Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book with charming accomodation and very nice people
This is a charming book which offers a unique insight into the world of B&B accomodation. All the properties listed have been personally checked by the author or his agents and chosen for their uniqueness. You get to stay in someones home, not a poorly run hotel wannabe, and the book gives an insight into the people you will be staying with as well as the...
Published on 16 Sep 1999

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dinasaur Guide....
Previous review was attributed to wrong edition.

British Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay British Bed & Breakfast)

Once the Sawdays guides were about a travel writer who had discovered special places that were hard to find. Sawdays is sadly like many institutions now just a commercial publishing house. They charge B&B owners...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by J. Barber


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book with charming accomodation and very nice people, 16 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This is a charming book which offers a unique insight into the world of B&B accomodation. All the properties listed have been personally checked by the author or his agents and chosen for their uniqueness. You get to stay in someones home, not a poorly run hotel wannabe, and the book gives an insight into the people you will be staying with as well as the accomodation. A perfect present and a great way to visit areas of the UK you haven't seen before. I have used it and can highly recommend the book and the people you will meet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, 21 Feb 2003
I have used this, and other Alastair Sawday guides, many times and have always found them excellent. The information has proved to be accurate and the descriptions idiosyncratic but informative. I have stayed at 5 or 6 places located through the guide, and they have universally proved excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know it's a cliche, but this really has become my bible .., 27 May 2002
By A Customer
... I just got so sick of faceless and plastic hotels and places to stay that served you the nasty buffet breakfast and were staffed by people wearing polyester waistcoats. The alternative was stay at terribly expensive hotels that did it right, but I've had enormous fun staying at the places in this book. They're absolutely for me. The people and places are usually charming, sometimes a little 'creative' but always welcoming and interesting. It's not failed me yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - buy-it!, 4 Jan 2002
We'd got fed up of poor service in expensive hotels and fancied a change. The book is well written and honest and it's got some great B&Bs in it. We've stayed in two so far and they have been exactly as described - very special. Both of the owners we stayed with treated us brilliantly, recommended restaurants etc. We're going to try the French one next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dinasaur Guide...., 5 Oct 2011
By 
J. Barber (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Previous review was attributed to wrong edition.

British Bed & Breakfast (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay British Bed & Breakfast)

Once the Sawdays guides were about a travel writer who had discovered special places that were hard to find. Sawdays is sadly like many institutions now just a commercial publishing house. They charge B&B owners hundred's of pounds to be listed with them and in some areas like "Canopy and Stars" are just a booking agent with more than 20% of your bill going straight into their pockets.

All that aside they often recommend B&B's etc that have owners who don't understand the internet and use Sawdays as a marketing tool. Hence many of their places are more hip-op than a hip stop and more granny than grandiose. This is often why they have only a few 'special places' in major tourist destinations. Save your money and for all it's faults use Tripadvisor it doesn't take money from the owners and is up to date and usually quite accurate.

It's a pity but sadly the internet has been great news for Sawday's profile but not so good for those who just want a special place to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a tatty or boring B&B in Sight!, 7 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Having used Alistair's books for around 3 years now, I try not to use anything else.
From The Highlands, and the best seafood I've tasted, to a converted Oxfordshire stable with wonderful charm.
It's definately a book to share with friends and family, although, I'm buying another copy,as I haven't had mine returned yet!
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discover a new Britain, 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This Alistair Sawday guide to B and Bs in Britain will open up a whole new world for you. The book is filled with wonderfully individual, inexpensive places to stay. We have yet to choose any place from this book which has been anything short of fabulous! It also makes a great present for anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide Book, 2 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This is a great book full of top quality accomodation, well written and has never let me down. There are lots of websites on UK accomodation, I also suggest you check the Internet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Limited coverage, 29 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Bed & Breakfast (Special Places to Stay) (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay) (Paperback)
If you are looking at a specific area in GB you will either be spoilt for choice or severely disappointed. Coverage is a bit flakey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars B & B in England by Alastair Sawday., 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always this book by this author is excellent.
It gives good coverage of most of the best B & B establishments.

If you are on a touring holiday I believe it is an essential item to take with you.

When you wish to move on to the next place just phone ahead and book,. It is all so simple and easy.
Over the years my wife and me have used it many times. I highly recommend it to all travellers.

The very young Johnny Boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Bed & Breakfast (Special Places to Stay) (Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay)
Used & New from: £0.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews