Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written book, 5 stars, 3 Mar. 2012
By 
Dr. N. Hollingworth (bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freedom Climbers (Paperback)
Bernadette McDonald has crafted both an informative and compelling book about polish climbers in the golden years of himalayan climbing when they dominated the scene. Bernadette also addresses the drive and philosophy of polish climbers during this period which is very interesting compared to western climbing attitudes. As such the history and background of Poland plays a significant part of undelying characteristics of many of the driven Polish climbers, and Bernadette skillfully draws these facts into the narrative throughout.
Beautifully written, it was one of the best books on mountaineering that I have ever read and well deserves the Boardman Tasker Award. It will remain an important record of Polish Mountaineering during this period.

One request: Please convince Voytek to spend some time with Bernadette and publish a book with his experience. It would be different to this book as Voytek sought international climbing partners like Alex MacIntyre and his small team, lean and fast Alpine approach was seed to most of the modern approaches to climbing big mountains. His canny instincts of backing off routes when he sensed danger also would be worth drawing out as he is one of only a few who survived this intense period of mountaineering from the Polish climbing scene.

Nigel Hollingworth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom Climbers (Paperback)
Couldn't put the book down. Must read for the enthusiasts of mountaineering books.
This book presents some of the greatest climbers in the history of climbing & for me the best climber ever: Jerzy Kukuczka.
The book not only shows their great achievements & first winter ascents in the hardest conditions possible, but also the reality of their daily lives in communist regime.
The author had done a great research about the climbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escapist, gripping and well-researched read, 13 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Freedom Climbers (Paperback)
As a non-climber but somebody interested in the lure of the outdoors, I wasn't sure how I would find this book. It opens by setting the Polish historical backdrop behind the main events. Before long, I was hooked by the fast-paced narrative. The style is very readable and becomes more poetic as the author gains insights into and understanding of this group of Polish climbers . As well as describing relevant expeditions, and the ups and downs of climbing, the text digs deeper to explore the internal and external motivation and conflicts of Polish climbers, including Voytek Kurtyka, Jerzy 'Jurek' Kukuuczka and Wanda Rutkiewicz. It also explores some gender issues relating to the ground broken and records set by female Polish climbers of this era. The text is well-researched and well-structured.
If you like photos, buy the hard copy rather than the Kindle version. I didn't spot the photos until I reached the end of the text and I would definitely have flicked back to them earlier in the paper version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mountaineering Books, 9 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom Climbers (Paperback)
Very surprised when I read this book. I'd read the usual reviews but I must admit Freedom Climbers is a different take on the Himalayas history of climbing the high mountains. The first chapter advises the reader how the Polish climbers faced austerity and fashioned the future climbing challenges of this excellent climbers. Truly inspirational, awesome book ... I couldn't put the book down until I got to the back cover. A must for any mountaineering buff x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read!, 26 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Freedom Climbers (Paperback)
Just finished reading this truly inspirational book – I would highly recommend it!

The astonishing achievements, the hardships and in 80% of the cases the tragic end of some of Poland’s (and the world’s) most successful, strong and determined climbers, despite their home country being in chaos.

This book tells their story fighting for their dreams alongside some of Poland’s heart-breaking historic past in an informative and beautifully written manner - I was addicted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom Climbers (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book for climbers. Well written and engaging. Opened up the world of Polish climbing it the 70's and 80's. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom Climbers (Paperback)
Good book...perfect present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom Climbers (Hardcover)
All good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freedom Climbers
Freedom Climbers by Bernadette McDonald (Paperback - 20 Feb. 2012)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews