Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mountain Biking At Its Best, 17 Dec 2008
By 
S. Tilly "mackemsteve" (Darlo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails (Paperback)
This is a superb guide book. Written by someone who clearly knows his stuff, the routes are clearly and concisely described and the mapping is excellent, being proper OS maps. The routes cover everything from a quick after-work blast to epic all day killers. They take in some of the North Yorkshire Moors' finest scenery, have plenty of ups, plenty of downs and cover many of the best bits of singletrack to be found in this area. What you won't find in the book are too many scarily technical descents (though there's plenty to test your skill and nerve) or a lot of man-made forest sections - for the most part it's open moorland and stunning vistas. The routes take in many of the area's most famous landmarks, tracks, villages and dales, some of which are amongst the most tranquil places you could find.
The proof of the pudding is in the riding, and I've ridden almost all of these routes and can say that you'd be hard-pressed to find better ones. An added bonus is the list of refreshment stops to be found on or near the routes. A nice cup of tea and a scone after a hard day in the saddle is always appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guidebook, 22 July 2010
This review is from: North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails (Paperback)
I bought this book looking for an introduction to the area after having bought other guide books from the same publisher. Haven't been disappointed at all. As a rider of intermediate skill, I appreciate the balanced descriptions of the challenges on each route and I can be well prepared for any bits I may feel more comfortable walking if not riding at my best. There is a good mix of routes, both in length and in level of challenge, plus good clear mapping based on the OS maps so the routes are easy to follow. I like the way the routes are set out - a brief introduction with a tempting picture of the ride, the map and then good, clear instructions for the route itself. The grading seems about right as well to give an overall feel for the route.
It has served well as an introduction to the area and served as a spark for exploring a few tracks not mentioned in the book. Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 April 2011
This review is from: North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails (Paperback)
A well written book that's easy to follow. The routes are clearly defined on the os maps within. The range and amount of routes is also very good. The size of the book is just right to fit into the side pocket of a rucksack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better value than the "Walks Around Rosedale" I bought, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails (Paperback)
Better value than the "Walks Around Rosedale" I bought. The rides look interesting and have mixed routes of differing degrees of severity.Not being a cyclist it is difficult for me to pass other comment on it. We bought it for our holiday cottage that we let in Rosedale Abbey, which is in the middle of the North Yorkshire for our guests to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent mountain bike route book., 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails (Paperback)
Bought this book for my brother for his birthday. He was really pleased with it, he liked the routes and can not wait to try them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails (Paperback)
good information in this booklet, lots of places to go and plenty of places to explore from easy to hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good routes, descriptions and pictures., 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails (Paperback)
I alwasy like the MTB books that Vertebrate publish. Unlike some guides the people who write these do ride the routes so you don't get sent on hike-a-bike journeys following a trail that only exists on a map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails (Paperback)
Excellent little book, very informative and the only books we found that use ordinance survey maps. Can't wait to go try the routes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great local knowledge, 28 Dec 2011
By 
K. Crossley "Starfish" (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails (Paperback)
I bought this book for my brother-in-law who lives near the moors and he is delighted with it. As far as I'm aware it provides good knowledge and routes of the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for mountain bikers!, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails (Paperback)
Awesome book. Loads of routes. Exactly what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails
North York Moors Mountain Biking: Moorland Trails by Tony Harker (Paperback - 15 Dec 2008)
£13.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews