanzines, including interviews with the...
Published 23 months ago by Lee Thomas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat sycophantic and expensive
Maybe it's to be expected, as the author is the editor of Mike Oldfield fan magazine, but this book is overly positive about the artist, only occasionally being critical of his work. There's a lot of quoting from revealing interviews from the fan magazines but a little too much of the author's own opinion for my liking - I'm not all that interested in what he thinks. To...
Published 20 months ago by Twiglet


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read for every Mike Oldfield fan, 5 Jun. 2013
By 
Lee Thomas (South Tyneside, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
There have been very few great books written about Mike Oldfield, and absolutely no great documentaries made. Chris Dewey, editor of the official Mike Oldfield magazine and fanzine, Dark Star, has managed to accomplish both in his new book.

Drawing on a wealth of information gathered in his 27 years of producing fanzines, including interviews with the musicians and people that have been close to Oldfield throughout his career, Chris tells Mike Oldfield's amazing story like never before. From his early childhood to the release of his groundbreaking debut album Tubular Bells in 1973. Then on through the years until his stellar surprise performance at the 2012 Olympic opening ceremony. There are other sources of information too and are used to great advantage to add further interesting anecdotes.

I found the book read less like a regular biography and more like a documentary, but it still managed to give the reader a fantastic insight into Mike Oldfield's vast career. The book is also very well illustrated with many rare and wonderful photographs, from professional sources and devoted fans. There is also great artwork featured by various fans throughout.

Towards the end of the book is an extensive appendix section covering all kinds of extra information ranging from discographies, tourographies and rare collectables. Which also proves to be an essential reference guide in its own right.

All in all an essential book for any Mike Oldfield fan, and a splendid companion to Oldfield's back catalogue of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat sycophantic and expensive, 1 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
Maybe it's to be expected, as the author is the editor of Mike Oldfield fan magazine, but this book is overly positive about the artist, only occasionally being critical of his work. There's a lot of quoting from revealing interviews from the fan magazines but a little too much of the author's own opinion for my liking - I'm not all that interested in what he thinks. To be fair, on a positive, I found out a lot about Mike Oldfield which I didn't know before reading the book, and it does flow well as a story so overall it was an easy and interesting read.

I would have given it four stars if it wasn't for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 7 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
The definitive biography of one of the UK's most talented musicians. This will be the "go to" resource for all Mike Oldfield fans. With loads of previously unpublished material, "Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated To Music" is a fascinating and enlightening read from beginning to end. Chris Dewey's knowledge and enthusiasm rings out from the pages. It gives a wonderful insight into what makes Mike Oldfield tick. I Highly recommend this fantastic book whether you are an Oldfield fan or not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect companion to 'Changeling', 5 Jun. 2013
By 
Patrick Gleeson (Limerick Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
Mike Oldfield's autobiography 'Changeling' was an essential read for those interested in the genesis of Mike's early career, personal life challenges and the driving forces behind his music. It left fans satisfied, but many felt it didn't emphasise his later works nearly enough. Chris Dewey's excellent book redresses the balance in favour of a chronological look at the music from the very early days of 'The Sallyangie', right up to date with the triumpant 2012 Olympics performance. If you're looking for in-depth, insider and unheard stories on the making of Mike Oldfield's albums - here's the book you've been waiting for. All his album's are catered for, with a wealth of photographs of memorabilia to complement the prose. Chris' inside take on Oldfield's career as editor of the official Dark Star website affords him a unique view of the man and his music.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mike Oldfield - the book I've been waiting for!, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
In a book that not only provides a detailed timeline of Oldfield's career to date; it also illustrates the changing relationship between Oldfield and his fan base - going from outright rejection in his early career to warm and approachable in his later years. Chris Dewey has used a wealth of research material from the early press releases to personal interviews spanning the whole Oldfield community. He also touches on the complex character of Oldfield himself using interviews with collaborators from various points of his career. I thoroughly recommend this book for both the casual reader or a dedicated fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the dedicated Oldfield fan, 9 Jun. 2013
By 
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book focusing on the music of Mike Oldfield and the experiences of the musicians that have worked with Mike over the years. It covers all recordings in chronological order from the early Sallyangie recordings up to Mike's involvement in the Opening Ceremony of the London 2012 Olympics.

Chris's writing style makes it very interesting and easy to read; I'm not a big reader of books (I much prefer writing and recording my own music, inspired by Mike's approach of course) and very easily lose interest in sticking with a book, but I actually read this within 24 hours...the ultimate compliment to its style in my view! There are lots of great insights into the music and the inspiration behind it - the bit that sticks in my mind is Rick Fenn's recollections of the 80s tours and the point where they nearly lost their lives (the inspiration behind 'Five Miles Out').

This hardback book is quite pricey but that's due to the independent costs of producing it. Chris Dewey is the editor of Dark Star, the official Mike Oldfield magazine and internet site and has unrivalled experience of meeting and dealing with the musical maestro over the years. I've subscribed to the magazine since its early days and this is his best work yet. He writes from a fan's perspective but at no time is her sycophantic. Mike has also read the book and approved its content and publication.

An absolute must purchase for the Oldfield fan...even better as a present for them for a special occasion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and entertaining, 8 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
Although not a huge fan (I only have a few albums), I found this book to be both informative and entertaining. There was so much I didn't know!Chris's style of writing is never dry or dull, and his enthusiasm for the subject is obvious. I found myself reading out excerpts to my partner, and in fact finished the book in two days. Particularly useful were the appendices, covering discs, tours, videos and all sorts of rare tracks; my collection is now rapidly expanding.

If you have even a passing interest in the man or his music, this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard subject, brilliant read, 4 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
I decided to purchase this book after a friend of mine picked the book up and started reading and decided to go ahead and buy. The reason for my curiosity is that my friend hasn't purchased or read a book in 10 years so.............why not also have a go?
I have listened to Mike Oldfield's music on and off for many years, although I can't confess to being a dedicated fan, however after reading this biography my desire to listen to more Oldfield was re-kindled.
I enjoyed the book especially as it made very easy reading, biography's can be a difficult and dry subject and it is easy to fall into a "Wikipedia" type of format, which makes the reading sort of bumpy.
The author mixed in some nice little anecdotes about Mike's life with his own personal feeling and how Mike's music has had such an effect on his life. This style of writing I found refreshing and the author leaves you in no doubt that he is slightly biased to Mike's music, but this is why I love this book. It would have been easy to sit on the fence and have a neutral opinion, many readers may have preferred this style, however to write about your innermost feelings takes great courage and in a way the book is not just about Mike Oldfield, but about how his music has touched so many people and the lasting effect it has on them.

Again, great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music, 5 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
Having been a Mike Oldfield fan since one far-off evening back in 1973, when the late John Peel decided to play Tubular Bells in its entirety on his radio show, I thought I'd always kept pretty much up to date with both the man and his music. However, having just finished reading Chris Dewey's refreshing new book 'A Life Dedicated to Music', I realise that at best I've only ever skimmed the tip of the iceberg.
This new book will prove invaluable to anyone interested in learning more of the development and career of the multi-talented musician that is Mike Oldfield, and, as a previous reviewer has commented, Chris Dewey's work really continues from where Oldfield's own autobiography finishes. The research has been both extensive and meticulous. Chris takes a unique approach and you will learn much from the many musicians, producers, friends and fans who have presented their memories and comments within the pages of the volume.

Worth the purchase price?? Most certainly!

Invaluable?? Without question!! In company with 'Changeling' and 'The Making of Tubular Bells', 'A Life Dedicated to Music' commands its place on the bookshelf of every devotee of Mike Oldfield and his music.

Recommended?? 100% !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating new book, 5 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music (Hardcover)
I expected "Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music" to be a retread of the well-known Virgin story and the discovery of the shy but extremely talented young musician. Instead, I was treated to a journey through Oldfield's music from his early days playing with his brother and sister, all the way to last summer's surprise performance at the opening ceremony of the London Olympic Games where he performed to a global audience of over a billion.

Chris Dewey has run the Mike Oldfield Fan Club for many years and has had privileged access to the background and development of a number of his albums. The book is full of stories from musicians who have worked and toured with Oldfield, as well as the author's personal thoughts. As such, there is a great deal of material that is new, and I have no hesitation in recommending this book even to the fan who thinks they know the story already.

Mike Oldfield comes across as a more mature and likeable person than the one portrayed in his autobiography "Changeling" which focused on his troubled early life until 1980. Chris Dewey has continued the story, concentrating on the music, and produced a fascinating account of the life of a true musical genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music
Mike Oldfield - A Life Dedicated to Music by Chris Dewey (Hardcover - 25 May 2013)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews