Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star Thinking, 16 Aug 2010
By 
R. Mccarthy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Time to Think: A Way of Being in the World (Paperback)
Reading Nancy Kline's first book was a revelation. It led me to train with her and her remarkable Time to Think organisation. Reading More Time to Think has made me see just how deeply and consistently she lives the thinking environment she describes, as in this new book she challenges and develops every aspect of the process she has created over the last 30 years.

More Time to Think is written with clarity, offering us practical ways to think independently, to challenge deep-rooted assumptions about the world and ourselves, to use every moment of our thinking time constructively and dynamically. It is jargon-free, avoiding the popular temptation to trick out major concepts in academic dress. It is often funny. It is always deeply human and accessible.

Yes, David Cameron and Nick Clegg should read this: so should every world leader (other than the President of Zambia, who already knows about it); so should every manager, organiser, team player. Every banker and trader. Every parent, teacher and student. Everyone. The world has huge need of clear thinking, and this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone seriously committed to people development, 30 July 2010
This review is from: More Time to Think: A Way of Being in the World (Paperback)
Coaching is based on a fundamental belief that every individual has the capacity and ability to know and do what is right and best for them as an individual. During my training and subsequent continuing professional development as a coach, I time after time come across coaches who think that some people 'need a coach who is more directive', as though some people are capable of thinking for themselves and others may not be. They should all read this book. It is for anyone who has ever doubted that every individual has within them the ability to, in Nancy's words "think with rigour, courage, imagination and grace", and any questions I had about the directive/non-directive debate have vanished since reading it. As leaders or coaches, we NEVER know better than an individual what they want or need. We might, suggests Nancy, encourage their thinking, for example by giving them more time, creating an environment which encourages them to think, helping them to think more insightfully by asking the appropriate incisive question, or showing that we have confidence in their ability to think for themselves. If we do, the results are amazing - I've put Nancy's advice into practice in my coaching and can vouch for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exquisite space for creativity, 14 Sep 2010
By 
A. E. Lewis "Ann" (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Time to Think: A Way of Being in the World (Paperback)
There are some books that are fundamental to the way I work, and this is one of them. The positive effect of using Nancy Kline's Thinking Environment(TM) as an approach to working with others is profound.

If you've sat through business meetings at which everyone is vying for their turn, and where the loudest hold sway and interruption is the norm, or listened with growing despair to the conflicting advice of well-meaning friends, you'll really appreciate the power of the Thinking Environment(TM).

Nancy Kline's aim is to improve radically the quality of our thinking, by creating an environment of deep attentiveness. Her book describes how, in a respectful thinking partnership, limiting assumptions can be challenged by the use of incisive questions. I've used her original book, Time to Think, since it first appeared.

In "More Time to Think", Nancy Kline expands her philosophy in the light of 10 years more profound thought since her first book appeared. The model has been refined, and is more exquisite. A whole new world can be created in the thinker's mind from the question "What do you want to think about and what are your thoughts?" It works, it really does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Powerful for Business Leaders, 6 Jun 2010
By 
JPB Perks "Jonathan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Time to Think: A Way of Being in the World (Paperback)
This is a book that makes a profound business impact. This is not for the faint hearted!

It helps those you lead and work with to do their finest and freshest thinking. I have been very fortunate to have been trained by Nancy Kline and have applied her wise and highly practical philosophy of the Thinking Environment. Her book is highly congruent with the way she lives her life and humbly acts as a role model. It builds beautifully on the earlier excellent book "Time to Think". Both are written in an easy and compelling way.

The essence of her book is the clarity with which she illustrates her 10 components of getting the best out of those with whom you interact. These components guide you in creating a safe environment to help the person you are listening to (your thinking partner) in resolving their own challenging life and business issues.

I have read widely in the leadership development and coaching arena and this is one of the most profound books that I have read and immediately applied to developing others. In particular it is invaluable to helping top teams create trust and respect which allow real results to be delivered.

David Cameron and Nick Clegg this is to book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, need to read the first one really! Follow up in work will be interesting too.
Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most thought provoking., 1 April 2013
An excellent follow up to Time to Think with lots of practical examples that I am now encourage to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Time to Think: A Way of Being in the World (Paperback)
a great follow up to her first book this is a must for anyone interested in helping to empower others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformational reading!, 17 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Time to Think: A Way of Being in the World (Paperback)
I first heard of Nancy's work in 2008 from a fellow coach who said that it had transformed the way she coached. Intrigued, I bought Nancy's earlier book "Time to Think". Wanting more, I enrolled on a course with Nancy. It was hard work but I was hooked. I could see that this way of working was truly transformational for the client - and for me.

More Time to Think is essential reading for anyone involved in coaching, mentoring, facilitating, managing, public speaking, training, consulting, managing meetings, and in fact in any kind of relationship. Why? Because the Thinking Environment works. It helps people to think for themselves so they make their lives better, and do their jobs better. It helps them to be creative, to generate fresh ideas, to build trusting relationships, to appreciate others, to engage, to collaborate, to inspire, to get results, and more. The book shows how it can (and believe me, does) benefit everyone by incorporating the principles into their life and work. And the latest neuropsychological research is beginning to tell us more about how and why it works, which is particularly exciting. Savour and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating, thought provoking and practical, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: More Time to Think: A Way of Being in the World (Paperback)
Packed with stimulating ideas to unleash the very best independent thinking in ourselves and in others.I'm particularly taken by the opportunity to transform meetings. The chapter about email is a must read too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of Nancy's Unique Wisdom, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Gary W. Holmes (New Hampshire, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Time to Think: A Way of Being in the World (Paperback)
Nancy Kline continues to bring her unique understanding to the conversation about communication. Together with her first book- Time to Think - Nancy provides insight into the capability of our minds to clarify the "issue" and find just the right answer...with a little help from a friend. Application runs from the individual mind that is freed to THINK, though organizations and business that can possitively impact the worls. A good read that will change the way you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Time to Think: A Way of Being in the World
More Time to Think: A Way of Being in the World by Nancy Kline (Paperback - 30 Sep 2009)
11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews