Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2015
Eamonn Butler really does lift the lid on the atrocious skullduggery undertaken routinely by the Blair / Brown partnership. This book is a very easy read, being split into short sections within each chapter. The book does describe very well the low levels to which the last Labour government dragged the country; their total abuse of position is frightening when presented coolly, as it in these pages. I had always known Britain was changing dramatically for the worst during their tenure in No.10, but I hadn't fully taken in just how low British politics had sunk. From the systematic manipulation of the media, (printed and broadcast), corruption of the civil service and general dropping of standards within the wider political establishment, they were responsible for the total collapse in basic standards of morality in political life. (Also, it should be remembered, their complete wrecking of our economy). I would definitely advise anyone who despairs of the abysmal quality of the current British political classes, to get a copy of this book, read it and pass it on to as many people as they possibly can. The only downside to the book is the feeling of total despair at the hopeless state our country now finds itself in, largely as a result of the 'criminal' 13 years of this government.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2009
I read this book with an open mind - initially thinking the author was enjoying a good "rant". But the issues covered certainly opened my eyes and I have lent the book out already to several people. - And its certainly stirred them up a bit!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2009
A devastating, but fair, assessment of the state of Britain after nearly twelve years of all powerful, high-majority, high-tax, high-spend, low-brow Labour government.

It is essential pre-election reading for anyone who cares about their country and wants to know how the rottenness they can see and feel around them came about - courtesy of the same Labour Party that promised us in 1997 "things can only get better."

Although highly political the book is very, very easy to read. Each chapter is divided into headings, few of which are more than one page long [giving the feel of a series of short newspaper articles rather than boring drawn out political commentary]. It is the sort of book you could read in a few hours or dip in and out of at your leisure. Either way will be time well spent. Learn how a left-wing New Labour government, stuffed to the rafters with former communists, Trotskyites and Marxists have, in co-operation with their friends in the City, their fellow-travellers in the European Union and their pals in big business, wrecked Britain socially, economically, culturally, morally and spiritually.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
he blunt title is not just an attention getter for this book, but a statement of fact. Butler truly describes how bad things have gotten in the UK under current Labour government led by Gordon Brown. While many of the problems began under Blair he explains how they have accelerated under the current Prime Minister.

The book sets out to detail all the various aspects of life that have worsened under Labour ranging from personal freedom thru taxation to the most basic provisions of health in the NHS. Dr Butler effectively prepares anyone who wishes to perforate the continued assertion that Britain is in its current state because of Conservative administration that ended over a decade ago.

He details the insidious nature of the politicalization by the Labour Party of all parts of the bureaucracy of British governance. Instead of unelected faceless bureaucrats there are party apparatchniks meddling in every aspect to make sure it meets with the Labour plan for Britain. In the greatest of ironies all those things that were criticized by Labour in opposition have been seized on an amped up under Labour.

A crumbling economy, infrastructure and place in the world continues to demonstrate Labour course to repeat the disasters of Labour controlled 1970s.

This book is both enlightening and wholly depressing for those who admire the UK. New Labour promised so much only to deliver far worse.

While Dr. Butler is not that keen on the current Conservative solution to New Labour, he does offer sage advice to all those willing to consider his ideas. If the Conservatives adopted his plan for their next manifesto they might have a good chance of sorting out the current mess.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2009
I'm not sure what to make of this book! While I don't disagree with the facts and figures as presented in the text, Butler's concentration on attacking New Labour seems to only look narrowly at the problems we face as a nation. All of the things he complains about, from over-centralisation of power to the assault on our liberties, have come about over the last thirty years. Both the main parties have followed, more or less, the same policies, but he does not seem to recognise this. He doesn't analyse the changes to British society over the last forty or so years, and how this might affect how we see ourselves, neither does he understand the rise of consumerism, where we become consumers and customers, and not citizens. All these things are important, yet he ignores them. Then there are even deeper aspects to our consciousness, like our shared language and culture with the US and our hostility to non-English speaking Europe, where a different way of thinking has emerged, and where the ethos of the enlightenment endures.

The book simply doesn't go into these areas, and I find this frustrating, for I don't actually feel that he offers any real constructive way forward for policy- and decision-makers let alone the voting citizens. All in all, a disappointment
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2009
You don't have to agree with every single one of Eamonn Butler's opinions - and I didn't - to get something valuable from this book. The range of issues he addresses is broad, so most of us will find something with which to disagree: he's a sceptic when it comes to wind farms, whereas I'm not, for example. But if you are at all worried about the erosion of individual liberty in Britain today, you are likely to find much in the book that will have you nodding in agreement. It's also well-written and a thoroughly entertaining read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2009
Ill keep this short. Our grandparents and their grandparents fought two world wars against repression only to see all the freedoms taken away by Tony Blair and his whipping boy Gordon Brown. This book is a systematic and detailed analysis of how New Labour has Britain at the brink of becoming a police state where its citizens are a 'numbered DNA swab'. Kinda glad I left the place really!!!
44 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
A very revealing insight into the crazy, politically correct world of New Labour spin and the damage it has done to this country.

Previous Conservative governments are also criticised although only on failings that were carried forward by Labour. The title of the book implies that Britain became rotten as a result of one decade of Gordon Brown as chancellor and prime minister. The reality is that most of the author's concerns were not caused in the last decade, but have their roots several decades in the past. The selfishness of the 80's, the industrial unrest of the 70's and the permissiveness of the 60's are all largely ignored and yet are all major reasons for the rotten state of Britain today.

A major negative point for me is that the book is written in the style of a political columnist - chatty and informal with poorly constructed sentences - when I think the subject matter deserves more weight and authority. This is a shame because the book has been well researched.

Overall I cannot recommend this book in spite of how much I agree with the sentiment behind it.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
A really depressing read, but a useful reminder of Gordon Brown's perfidy. I live for the day when newsreel shows this miscreant being dragged from his home and carted off to prison, where he belongs. Blair too, for that matter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
I found this book both enlightening and depressing it only confirmed what I already new and I can see no way forward for our country at the moment, hopefully after the referendum for Scotland and a general election there may be hope for improvement. The author of this book should be taking an active part in politics and not just pen to paper but for those who read this book perhaps it will make them sit up and take notice. Why did we sit back and let this country fall into such disarray under the Blair Brown government?
I do take an active role in politics and did not condone their action
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)