Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll Have you Butler ?
Just bought this book for my Father-in-Law and he loves it, so much so that he keeps telling us about it every chapter, superb value for money, thank you.
Published 18 months ago by Mike Gray

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A weak companion
This book contains no new information that could not already be found free on the Internet or from the information supplied on the packaging of the On The Buses DVD releases. There is no real background material about how the show was put together and unbelieveably no stills are included from either the TV shows or feature films. The project is woefully inadequate and...
Published on 29 Dec. 2009 by David Chapman

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A weak companion, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
David Chapman (Newcatle Upon Tyne UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Buses: The Complete Story (Hardcover)
This book contains no new information that could not already be found free on the Internet or from the information supplied on the packaging of the On The Buses DVD releases. There is no real background material about how the show was put together and unbelieveably no stills are included from either the TV shows or feature films. The project is woefully inadequate and raises questions about why the author attempted to write it with obviously so little access to source material. A golden opportunity wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Express Service, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
Alex Bulgo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Buses: The Complete Story (Hardcover)
Considering we have waited 36 years for a book on this iconic series, I had high hopes. In fact, I was hoping for something along the lines of Robert Ross's excellent 'The Carry On Story' - rich in photos, behind-the scenes tidbits, clippings, cuttings and juicy ephemera. What I got instead was a bitter disappointment.

A book like this is unlikely to attract a casual buyer - you'd have to be a die-hard Luxton & District passenger to jump on board for the £13 ride. Sadly it misses out a lot of stops en route and when you reach the terminus you wonder what happened to the journey. About half the book is devoted to an episode guide, bios of bit-part players and rather too extensive credit lists for the main cast (Michael Robbins' consumes four pages, though if it were not double spaced and centred it might only use up two pages). Any die-hard fan will already know the episodes inside out and while the bit part players are of some interest, most of this information, as well as the main artist's CVs, are available free of charge on IMDB. Photographs are black and white, rather small to be of much use, and are all of the locations as they appear today. There are no stills from episodes or behind the scenes.

Ronalds Wolfe and Chesney contribute a fairly brief forward that has some interesting anecdotes, but beyond this there is little from the cast and crew. Yes, most of them are sadly no longer with us, but surely some archive interview material from magazines or newspapers exists that could be quoted? Where are interviews with Anna Karen and Stephen Lewis who are still with us? Memories from the making of the show? How about some production stills, or behind-the-scenes views? Surely Ms Karen or Mr Lewis have some to contribute? Call sheets, original scripts, clippings from archive TV Times?!! Funny stories during filming...Surely some material exists somewhere in the ITV vaults or the two Ronalds attics? For a source of interesting trivia you'd do better to log onto the On the Buses fansite - free of charge.
It all adds up to a rather simplistically written wasted opportunity and a rather lazy attempt a project that deserved better.

One for the completists only, but by no means the complete story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I 'ate your book, Walker!, 22 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Buses: The Complete Story (Hardcover)
When I heard there was going to be an 'On The Buses' book I was pleased as it is one of my favourite '70's sitcoms and there have been numerous works down the years praising the accomplishments of other shows so why not this one? I was disappointed with the finished result, however. Walker tells us that 'Buses' is the greatest sitcom of all time, but never backs up this extraordinary claim. Most of the tome is taken up with a run-of-the-mill episode guide which I could have got from I.M.D.B. for next to nothing. He does not review the individual episodes so we are left wondering what his favourites are. The rest is taken up with potted biographies and brief descriptions of the films and stage shows. Again the information is freely available elsewhere. He makes a number of contentious statements, such as the first 'Buses' movie having outgrossed 'Diamonds Are Forever' at the U.K. box-office. Its not the great achievement he makes out to be - the Bond film only opened at the very end of 1971 while Reg Varney and co. hit the big screens as far back as the summer. Richard Webber should have been the man to write this, check out his excellent 'Likely Lads' and 'One Foot In The Grave' volumes. If you must get this, make sure you don't pay more than you need to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just look it all up on Wikpedia !!, 7 May 2010
By 
J. Martin "Jon. Martin" (Worcester, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Buses: The Complete Story (Hardcover)
Really disappointed with this, just an extended version of Wikpedia. Dont waste your money, mine is going on E-Bay, wont be needing it again !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll Have you Butler ?, 31 Oct. 2013
This review is from: On the Buses: The Complete Story (Hardcover)
Just bought this book for my Father-in-Law and he loves it, so much so that he keeps telling us about it every chapter, superb value for money, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nothing new, 30 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: On the Buses: The Complete Story (Hardcover)
i was so looking forward to this book.i am a massive fan.this book was a waste of money and failed to give enough detailed background to the stars of the show.i was hoping for photographic eveidence from locations etc......... it failed to ring my bell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I 'Ate You Butler..., 8 Nov. 2009
By 
R. Reel "The Raven" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Buses: The Complete Story (Hardcover)
Ok. I was really looking forward to this long anticpated book about one of the greatest comedies of all time, but don't expect to much from this book.

At first i was thinking something on the lines of how the cast got on with each other, antidotes from behind the scenes, how it was filmed, what time they had to start filming, constrution of the sets etc.
Unlucky for some, it provides none of the above, instead it supplies you with information that you already know or could be found on the internet from On The Buses websites, Wikipedia or IMDB.

If your a newbie to the series, then this is your ideal companion, for us old stalwarts of the series it's just something that will sit on your shelves collecting dust....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Buses: The Complete Story (Hardcover)
Enjoyed this book although not what I thought it was. My mum has read it as well and also enjoyed it. Came on time and good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars if you want an on the buses book, 1 Dec. 2011
This review is from: On the Buses: The Complete Story (Hardcover)
..."then sweeteart this aint it".

Tragically, this is just wikipedia in paper format. Whereas yes the facts are there, they're not new facts, and they really do read like they've been plucked from the internet. Nothing from the cast at all sadly and NO PICTURES!!!. I found this:I 'Ate You Butler! - The Making of On the Buses: Behind the Scenes of Britain's Favourite Sitcom more interesting. Although both have a place on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better than others suggest !, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On the Buses: The Complete Story (Hardcover)
This was better than the other reviews suggested. Yes, a lot of the information is available elsewhere but what I wanted (and got) was a source reference book about a very good TV series.

My only gripe is the v. small photos of locations used (and as they are today), which are the size of post-War snaps. Perhaps there were budget constraints ?

As someone who likes trivia, this is a book that I will enjoy again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Buses: The Complete Story
On the Buses: The Complete Story by Craig Walker (Hardcover - 3 Oct. 2009)
Used & New from: £31.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
I 'Ate You Butler! - The Making of On the Buses: Behind the Scenes of Britain's Favourite Sitcom
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24)   
Buy new£14.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available

On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD]
On the Buses - The Complete Series [DVD] by Reg Varney (DVD - 2008)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (137)   
Buy new£22.00
In stock

An A to Z of on the Buses
An A to Z of on the Buses by Craig Walker (Paperback - 12 Feb. 2014)
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7)   
Buy new£15.99
In stock