Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An accessible guide and friendly read for any performer, 6 Dec. 2007
By 
A. Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So You Want to Tread the Boards: The Everything-you-need-to-know, Insider's Guide to a Career in the Performing Arts (Paperback)
This book is jam packed with literally everything you need to know to become a performer, and is probably the only book of its kind that covers the three disciplines in such detail- acting, singing and dancing. It is refreshing to read a book from the perspective of a young actor, who has experienced all the worries and struggles for herself. Her writing is friendly, practical and honest and jam packed with up to date websites, recommended song lists and overused audition material. It covers everything from how to present yourself at an audition to dealing with personal issues such as unsupportive parents. The author never skirts around the issue of just how hard the industry is, especially during a time where auditions are becoming scarcer due to reality TV and celebrity casting. However, with the helpful and honest advice offered in this book, the young performer can discover what they need to do to give themselves the best possible chance. For the young drama school aspirant, the worried graduate, the disillusioned professional and the concerned parent- this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any aspiring actor, 8 Dec. 2007
This review is from: So You Want to Tread the Boards: The Everything-you-need-to-know, Insider's Guide to a Career in the Performing Arts (Paperback)
Acting is your passion, but how to make it your career? This author has been there, done that, (literally) borrowed the "I'm the star and you know it" T-Shirt, and now writes the book. Experienced enough to offer a balanced view, yet still close enough in age to recall her training days and empathise with teenage readers, Reischel covers just about everything the aspiring thespian may wish to know.

The book mixes practical and personal advice, organised in handily bite-sized sections.General topics like choosing your school, finding funding, the cost of everything from clothing to lessons and living in London are dealt with before moving on to more individual needs. These include audition piece suggestions - play and musical - with tips on how to handle auditions themselves, how to find good tutors and even a little on important matters like tax and visa requirements for working abroad. Alternative careers both in and allied to the industry also get a mention, and a glossary of theatre terms should prove useful to those who don't know their 'stage right' from left. Most originally, the tricky subject of convincing loved ones that acting really is a suitable a job as any other is covered in depth - and should prove helpful to both auditionee and concerned family members.

Perhaps the only omissions are the darker side of the business. Dealing with the stress of continuous unemployment, obsessive fans (even the least well known have awkward encounters at stage doors), and warning of issues surrounding unwise career choices early on ("I was young, I needed the money" has a nasty way of biting later) might have been useful. A mention of practical safety tips for travelling home late after a show or visiting unknown audition places might have gone down well in the London section too, but these are minor items in a book which covers practically everything else.

Grounded and sensible advice which, as the writer stresses, isn't prescriptive but assistance 'from one professional to those who ask' is the strength of this publication. Lightened by accounts of her own attractively scatty experiences at auditions, Jennifer Reischel has penned a "must read" for anyone wanting act professionally, and a "must buy" for anyone seeking a gift for the stage-struck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend it 100%, 13 Feb. 2008
By 
B. M. Powell (Colchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So You Want to Tread the Boards: The Everything-you-need-to-know, Insider's Guide to a Career in the Performing Arts (Paperback)
This book is clear, concise and very helpful. It gives useful advice and several answers to the questions that plague those looking to move forward into the performing arts business, written by someone who's been there and done it.

I'd recommend it to anyone who's interested in making a career of performer or those who are currently in performing arts and seeking ways to further their career.

Very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book, 18 Oct. 2010
This review is from: So You Want to Tread the Boards: The Everything-you-need-to-know, Insider's Guide to a Career in the Performing Arts (Paperback)
This book is absolutely wonderful, covering all aspects of the performing industry and answering any and all questions potential actors, singers or dancers may have. It's written in a very down to earth way, by a drama school graduate who has been through the system herself and knows how it works. I would definitely recommend this book to aspiring performers from early teens upwards. I'm 14, and loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The performer's AMAZING all-you-need-to-know guide!!, 4 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So You Want to Tread the Boards: The Everything-you-need-to-know, Insider's Guide to a Career in the Performing Arts (Paperback)
Jennifer Reischel is my lifesaver. She covers everything essential for a performer to know in a clear, concise and competent way. For someone like me, whose training was very thin on the information provided about the performing industry in general, this book is literally a performer's all-you-need-to-know guide. Covering auditions (for drama school and professional work), to required repertoire (musical and dramatic), required experience and knowledge, information about the performance capital itself London, and a WHOLE lot more, I now have gone from a lost performer without a clue of really where to start to become a professional, to having a much clearer idea of what I need to do, how long it will take, where I need to be and when to start ("yesterday"!). I definitely recommend this book to anyone even a little interested in the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book!, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So You Want to Tread the Boards: The Everything-you-need-to-know, Insider's Guide to a Career in the Performing Arts (Paperback)
This book covers absolutely everything you need to know about the performing arts industry. I highly recommend it to anybody seeking to make a career in the arts. When it arrived I was surprised at how big the book actually was and If i'm honest I was unsure whether I would be bothered to read the whole thing! (I'm not really a "reader" myself!) But once i'd started I could not put it down. Its full of great tips and really useful information. A definite must-read in my eyes. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive, 21 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So You Want to Tread the Boards: The Everything-you-need-to-know, Insider's Guide to a Career in the Performing Arts (Paperback)
Gift for an aspiring dancer. It looks like 'everything you ever wanted to know....but didn't dare ask' Niche market, but an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So You Want to Tread the Boards: The Everything-you-need-to-know, Insider's Guide to a Career in the Performing Arts (Paperback)
Great for those looking to go to drama school or starting out in the industry.
Would recommend it especially to young performers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

So You Want to Tread the Boards: The Everything-you-need-to-know, Insider's Guide to a Career in the Performing Arts
So You Want to Tread the Boards: The Everything-you-need-to
-know,
by Jennifer Reischel (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2007)
Used & New from: £22.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews