Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to a Non-Interested Reader
Although I had NO interest in Metallica whatsoever other than a few of their songs, a friend convinced me to buy this book whilst I was in Edinburgh for the long flight home. It helped to further pique my interest to discover that, at that time, the Waterstones book store had this on display in their "Books We Love" section. I bought it, read it and was surprised to...
Published on 8 May 2012 by WrittenWordLover

versus
40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Believe the negative reviews!
I wish I had read the negative reviews before buying this book because they are spot on. The basic structure of the book is like this:

James Hetfield is born. Metallica release an album, they tour a lot. Metallica release another album, they tour a lot. Metallica release another album, they tour a lot...

That's really all there is to it. I expected...
Published on 19 May 2010 by G. James


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Believe the negative reviews!, 19 May 2010
By 
G. James "grantjames" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door (Paperback)
I wish I had read the negative reviews before buying this book because they are spot on. The basic structure of the book is like this:

James Hetfield is born. Metallica release an album, they tour a lot. Metallica release another album, they tour a lot. Metallica release another album, they tour a lot...

That's really all there is to it. I expected an account of James Hetfield's life, not a vague history of Metallica. Each track on every album is commented on, yet only 2 or 3 have any significance to Hetfield's life story, the rest is just there to fill pages.

Also, I expected an impartial viewpoint throughout the book, but it's clear that the author is a thrash metal fan who was unwilling to accept the style of their later music, and so just slags the band off left, right and centre when telling the story of their later years. If I wanted to hear opinions on their albums, I would have bought a music review magazine, not a biography.

The only original parts of the book that aren't lifted from past interviews are where the author has spoken to the people close to Hetfield. However, he must have asked the same vague question to every person - "What do you think about James Hetfield?" Every response is also the same - he's a very quiet person who finds it difficult to trust people, and not like the beast he portrays on stage. I got bored of reading this view point after the 5th time.

Overall, I really gave this book a chance to get good, but found reading the second half of the book a chore. Every chapter is just a repeat of the previous one and I don't feel like the book progresses through Hetfield's life at all. It just vaguely follows Metallica, and every now and then throws in a comment from someone about James.

Reading the Wikipedia article about him is more informative, enjoyable to read, and free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars felt a bit pointless, 2 Jun. 2010
This review is from: James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door (Paperback)
Don't get me wrong im a huge fan of metallica and james is one of the most talanted people around in the music business, but this biography just do not give you an insight into james life or that of metallica.
If you read joel mciver's (justice for all) there is hardly any point in buying this, even though joel is very narrow minded when it comes to metallicas music he did have a lot of good facts in his book.
The thing that dissapointed me the most was the repitition of the frase " james was really shy when he was young but really grounded" this frase or something similar is repeated all over the book and becomes very annoying. Mark Eglington does have a true love for his subject and that shows, but he just don't have enough material to write a book about James Hetfield.
Im sorry for having to give this rather bad review of the book but it just don't hold water, credit to the author should be given for the fact that a portion of the profit will go to cancer research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING METALLICA FANS: DO NOT BUY, 28 Feb. 2011
This review is from: James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door (Paperback)
This is so bad, that I will not waste space saying that the "author" has no idea since he never actually meets or interviews the subject of his "book". I will sum it up with the following 2 statements / opinions:

1. The "author" considers "The Thing That Should Not Be" a bad song

2. The "author" states that "Stone Cold Crazy" is a Motorhead song!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to a Non-Interested Reader, 8 May 2012
By 
This review is from: James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door (Paperback)
Although I had NO interest in Metallica whatsoever other than a few of their songs, a friend convinced me to buy this book whilst I was in Edinburgh for the long flight home. It helped to further pique my interest to discover that, at that time, the Waterstones book store had this on display in their "Books We Love" section. I bought it, read it and was surprised to discover my interest growing as I went along. I wasn't a big Metallica fan prior to reading this book but now I look at James Hetfield and the band in a different, kinder light and must say that I did enjoy reading it. Something else I determined (because I was curious as to why there was so much discography in a biography) was that the books put out by this particular publisher all had that format and so I think that they must have required the author to include that in the book. There is material in this book that isn't found in any other publication that I could find (i.e. input from Hugh Tanner - childhood friend of Hetfield who also contributed to some of Metallica's early songs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very sketchy biography, 27 May 2010
By 
S. PRICE (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door (Paperback)
Unfortunately this book quickly turns from an attempted hetfield biography into a poor metallica biography, constantly quoting from another actual metallica biography book. The authors opinion of certain metallica albums/songs also becomes very tiresome after a while too. After reading the glaring error of metallica covering motorheads (!?!) stone cold crazy halfway through the book I lost any faith about the author and trudged through the rest reluctantly. Not a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No stars but couldnt say that!!!, 26 April 2012
By 
Haz666 (South lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door (Paperback)
i am extremely disappointed with this product.

that seller was great but the item overall was a hugh let down.
you can not say this is a biography of james hetfield at all in no way shape or form!!! yeah you hear about his childhood which i already knew about after reading enter night. but after his childhood all he ever says about james is everyone elses opinions on him when they first met and the only thing he says is that he is quiet in hundreds of different ways.

this book should no where near be this big as in every chapter the author is not talking about the personal life of james he is just going on about each track in every album and how bad all the tracks are after the black album.

he does mention what james has done eg kids marriage rehab but he doesnt go into depth with anything about james which in my opinion is what a biography should be not about the songs they wrote.

i havent even finished the book im on the 14th chapter out of 17 and i got so angry at the author with the way he slags off the songs that i had to tell everyone not to buy this book it awful.

i was expecting this book to go into great detail about the feelings of the events of what has happened over the time of being with metallica eg the tragic death of cliff burton r.i.p and the passing of his mum and dad and later his marriage kids and especially when he went into rehad but nothing just the mention of it as if its like of and this year james went to rehab then all about the songs again.

anyway i will be finishing the book only because i have got this far and not stopping but i will never be reading a book from this author ever again and i hope metallica see it and are extremely angry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 2 May 2010
By 
J. Winder (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door (Paperback)
I hoped this book would give some insight to James Hetield but all
Mark Eglinton seemed to do was lift comments & articals from other peoples books & DVD's. I managed to get half way through the book before it became a bit of a farce, repeating the fact that Hetfield was "down to earth" over and over again. It brushed over major points in his career but going in to detail on songs that the author didn't like like some digruntaled music critic that didn't get a free ticket for a show. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 7 May 2010
By 
T. Reid "reids reads" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door (Paperback)
i was so looking forward to this book i even pre orderded, i wanted to read about the man that is james hetfield instead i got a book about who produced what album, how each song was played and nothing really about hetfield himself, we all know what a great muscian he his and didn't need a book 204 pages long devoted to how he play's his guitar. Im afraid i couldn't finish this book and it has been resigned to the shelf to gather dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Justice, and a good read, for all, 3 Jun. 2010
By 
Peter Miller (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door (Paperback)
Got a hold of this new book in UK in April, was not available in US at that time.

Very enjoyable read and good to see the author getting some interviews with Hetfield's contemporaries. The first chapters gives an introduction to a young JH and then next chapters detail the early Metallica years where you can feel the hard work and dedication the band put in to become successful.

You can sense the authors dissappointment in the direction that JH and Metallica took in the later 90's but it does not detract from a good read. However it is a happy ending as the author champions the most recent successes of the man, the band and the music.

Great value at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Research????, 13 Jun. 2011
This review is from: James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door (Paperback)
This badly written book is a disgrace to journalism. The author continually gives his opinion of Metallica songs as if they are fact, he's entitled to his opinion but I did not get this book to hear his opinions and reviews.

This was bad enough however about halfway through I noticed he claimed the song Blitzkrieg was a Diamond Head cover which it isn't. He also claims the Queen song Stone Cold Crazy is a Motorhead song. Surely to write a book you should have a rudimentary knowledge of the subject matter Mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door
James Hetfield: The Wolf At Metallica's Door by Mark Eglinton (Paperback - 22 April 2010)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews