Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING
Simon Gandolfi's Old Man On A Bike is a classic in every sense of the word, and it is one of the world's great motorcycle road trips. The story line in a nutshell is that Gandolfi (a Brit in his 70s) went to Mexico, bought a single-cylinder, 125cc Honda delivery bike, and pointed it south. "South" as in Tierra Del Fuego, the southernmost tip of South America.
I've...
Published on 18 July 2010 by Ancient Brit

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing in its content
I bought this for my husband at his request. He was fired with enthusiasm from an article he read in The Telegraph. He is totally disappointed in this book and literally had to struggle through it. He sums it up as a description of breakfast in many places. It is therefore not recommended.
Published on 17 Mar 2010 by Mrs. S. M. Crawford


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars My friend loved it!, 9 Feb 2013
By 
F. Hornby (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Man on a Bike (Paperback)
I was searching for a present for a friend's 70th birthday but was struggling to find something original and would not end up at the bottom of a drawer!

He enjoys time out on the open road on his motorbike, although he doesn't get out as much as he would like. He has also spent many holidays over the years enjoying travel by bicycle so I was sure he would enjoy this diary of another 70-year olds epic trip on his motorbike.

The present was very much appreciated and he enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Strange Read, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Man on a Bike (Paperback)
I found Simon's stile of writing more of an iventory at times all though the places visited were interesting and he did explain his feelings very well it was interesting to see how an older person coped with traveling on a small capacity motorcycle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old man on a bike, 31 Dec 2012
This review is from: Old Man on a Bike (Paperback)
If travelling is your thing, not just by motorcycle and not just to South America but by any means or any where this is a great read. Informative, funny and from a great perspective. If living life is measured by the hats you have worn and how many pairs of shoes you have worn through, then Simon Gandolfi is your man. Young and old read enjoy and saviour his book. He makes 70 the new 20, I cannot wait to read his second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good entertaining read, even for non bikers., 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Man on a Bike (Paperback)
Seems like a nice gutsy old fart and this may be the last travelling book that's in him, after all he's on heart medication and now pushing 80. Totally enjoyed the read. It was well written and very compulsive reading.
Recommended, even if you don't ride a bike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift., 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Man on a Bike (Paperback)
I bought this book for my Father in Law who turned 70 this year & is passionate about bikes. He's half way through & loving it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read of a marvellous journey!, 6 Sep 2012
This review is from: Old Man on a Bike (Paperback)
This was the first of a two-part travel series, and, for my money, the better part! I found it compelling, very interesting, and well written. The political commentary some have found 'grating' but, only confirmed to me what friends around the world have told me about how the UK is actually viewed by other nations...sadly...frequently less than complimentary..I can recommend this book over the return journey diatribe which was, perhaps best described as 'disappointing'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational read, 6 Sep 2012
This review is from: Old Man on a Bike (Paperback)
It took me a few pages to get into the authors style, but I soon became hooked, and found it hard to put down at night. The form is of a diary as most road trips inevitably are, but I soon grew fond of the spare, direct method which gave a momentum to the book.
Whether you share Simon's politics or not will probably determine how you react to his observations, but that is how I regarded them, what people said to him, and what they felt about the West, reported as fact.
As a would be motorcycle traveller I found this account inspirational, that he has completed this journey fairly late in life only adds to the sense of what is possible in ones own.
I have just ordered the sequel, 'Old Men Can't Wait' hoping for more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get the bigger picture!, 15 Aug 2012
This review is from: Old Man on a Bike (Paperback)
I haven't finished this book yet, but I have ordered the next chapter in Simon's travels before I do. Anyone who reads this but fails to see the immense experience of the journey has never really taken a journey, not every adventure has to be a series of rides between places with a stop over for food and large amounts of beer before racing on to the next place!

I like looking at the people and hearing their voices, through Simons eyes you get a great sense of the places, the people and the culture not a 'been there done that' tee shirt.

A Hemingway for the thinking biker! Keep riding, keep writing Old Man!

A great read and an inspiration to anyone who thinks they are too old - you never are until you die!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Nigel Grace "HBiker" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Man on a Bike (Paperback)
I have just started to read this book and can't put it down. The thought of riding so far on a 125cc Pizza Bike with so little kit and loads of enthusiasm, and aged 70+ should be an inspiration to all overlanders and bikers. You don't need a big bike, lots of kit and numerous sponsors to have a unique adventure.... (lots of gear and no idea is not the way)

Charming book - would love to meet you Simon..

Nigel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing book on a great subject, 22 Jun 2010
By 
B. E. C. Magnusson (Amsterdam, THe Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Man on a Bike (Paperback)
I didn't like the book and threw it in the bin half way through. A very interesting subject but the attititude of the author, his pervasive meekness and negativism just starts to get irritating after a while. I have a great interest in and read a lot of travel books and was very much looking forward to reading this one. A disappointing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Man on a Bike
Old Man on a Bike by Simon Gandolfi (Paperback - 1 Sep 2008)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews