Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read...
- really interesting personal history - not just for football followers or fans of the teams he has been associated with - although it does provide an interesting insight into what goes on behind the scenes.
Published on 14 July 2010 by J. Doyle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If it goes wrong blame the ref
Ian Holloway is a fascinating character with an interesting life. He has coped admirably with a lot of difficulties including bringing up three profoundly deaf daughters and helping his wife through cancer.

He is magnificently self deprecating on so many things that he has faced in life and brutally honest about so much, notably how a small amount of fame went...
Published on 16 Mar 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read..., 14 July 2010
By 
J. Doyle (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ollie: The Autobiography of Ian Holloway (Autobiography/Personalities) (Paperback)
- really interesting personal history - not just for football followers or fans of the teams he has been associated with - although it does provide an interesting insight into what goes on behind the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If it goes wrong blame the ref, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ian Holloway is a fascinating character with an interesting life. He has coped admirably with a lot of difficulties including bringing up three profoundly deaf daughters and helping his wife through cancer.

He is magnificently self deprecating on so many things that he has faced in life and brutally honest about so much, notably how a small amount of fame went to his head so badly and nearly cost him his future wife.

If only he could accept that sometimes his teams can lose on merit it would be a brilliant book. But he feels the need to settle so many scores with ex-chairmen and to blame virtually every defeat on bad refereeing decisions. That is what ruins this book. Ian, it's only a game and it's given you a great living.

Enjoy the story of his life, and the anecdotes about his friends, skip over the bitterness and you will really enjoy the book and respect the ability of the man. Read it all and you end up liking Ian Holloway a little less. What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars average for a man who is so way above average, 17 Feb 2011
By 
LOB (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ollie: The Autobiography of Ian Holloway (Autobiography/Personalities) (Paperback)
Ian Holloway is one of the best managers in Britain, the funniest, cleverest most insightful. So why isn't the book. I couldn't believe what I was reading. I love this man, I hate this book. It's dull. It couldn't be duller. I don't get it. I have read a zillion football books. This has few redeeming qualities.. I don't know who wrote it, it can't be Ollie, sorry I hate being negative, but hopefully someone else will rewrite this after his first Premier League campaign. Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease.. there are so many stories to be told - properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Calls a spade a spade !, 24 Jun 2010
By 
CJ (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ollie: The Autobiography of Ian Holloway (Autobiography/Personalities) (Paperback)
Good insight into one of today's football characters - always told with honesty, but also a good deal of dignity and respect, something lacking in most football people today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Blue, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ian Holloway is still a true GAshead and loved by Rovers fans worldwide. I bought this book in 2007 when it first came out and now I own a kindle I have it on here too. A must read for all football fans and not just from the blue side of BRistol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Ollie: The Autobiography of Ian Holloway (Autobiography/Personalities) (Paperback)
I don't normally enjoy autobiographies but I really enjoyed this one. Ian's honest character comes through and you can imagine him talking as you read it. I only wish there were more like him in football. Proper job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars honest insight into Olly's life, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From player to manager, Olly has tried to play fair with humour. Juggling football with a busy home life, dealing with babies to chairmen. X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No dislikes
Once I picked it up it was hard to put down.
I wish you and your family all the best for the future .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NOT FULLY UPDATED, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this to read as I thought by the front cover this was FULLY UPDATED which it is not !!!
Got a cheek to say this when it is only written up to 2009 which is 4 years out of date and feel like I should ask Amazon for a refund.
That was my only disappointment as it's a great read and I actually felt sorry for Ian as he has been through so much. I hope Palace stay up for him this season !!! :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must to read - put it to the top of your to read list.
Ian Holloway is a really funny guy and there are passages in this book that will have you in knots. But there is a deadly, competitive streak in Ian too which he goes into depth about too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ollie: The Autobiography of Ian Holloway (Autobiography/Personalities)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews