Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's a new Sheriff in town!
The perfect introduction to the UK's classic trail hotspots!
It contains a wealth of rides suited to all levels and several of the hardcore must-do's including Snowdon's "The Ranger Path", one of, if not, the best descent for UK trail riders.
It has rides from the south of England, Wales, and right up the spine of the UK into northern Scotland; and even...
Published 6 months ago by neil cottam

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
maps are not as clear and user friendly as I expected
Published 3 months ago by Stan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's a new Sheriff in town!, 22 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Great Britain Mountain Biking: The Best Trail Riding in England, Scotland and Wales (Paperback)
The perfect introduction to the UK's classic trail hotspots!
It contains a wealth of rides suited to all levels and several of the hardcore must-do's including Snowdon's "The Ranger Path", one of, if not, the best descent for UK trail riders.
It has rides from the south of England, Wales, and right up the spine of the UK into northern Scotland; and even throws in a few curve balls like the Isle of Man, Isle of Skye, Isle of Harris and The Isle of Wight, just for good measure. Basically, all of the UK's prime riding destinations, and then some more. There is plenty to whet the appetite.
Each ride is graded sensibly in either blue, red, or black, to indicate it's level of seriousness.
Plenty of information on local amenities, maps, accommodation, and a useful little "worth knowing" information for each area. They have even included some notes on local Trail Centre's.
I'm familiar with some of the rides and the accuracy of information provided is spot on, so I can assume that this will be the case for all of the rides.
Once you have done a few of these you can always buy one of Vertebrate's area guides to explore a particular area in more detail, I can certainly recommend, through personal experience, their White & Dark Peak District, and Lake District guides
As a traveller, and travel writer, I have come across my fair share of guide books and everything from the Vertebrate stable is first class. And not just their guide books either, check out Jerry Moffatt's autobiography "Revelations", it's one the most inspiring books that I have ever read.

Because of this my list of rides to-do has increased considerably, and it was pretty long in the first place!

It's even given me the perfect excuse, if I ever needed one, to visit my Sister on The Isle of Wight.
This excellent book contains more than enough rides to satisfy even the most ardent of trail hounds, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent guide to mountain biking across the UK, 16 July 2014
By 
T. Wilson (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Britain Mountain Biking: The Best Trail Riding in England, Scotland and Wales (Paperback)
This is an excellent guide to mountain biking across the UK. It doesn't matter if you’re a beginner or a seasoned rider looking to explore new regions. This comprehensive guide will whet your appetite with plenty of route suggestions. The very clear route diagrams uses proper OS maps which is great. These are accompanied by loads of good useful info on food, accommodation etc. Although only one main ride is described for many areas, once you factor in 40 areas, 56 fully detailed routes plus more basic route recommendations there’s plenty to keep you busy for a lot of weekends exploring new places. These guys haven't just drawn a route on a map and put it in a book. They've got out in the mud, rain, snow so when they recommend a route they know what they are talking about.
If being really picky, the over-view map at the beginning is a bit confusing, as the route numbers start off matching the routes in the book, but later on they don't match up as in some areas there is more than one route numbered. And it's the first time I've seen the Malvern Hills included in Northern England! There is complete lack of rides for central and Eastern England, though this is more down to the relative lack of hills and National Parks in these areas, which the authors can't be blamed for! As they suggest this is a book aimed at weekends away and given the choice you’re not likely going to head to Norfolk for a weekend mountain biking. The guide is a bit chunky to carry on the ride (and too nice to get wet and muddy) so you may want to photocopy the route descriptions.
These are minor points, more importantly like all the best guides it is slightly contradictory. Once you start reading it, quite quickly you feel the need to put in down, and get out there and ride your bike, speaking of which......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview guidebook, 30 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Great Britain Mountain Biking: The Best Trail Riding in England, Scotland and Wales (Paperback)
Having been impressed by Vertebrate's climbing guides and mountaineering books, it was great to discover their range of mountain biking books as well. This one offers an excellent overview of the diverse and extensive trail riding found across the UK, and is beautifully printed with many high-quality photos. Another really nice feature is that the book includes an OS map for each trail, so all you need to do is take a photo of this on your phone and you're good to go - no need to buy a new map for every area you visit.

As with all guides that cover massive areas, this one just details the classic trails in each location and you would probably still want a detailed local guide if you were planning to do a lot of riding in one area. However, having just moved cities, it's been great to have an introductory book to get out with and provide inspiration for future trips to not-yet-visited areas.

Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only UK mountain bike guidebook you will ever need?, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Great Britain Mountain Biking: The Best Trail Riding in England, Scotland and Wales (Paperback)
Vertebrate Graphics have been the benchmark for mountain bike guidebooks for the last few years and this recent pulication raises the bar further. Although there are various UK guides for trail centres this is, as far as I am aware, the only UK guide covering all the major 'off-piste' areas in a single volume. The book oozes quality, from the stunning photos to the high resolution OS mapping. The routes are well thought out and have masses of useful 'beta' just where you need it. This is the ultimate road trip companion and showcases the UK scene in a way no other guidebook has to date. The authors have obviously put in a tremendous effort in producing probably the single greatest mountain biking guidebook ever to hit the shelves! Not the cheapest guidebook but the sheer volume more than justifies its cost. If you only buy one guide make sure it is this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview guide to British riding, 12 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Great Britain Mountain Biking: The Best Trail Riding in England, Scotland and Wales (Paperback)
When I pick up a new guide book, and this was no different, the process goes something like this. I cut straight to areas I know well, and rides I've already done. Have they put in my favourite rides? What do they say about them? Are the directions any good? Then there are a few days of browsing in snatched moments, picking out rides I want to do and areas I want to visit. I want a book to leave me wanting to bin work and go riding instead (even though I can't).

There were no problems for this guide on either point. All my favourite rides are in here, described as I would describe them. All that is missing is the more "cheeky" stuff, which is hardly surprising! One thing that really impressed me was the attention to detail regarding not just where you should ride, but when you should ride it. If a route is a bike-eating swamp in winter it says so. As well as the main ride in each area each section has suggestions of other rides nearby; these are worth reading as there are some gems tucked away, and nods towards any nearby trail centres.

So far I've only done a couple of new rides out of the book, but they were brilliant and I didn't get lost. Browsing through the book left me planning hypothetical road trips around the UK, so it must be good! Appetite: whetted.

Downsides? Well it's not really a guide for the camelbak (lots of rides = a big book!) so I've been photocopying the directions and taking those instead. Also, while it's comprehensive enough to get you round the best rides in an area for a weekend visit, if you're staying for longer you probably want one of the local guides as well.

In summary, this is the whole-of-Britain guidebook you've been waiting for. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase for anyone who love their wild riding., 20 April 2014
By 
John H (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great Britain Mountain Biking: The Best Trail Riding in England, Scotland and Wales (Paperback)
Sumptuous to look at, as authoritative as we've come to expect from Vertebrate Publishing and packed full of mouth-watering routes, this is the UK mountain biking guide we've been waiting for. Covering every conceivable mountain biking hotspot and a few surprises like the Isle of Man, this guide includes not only detailed descriptions of the best rides in a given area but a wealth of further information including where to stay, bike hire and bike shops. Very much modelled on the long running series of Vertebrate area guides, the featured rides include both a description, an Ordnance Survey map and a blue, red or black grade. Further riding is cross-referenced to the aforementioned area guides. Tom Fenton and Andy McCandlish's text is informative, amusing and inspiring and has left me with a long list of desert island rides. The photography, much of it by John Coefield, is enough to make you hanker to get the bike out of the garage. If you're planning on a road trip this year, take this guide with you - you never know what adventures it will lead to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality just gets better, 30 April 2014
By 
S. M. Perry (Staffordshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Britain Mountain Biking: The Best Trail Riding in England, Scotland and Wales (Paperback)
As an experienced mountain biker who is always looking for the next trail I've come to rely on Vertebrate's guides over the years to offer insight into new areas to explore. I quite often take groups of other riders out ranging from newbies to experienced trail riders and these books are always my first port of call.

This guide is no exception with it's stunning photography and detailed descriptions coupled with clear Ordnance Survey mapping is the perfect companion on any ride.

As I'm a graphic designer by trade I am super-critical of the design and layout of any books that I buy but again, as the Vertebrate team focus a lot of their time and effort in this area I think that it really sets them above any other in this area, too.

If you like mountain biking or are thinking of giving it a go then buy this guide, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's the next year's cycling sorted then, 13 May 2014
By 
Dave Barter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Britain Mountain Biking: The Best Trail Riding in England, Scotland and Wales (Paperback)
Tom and Andy have produced a stunning guide to mountain biking in the UK with beautiful photography, excellent layout and clear/concise route directions. The use of OS mapping makes it simple to transcribe the routes and each location comes complete with a shed load of useful information for the biker intending to take on a ride.

BUT, the guide is much more than this. Tom and Andy's enthusiasm for the rides is there in spades. The photos make you want to get out there. The text is not the usual, dry "go left go right" you can hear the two guides egging you on to complete the loop. I was supposed to spend the next twelve months on my road bike, but it's gathering dust as I thumb through the guide and make plans.

Bin the trail centre rides. Get the maps out and let Tom and Andy show you where the good stuff is really to be found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Britain Mountain Biking: The Best Trail Riding in England, Scotland and Wales (Paperback)
maps are not as clear and user friendly as I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Britain Mountain Biking: The Best Trail Riding in England, Scotland and Wales
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews