Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth waiting for
I waited quite a long lime for this book as I pre-ordered it before publication. It proved to be worth the wait. I have already marked out a few places where I should like to stay. They won't be cheap, but being a Sawday guide I wasn't expecting budget B&Bs. I look forward to road testing my choices.

Having just spent 3 weeks touring around France I am now...
Published 21 months ago by Jaybee

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expected too much
This is a good book but in covering the whole of France it takes on too much.
The internet is a far better way of finding local accommodation.
I think this book is more about finding a place in it and planning to go there rather than planning to go somewhere and use it to find a place to stay.
Published 7 months ago by Wheel man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars French Bed & Breakfast, 14 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
An excellent book which has proven its value on our first trip - the book with a tomtom is a really useful combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French Bed and Breakfast., 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
Came highly recomended and I am sure that it will live up to its recommendation as it comes highly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Alastair Sawday, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
A great update from Alastair Sawday, such a useful book to keep on the shelf, gets used regularly. Always lovely places to stay in France
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In previous additions directions to B andB's were given. ..., 12 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
In previous additions directions to B andB's were given. Why not this time?
After all this is the most information required. Very dissapointed will not be buying again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Treat with caution, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
Go to Booking.com - shows far more properties and pictures than is shown in this book. We booked through Booking.com and were delighted with the place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot fault the research!, 19 April 2013
By 
S. Riches - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
I trust these recommendations because over the years I have tried around 10 of them, and not one has been found wanting. Inded, within 25 minutes of reading the options in the area I'm going, I was on the phone to an owner and have happily booked 5 nights, and I am totally confident in my choice. In fact the owner confided in me they had recently been visited by Sawday's Guide to be investigated and he was impressed by their thoroughness. What sets the Sawday's books apart is their accurate assessments of such things as atmosphere, friendliness, going-the-extra-mile, the attitude of hosts, the setting, the comfort of beds, etc.
For obvious reasons you need the most up-to-date copy and this is why I've purchased again. I also purchased "French Chateax and Hotels" which is good too, the difference seemingly being mainly one of price - the Chateaux book tends to be 100 Euros a night up to "the sky's the limit", whereas this book starts around the 50 Euro per night mark - which still sets it higher than your budget hotel chains or the sort of sparse rooms you can still get above the local bar for 30 euros a night.

NOW, here is a bit of a puzzle:- you may well say to me vis-a-vis the difference between the two books is that it should be obvious - one is bed and breakfast, the other is the hotel/chateaux experience. Well true, but these days most B&B's don't kick you out onto the street after breakfast, most are happy if you hang around all day in their garden by the pool and then use your room for an afternoon nap etc. - and further, a great number of B&B's also offer an optional evening meal. Conversely, you can purchase breakfast at most of the places in the other book, although in a few it is also included. And, not all places in the chateaux etc. book by any means offer meals either. So the distinction between the properties in each book is blurred in my opinion, in fact, the number of places appearing in both books tends to make me feel it is time for one comprehensive volume, or two different books split only on price, or on geography. I did find it irritating juggling between the two books to investigate the same geographical area. Oddly, some places which appear in both books are cheaper in the B&B 2013 edition than in the 2012 Chateaux book! Maybe the recession is biting. I'm about to review the "chateaux" book now and frankly most of my review will be the same. Come on Sawday's - time to consider merging the distinctions! Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
It is too soon to give a worthwhile report. Early October will have seen the guide in action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a cigar, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
Good but could have a more comprehensive list of practical information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alastair Sorday's French B and Bs, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
I thought that most of places were on the expensive side. It's easy to find fabulous places to stay if the cost isn't too much of a consideration; rather more difficult to seek out good economical alternatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavily to the north, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
We did not find it that much help although used "Hotels & Chateaux" successfully in the past.
Nothing more to say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay)
French Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) by Alastair Sawday (Paperback - 21 Mar 2013)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews