Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turner's sea paintings, 11 Feb 2014
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turner & the Sea (Hardcover)
This fine volume is a tour de force of Turner's seascapes, accompanied by appropriate text that is accessible and readable. The book showcases Turner's work from the Academy paintings of the 1790s to the evocative paintings of his final years. Turbulence, churning waters, emotion: no-one captured the sea quite like Turner. Colour and brushwork are unsurpassed. Some details are provided of the paintings but most are shown relatively small. The authors examine Turner's maritime art in a series of essays. The book is divided into chapters headed: Charted Waters; M for Marine; Trafalgar Squared; Contested Waters; Turner on Show; Imaging the Sea; Making Waves; examining the role of Turner as an artist of maritime painting. Seascapes are my favourite paintings and no-one painted the sea quite as wondrously as Turner. This is a beautiful record of Turner's achievements and his representation of the sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and fascinating, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turner & the Sea (Hardcover)
Having visited the exhibition at the National Maritime Museum ( well worth a visit) I regretted not buying the paperback version of this (£25) at the show. Having bought the hardback on line for less I don't feel so bad (though I wish you pay more tax in the UK Amazon) It's an award winning guide and it is simply stunning. Beautifully illustrated and very well written for the relatively uninformed and expert alike it's much, much more than a coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turner and the Sea, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turner & the Sea (Hardcover)
An awe inspiring book. I dip into it for inspiration for my own work. I would recommend this to anyone interested in painting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Companion To The Exhibition, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turner & the Sea (Hardcover)
Of course nothing is like seeing the original paintings but this book will be very useful as a record of the wonderful exhibition at the National Maritime Museum. It also contains photos of works by Turner which are not in the exhibition. The text is easy to read and is accessible to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best English artist., 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turner & the Sea (Hardcover)
I would reccomend this collection to anyone wishing to view paintings of brilliance and atmosphere.
This is a book to look at againa nd again. There is always more to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of art work too, 18 Dec 2014
By 
joe (STAMFORD, Lincs, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turner & the Sea (Hardcover)
superb! Supremely enjoyable read, rich in character and detail of Turner the man and his practice. Good selection of art work too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a beautiful book. Bought it as a present but now ..., 7 Nov 2014
By 
S. Arnott "Escapee" (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turner & the Sea (Hardcover)
What a beautiful book. Bought it as a present but now I want to keep it, so I'll be ordering a second copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
By 
P. J. Gilbert - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turner & the Sea (Hardcover)
Superb publication for all art lovers especially devotees of Turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning artwork and wonderful commentary, 21 Feb 2014
By 
P. L. Tickell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turner & the Sea (Hardcover)
Turner's sea pictures are a wonder and this book does not disappoint. Like all Thames and Hudson work it is beautifully produced and a wonderful way to view all this body of work in one place prior to visiting the exhibition..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turner is just wonderful, 15 May 2014
By 
Lynne Lawrence (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turner & the Sea (Hardcover)
Beautiful book ,especially if you visited the Turner & the Sea exhibition in Greenwich . Really well written and some wonderful pictures of paintings that I had not seen before .The man was a genius .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turner and the Sea
Turner and the Sea by Richard Johns (Paperback - 21 Nov 2013)
Used & New from: £50.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews