Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark in linguistic research, 12 Jun 2009
By 
C. Wareham "the bass thing" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus) (Paperback)
This is the most important contribution to the field of sociolinguistics since the pioneering work of Chomsky in the late 1960s. Well known TV personality Roger Mellie has put his unparalleled knowledge of scatological verbiage to a use that has opened up entirely new vistas for language research. Admittedly, he did carry out the original research while at a bit of loose end, thanks to his suspension over an "open mike" incident that involved a comment about Germaine Greer's potential need for more regular interaction with the male member.

Psycholinguistics states that language shapes cultural development and identity. In that case, the English language as presented in the Profanisaurus suggests that the British have a highly developed interest in cheap pornography and fart gags. Our legendary coyness when it comes to discussing sexual matters is reflected in the numerous entries with metaphorical allusions to just about every sex act imaginable (and believe me, having perused this book I'm now aware of a few new ones).

Words and phrases unique to particular regions are well documented, a useful resource now that public broadcasters employ increasing numbers of presenters and announcers with varied dialects. For instance, without the Profanisaurus I would have been stumped when it was announced on BBC News 24 that Peter Andre's parting gift to Jordan was a "Cleveland Steamer" in their marital bed.

While academic in tone, I feel that the Profanisaurus still makes an excellent reference for the educated layman. Regular study will undoubtedly lead to an increased vocabulary, which could prevent those awkward moments when you need to describe something unusual. For example, it's only thanks to reading this book that I found myself able to satisfactorily explain a particularly filthy sexual act that I wished the wife to perform on me. Despite my succinctness she still refused though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the broadminded....., 24 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. S. Thomas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus) (Paperback)
Don't read this in company. I did, and annoyed the hell out of everyone with my incessant tittering and sniggering......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference source, 28 May 2009
By 
Robert C. Charley "Dr. Bob" (Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus) (Paperback)
An amazing source for all the terms I have come to know and love over the years, plus a lot more. I intend to try and learn a couple of new terms a week so that I can slip them into my daily dialogue, so that I can have a quiet laugh to myself as I use them.

Highly recommended to all profaniphiles out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magna Farta, 13 Mar 2009
By 
P. Cummings - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus) (Paperback)
The perfect book to put a smile on your face when you are feeling down in the dumps. Every time you pick it up it has you grinning from ear to ear. Highly recomended to break the monotony of every day life. Check out the following extract for an example of what to expect:
CLOSING TIME DONNER. - A well worn grotter that looks like a rushed and messily prepared Turkish cat sandwich. 'Lady Emma was powerless to resist. His eye burned into hers like a marble. His muscular arm enfolded her body as she felt herself being swept away in a gale of passion which measured a good five on the Beaufort wind force scale. She felt a thrill of forbidden pleasure as the Admiral pulled down her bloomers. 'Take me, Felatio,' she cried. 'Take me now!' 'Bloody hell, love,' said Lord Nelson, peering at her fanny through the wrong end of his brass telescope. 'What have you been up to whilst I've been away at sea engaging Napoleon's war fleet at Aboukir Bay in the Battle of the Nile? Your blurtch looks like a closing time donner." (from the Wife of the Ageing British Hero by Barbara Cartland).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A farrago of filth, 26 Jun 2010
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (Somewhere in the Jurassic...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus) (Paperback)
Oh dear god! I've only managed to finish the letter A (Aardvark's Nose to Aztec Two-Step) and I honestly don't think I can go on. I'm crying with laughter and my sides are aching. They say that the eskimos have 300 words for snow. Well, I think that it is a matter of national pride that the english speaking world has around 400 euphemisms for flatulence (Air Biscuit, Push Gas, Knock the Lid Off the Ark) . This compendium of filth has nigh on 500 pages of obscene euphemisms and it proves, if anything, that english must be one of the most versatile, ubiquitous languages in the world. At least as far as swearing is concerned.

This is not the sort of book to leave lying on the coffee table at Christmas when your granny comes round.

"Dropped Pie, Face Like a. Sim: To resemble one who has been bobbing for chips in a deep fat fryer."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profanisaurus, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Derek Hall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus) (Paperback)
You're never too old to learn, nor to expand your vocabulary. GSOH essential & not for the faint-hearted. Best taken in small doses at night-time - you'll laugh yourself to sleep!Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very rude but so funny, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus) (Paperback)
If you've read VIZ you will know what to expect from this book. Some of the descriptions are so funny I had to stop reading it as people were staring at me on the beach as I was laughing so much and embarrasing my wife.

For blokes it's a good 'toilet book', where you need something to read for about 5 - 10 minutes to pass the time (if you get my drift!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Used more than any of the books I should be using for work, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus) (Paperback)
So this is rude thesaurus, it is very funny and makes the work days more relaxed by looking for excuses to get the words into conversations or pointing out when others do it unintentionally!

If you want a cheap laugh and have a crude sense of humour, this book is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Farta, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus) (Paperback)
I have now purchased this book on various occasions and will probably buy more for friends thanks A * *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus) (Paperback)
This book has kept me and my mates amused for so long now, one in particular keeps saying the same joke over and over,can't say it here so buy it yourself and see !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb47b333c)

This product

Rogers Profanisaurus: The Magna Farta (Viz Rogers Profanisaurus)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews