Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
OCS is an enjoyable book, well written as usual. But Mr Dickens pads out the first half of the book with detailed character studies of numerous people who don’t really play a large part in the story. The characters are all fairly comic book.
Pretty little Nell is a pretty pretty 13 year old orphan girl who appears to be a perfect little angel. Her Gramps is an...
Published 6 months ago by Brainman60

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well read by Lesser but it is not my favourite Dickens
3.5 stars.

I try and audioread a Dickens or two every year. I'd been holding back on this one, it's not one I knew from films or culture and I knew it's a sad one.

its very long too, but its easy to relish Dickens' convoluted and well constructed sentences. I didn't find it so easy to like the main characters, Nell and her grandfather. Put upon, good...
Published 2 months ago by K. J. Noyes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Well read by Lesser but it is not my favourite Dickens, 16 Nov. 2014
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
3.5 stars.

I try and audioread a Dickens or two every year. I'd been holding back on this one, it's not one I knew from films or culture and I knew it's a sad one.

its very long too, but its easy to relish Dickens' convoluted and well constructed sentences. I didn't find it so easy to like the main characters, Nell and her grandfather. Put upon, good hearted and created for sympathy, I found their story mawkish and overly sentimental, though the audio narrator (though good) overly pushed this.

The minor characters were those I looked forward to seeing again - fantastically devilish Quilp, the Marchioness and the sniggersomely-named Dick Swiveller, and the Thenardier-like Brasses. They were great, some funny scenes, all much more lovely than Nell.

Nell is just too perfect and martyr-like. Never complaining, forgiving, drove me mad.

There's a lot of Victorian poverty here a mystery Gentleman whose identity these days would easily be guessed into the plot, but back them his role and would probably have been much more of a surprise.

It will never be one of my favourites, but I'm glad to be more familiar with it and some wonderful minor characters, who brought it to life and kept me listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, 28 July 2014
OCS is an enjoyable book, well written as usual. But Mr Dickens pads out the first half of the book with detailed character studies of numerous people who don’t really play a large part in the story. The characters are all fairly comic book.
Pretty little Nell is a pretty pretty 13 year old orphan girl who appears to be a perfect little angel. Her Gramps is an addict and has lost all his money. Nasty evil dwarf Quilp lends him money and forecloses on the Old Curiosity Shop. That’s pretty much the end of the shop in the story. Nell and Gramps run away and have some fairly dull adventures. Also there are lots of people, both good and evil, in hot pursuit. Eventually they settle down with a schoolteacher but the tribulations of the journey have taken their toll on poor little Nell’s health.

Meanwhile simple, honest, naive Kit, a friend of Nell, is stitched up by the evil dwarf Quilp and sentenced to be transported overseas. Of course he is exonerated by dint of the intervention of a tiny, uneducated but street-wise servant girl and a cockney geezer. At the end there are the usual long lost relatives etc

It’s readable. It’s too long. It’s too sentimental in places. But it’s worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it is a shorter version of the original book from Charles Dickens however still well written and easy to read, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Old Curiosity Shop (Real Reads) (Paperback)
I will reccommend this book to any children, it is a shorter version of the original book from Charles Dickens however still well written and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adaptations, 15 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Old Curiosity Shop (Real Reads) (Paperback)
Lovely adaptation. My 9 year old son. ..a reluctant reader. ..loved it. I'd been wanting to introduce him to Dickens and this was perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis, 25 Feb. 2009
Described as a "tragedy of sorrows", the tale tells of Nell, uprooted from a secure and innocent childhood and cast into a world where evil takes many shapes, including Swiveller, Nubbles and the lecherous dwarf Quilp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Old Curiosity Shop (Real Reads)
The Old Curiosity Shop (Real Reads) by Charles Dickens (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2012)
£4.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews