Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty, eye-opening and addictive
I got my eagerly-awaited copy of Wasting More Police Time on Saturday and have just finished it (Sunday). It is truly addictive, though not what I had expected.
Unlike the first book, Wasting Police Time: The Crazy World of the War on Crime, this time police officers from all over the UK (and even some who have left the UK to work in the police overseas) give us...
Published on 26 Feb. 2012 by susie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the original
Thought this was ok but much preferred the original from PC David Copperfield. Can relate to much of what was said but some of the comments felt a little too much like 'swinging the lamp' and from many with not that much service either!
Published on 28 Dec. 2012 by Cheeky77


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this follow-up to PC Copperfield's 'Wasting Police Time', a large number of other police officers corroborate the assertions of PC Copperfield: The failings of the CPS, the bureaucracy, the penny-pinching savings, the shortcomings of equipment, and the political correctness gone wild. The authors make no bones about the fact that the policies of government(s), the social services, the judicial system, and the prison parole system are leading to reduced effectiveness of policing and resulting in serious and persistent criminals going unpunished.

The multitude of different authors all singing from the same songbook make this book more credible than its predecessor. Furthermore, the authors are drawn from police forces all over the UK, and the reader gets a better chance to understand their often very brave efforts to preserve law and order and help the public, sometimes under grisly and harrowing conditions. Reading this book will give you a better perspective of the police force and the work they do. Next time you get a speeding ticket for doing 80mph on a 70mph motorway, you'll understand that, in all likelihood, the policeman who nabbed you would much rather be after burglars, rapists, murderers and muggers, than sitting by the roadside helping his bosses tick 'crime solved' boxes for the government.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They can't all be wrong can they?, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting More Police Time (Paperback)
A collection of tales from officers of all ages, service lengths and forces - some sad, some tragic, some funny and some absurd. The common threads which run through them all is the unpredictability of police work and the frustration felt by front-line officers at the lack of support, and some times deliberate obstruction put in their way by their leaders, the CPS but most of all politicians, which prevents them from giving the level of service that they would like to the general public. The media love to carry stories about the supposed shortcomings of the police on an almost daily basis, but anyone who reads this books will quickly realise that the true blame lies elsewhere. As our politicians continue to seek more and more political control over British policing: meddling, "reforming" and hampering for no other reason than their own political ends, anyone who wonders why a once much-respected institution, admired and copied in countries all over the world, is now the butt of so much criticism should read this book. I know that coppers, just like soldiers, love to complain, but they can't all be wrong can they?

I wish someone would buy a copy for the Home Secretary and force her to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Different from the first book, as it's written by other officers. However, every home secretary should be made to read this before dismissing police officers claims of a fair deal for police pay!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye-opener, 13 April 2012
This review is from: Wasting More Police Time (Paperback)
I struggled a little to keep interested in the first book, so the style of this new one worked really well for me, a collection of short stories that you can pick up and read any time.

Some of the tales told are a real eye opener to what its really like to be on the frontline of policing in Britain. Others, particularly in the section about death were incredibly moving. It's a really entertaining and fascinating read, and one that should be read by anyone before commenting on the state of policing in the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad but probably true., 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It seems this is yet another target led profession that has been spoilt by people who would rather talk about how the job should be done rather than getting on with it. There are some very sad stories in this one and it makes you wonder why anyone would want to do this very difficult job. The police have certainly got my respect, and thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS GOOD AS THE FIRST BOOK, 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WASING POLICE TIME e book I could not put it down. My son is a police officer so I have more than a passing interest in the `force`. Full of humour but some very serious chapters. Good holiday reading as each chapter isnt too long. You can pick it up and put it down as you wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good follow up, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not a policeman, just someone who reads a lot of the police (and ambulance, doctor, etc.) blogs and agrees with a lot of what's written there.

The collection of reports and anecdotes here is both entertaining, sobering and moving. Very well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a waste of my time, 9 Jun. 2013
A good if not quite as good sequel to Wasting Police Time. I suppose there is a limit on the number of stories an author can come up with. But are all still funny and original. I noticed Police, Crime & 999 - The True Story of a Front Line Officer was reviewed next to a two star review of this book by the same reviewer. There is a conspiracy theory bigger than Roswell, that suspects the author of Police, Crime & 999 - John Donoghue. Is going around planting malicious reviews on competing books, whilst planting five star reviews on his own books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very true, 25 Oct. 2012
As a serving police officer I read this book laughing to myself and nodding in agreement. A lot of what is in here is so true its uncanny especially as I do not work in the same force as the author did.
If you are considering joining the police as a police officer I would definitely read it as it is more realistic than any police drama series you are ever going to see on the tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY STUFF !!, 23 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Wasting More Police Time (Paperback)
I LOVED READING THIS BOOK IT WAS FUNNY TO READ THE EVEN THE POLICE THINK THAT SOME OF JOB RESTRICTIONS ARE CRAZY.I LIKED HOW PC COPPERFIELD WROTE ABOUT THE CRIMINALS AND THERE SOMEWHAT STUPID REASONS FOR BREAKING THE LAW. I ALWAYS WANTED TO JOIN THE POLICE FORCE BUT MADE OTHER CHOICES INSTEAD AFTER READING THIS BOOK I WISH I HAD !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wasting More Police Time
Wasting More Police Time by David Copperfield (Paperback - 28 Feb. 2012)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews